We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best boutique hotels in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sumahan on the Water
Ranked #222 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“One of the best boutique hotels in the world”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Right on the Bosphorous with remarkable views from every room this place is an masterpiece of architecture and design. Recently renovated from an old industrial building, the hotel has wonderfully comfortable rooms (with fireplaces), spa, outstanding restuarant, and lovely library. The hotel's cute commuter boat runs guests across the water to center Istanbul, avoiding all the impossible road traffic, a real boon at rush hours and an especially nice way to spend 30 minutes watching the constantly changing port and strait. Perfect both for business and tourism. And the rates are remarkably reasonable for all that you get!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    89
    18
    11
    3
See reviews for
51
226
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adana, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Sumahan. Our room overlooked the Bosporus with a view of the bridge and light show at night and the endless parade of boats. The staff were kind and the owners delightful! The restaurant was great - don't miss the bulgur salad with pomegranate sauce.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHHinTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Hotel isn't super fancy inside or out, but I liked the atmosphere. I didn't find much to do on the Asian side other than be a foodie. I liked the shuttle boat, but operated by "Captain Crabby", he certainly wasn't there for his hospitality. Had a suite with a great view of the Bosphorus bridge, with it's nightly light show. The glassed in bathroom isn't for the modest. From certain areas in the room, you can see reflections of whoever is in there, even on the toilet. Shower stall leaked water onto the floor. Breakfast was nice, and room service good. The room had a wood fireplace, and each night, we asked them to light us a fire. That was a nice touch. Had dinner at their restaurant, that was good too. Had good sleeps, bed and pillows were comfy, and room was quiet. Tried the Hamam (Turkish bath) in their spa, was a very different experience, quite pleasant.

Room Tip: I would imagine there would be some noise from the patio area when the weather is warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkabout101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed one week in the top suite and spent well over A$6000(US$7000). Firstly, on a positive note, the breakfast staff in the restaurant were great and accommodating to everything, absolutely lovely. The loveliness stopped there. We experienced noise from both the kitchen and the public restaurant right next to our room. We were given incorrect directions to entertainment that we had booked and therefore missed it. Maids would not remove any rubbish that came from outside of the hotel.
In exasperaton, we wrote a list of complaints and presented it to management. They rudely dismissed out concerns and told us that they were invalid. Gohkan was particularly obnoxious. Hotel boat arrangements were muddled and the hotel is unknown to local taxis if you use public transport. We were misled about acceptable currencies and prices were quoted inconsistently in different currencies (euros and liras) although they only accept liras. This so called five star hotel treats their guests with one star consideration, if that.
We asked to be put in touch with the owners but they refused.
Avoid Sumahan on the water.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elterrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We have been spending a wonderful week in this hotel, from Nov. 12th 2011
We found it excellent, under every possible aspect: the friendliness of the people in all the departments, the quality of the services, the position and the spectacular view of the city have contributed to make our stay
an unfogettable one.
We'd love to be back here in a future visit to Istambul.

Andrea e Mariarosa Bartolini - Florence, Italy

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ighiretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed here on the 18th of October 11 for a birthday treat and anniversary celebration. I come across the hotel by luck because I was trying to book a nice place in Istanbul and Sumahan come up; I read the reviews and decided to book it. It was a wonderful experience could not be a better choice. It is a special place as I prefer to stay in boutique type of places rather than big hotel chains therefore it was the perfect choice.
The view is amazing all rooms have sea view I believe, we stayed in Vanikoy, the rooms have names rather than numbers which is a nice touch. The room is large and best views of the Bosphorous you can get; the bathroom has a glass window which allows you to look out to the Boshphours good thinking! There is a real fire place in the room and the weather was perfect for the fire place we requested to be lit up and they did it straight away.
The staff is very helpful and pleasant and all communicate in English. The hotel provides a complimentary ferrry service across to Kabatas and Kurucesme at set times that you are advised to book. Kabatas would be the point where you can take tram into the heart of the old city therefore the location of Sumahan should not deter you to book this hotel otherwise you would miss out the experience.
Sumahan also has a Hamam which is booked specially for you for the time no others can use it which is excellent; the buble massage is fabulous try it. When we finished in the hamam our snacks and drinks were ready for us in the rest area where you can lie down and have some drink and snack before you can retire to your room it was great.

We had dinner in the hotel which was good we both had stake the sauce was slightly sweet to my taste which could have been less. They serve a fantastic breakfast all cereal; fruit,yogurth, pastries and proper Turkish breakfast with cheese olives and eggs cook to your preference really good breakfast I have not had for a long time anywhere else.
We will definetly go back to Sumahan maybe in the summer the next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the entry floor not in the suites; our room was Vanikoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karaliayfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Just returned home from four nights at Sumahan on the Water. Agree with most of the reviews on Trip Advisor; the hotel is beautiful, luxurious, the staff are friendly and helpful etc. We had a loft room which was great and very spacious. Loved sitting outside our room, just by the river.

We spent most of our time visiting the tourist sights which meant taking the hotel ferry most mornings at 9:00am, which was a lovely way to start the day. We then took trams or buses to the sights, before returning to the hotel around 6:00pm by public ferry and bus. The Istanbul Pass is great. We got ours from reception and topped it up twice at the machines which are everywhere. We did need some help to top up the first time but a friendly local helped us when we were looking confused!

We sometimes took the hotel ferry again to go out in the evening, sometimes the public ferry. Note the timetable to Cengelkoy (only three minutes walk from the hotel) only runs during ’rush hour’. We used this one morning when we wanted to get into town early. Yes, the ferries finish before midnight, but we never had a problem getting a taxi, which are cheap by UK standards.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Ajia Hotel
#494 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Uskudar
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
#375 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#73 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Les Ottomans
Les Ottomans
#466 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumahan on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumahan on the Water

Property: Sumahan on the Water
Address: Kuleli Cad. No:51 Cengelkoy, Uskudar, Istanbul 34684, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Uskudar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#81 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#91 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#163 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sumahan on the Water 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sumahan on the Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumahan On The Water Hotel Istanbul
Sumahan On The Water Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing