We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get spoiled at 5-meters away from the Bosphorus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sumahan on the Water
Ranked #203 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2011

With all the special qualities of the Asian Istanbul, this hotel shares a wonderful atmosphere with guests. Loft rooms are excellent in comfort and view to the Bosphorus, seagulls come across the windows to make you feel you're floating in a boat. Although the staff were doing their best, but they could not meet all the requirements of the fine service you would expect from such a place, in terms of communication (language) and late room service.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geto_dam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
There are newer reviews for Sumahan on the Water
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 379 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2011

This hotel has been restored very well. Located on the Bosphorous, you get a truly unique view of Turkey. Because we spent our initial 3 days in the city, we wanted to have another experience of staying by the Bosphorous.

As we had already visited most of the sites in the old city whilst we stayed there, we used the Sumahan to venture into the other areas of Istanbul. There's a free of charge private ferry which takes you to the other side. Upon arriving on the other side, the city trams are very convenient.

Logistics out of the way, the in room breakfast was fantastic. Being able to eat breakfast in your room, overlooking the ships travelling to and thru on the Bosphorous is truly memorable. Rooms are well appointed and an added bonus was having a Turkish Haman in house. Managed to have a massage - which was mediocre but then I am comparing techniques and training to Asia.

Overall, a wonderful stay and indeed unique.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank detang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Each time I stay here the experience only gets better.
The location might take a little getting used to if you have never been to Istanbul before, but the views are worth it, and once you know how to navigate the Bosphorus being on the Asian shore is no problem. Just make a few plans and get used to jumping on and off ferry boats and into taxis - it all becomes part of the romance of being in Istanbul.
It's the staff though that make staying here so good. They really do work hard to make everything run smoothly from the moment you arrive - when a refreshing drink is delivered whilst you relax and unwind in the beautiful library that overlooks the Bosphorous.
Even the least expensive room is perfectly equipped, and comes complete with a luxurious marble bathroom. If you want the full Turkish experience then there is a spa with Hamam in the basement. I can recommend the swedish massage - perfect way to relax at the end of a long day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JeffersonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Everything about Sumahan is fantastic. Before we booked we were concerned that, being on the Asian side, we would be a bit out of the way - we needn't have worried as the location was perfect. It is a 35 to 45 (depending on traffic) taxi ride from Ataturk Airport.

Then, once you are at Sumahan, there are plenty of ways to get over to the sights at Sultanahmet and the Beyoglu/Taksim Square areas. The Hotel has its own private launch which leaves twice in the morning, at lunch and in the evening, the journey over takes about 25 minutes and drops you at Kabatas where you can pick up a metro to take you directly to Sultanahmet, a road taxi or the funicular up to Taksim Square depending on where you want to go. On the occasions we used it, we had it to ourselves. You can also get a water taxi which will pick you up from the hotel, more expensive but quicker and more direct if you want to go anywhere other than Kabatas. The other option, apart from a road taxi, is one of the ferries that go from Cengelkoy (the ferry station is 5 minutes slow walk from the hotel) to Emminou- they are extremely cheap. Of course, the final option is a road taxi, which are extremely cheap and will get you to central Istanbul very quickly.

Apart from the amazing location on the Bosphorus, the terrace overlooking the river where you can lounge in the sun, the great spa with hammam, the stunning views, and the immaculate rooms, the thing that makes Sumahan stand out is the staff, all are friendly, welcoming and eager to help. In particular, Gohan Gök was outstanding: he helped us with our travel arrangements, sorted us out with a transport card to use on buses, metros, trams and funiculars, booked some wonderful restaurants for us in Cengelkoy and on the European side and generally helped make our trip a memorable one.

Finally, don't forget to explore Cengelkoy, where the hotel is located. It is a small fishing village, with some lovely bakeries, and other small shops and restaurants. We had a very pleasant day, after a morning enjoying the Hammam and spa treatments, we strolled into the village and got stocked up on the lovely pastries, bread, cakes, fruit and olive oil from the local shops - the perfect end to our stay and a real contrast to the European side where we spent the majority of our time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank PiscoBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The Sumahan is an old raki distillery fully refurbished and modernized by the owners' granddaughter. It is modern and minimal (and small with approx. 20 rooms) with an amazing outdoor area overlooking the Bosphorus and great view from all rooms.
Bit its biggest attribute is its location. Based on the Asian side of Istanbul, it faces the more developed and modern European side. All crosses are done by boat (private boat of the hotel), so at least twice a day we had the opportunity to cross the channel, always an amazing trip when considering that its in the midst of a 10+ million city.
In addition, adjacent to the hotel is one of Istanbul's most famous seafood restaurants, with an amazing location on the water.
Overall, a great small, modern hotel, with a helpful staff and reception and located in the right place!!!

Room Tip: Bottom-ground floor has access to garden but floor rooms are blessed with the view
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patpatmarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in July 2011 for 6 days at the end of a 20 day Turkey trip. It was perfect for us. We consider this one of the handful of hotels that are truly memorable and unique. We are now at home in Phoenix, experiencing Istanbul and Sumahan withdrawals! A few thoughts:

We stayed on the European side for a few days early in our trip to have ready access to the main sites, and this was a good decision for us. After Cappadocia, Sirence, and Ephesus, the more relaxed Asian side was exactly what we wanted. We also felt we came to understand the "real" Istanbul from exploring the villages adjacent to the Sumahan.

The service is exceptional. Seek out Nural, who is genuine and extremely helpful. We own hotels in the Western US, and I have been telling Nural stories to our managers as examples of the right way to treat guests. The Sumahan staff know a great deal about the local village in particular and Istanbul in general. And they are delighted to help you figure out the best restaurants, experiences, etc.

I have seen complaints below about privacy issues (chairs used, etc.). Those are really expectations issues. Istanbul is a large, congested city, so don't expect an expansive resort. The Sumahan is a 20-room boutique hotel with incredible Bosphorus views and impeccable service. It is a real gem of a tiny hotel. The space and privacy are amazing in the context of the teeming, dense city surrounding you, but the site is compact, so have your expectations in line.

The boat service to the European side is convenient, but limited, so make sure to reserve seats when you know you are going. Coming back, the boat does not run at night, but ferries are inexpensive and relatively convenient. From the great selection of small pamplets at the front desk, we discovered water taxis, which you should definitely consider. For 75 TL from Kabatas (about $40), you can take a party of 2-10 right back to the hotel, 24 hours a day, and fast. To catch our plane home, we even took a water taxi to Eminonu (100TL), and caught a taxi there. It avoided the bridge traffic, shortened our trip, and we got to say goodbye to Istanbul by water, the best way. Water taxi res number is, I believe, local 444-4498, or front desk wil arrange.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MCAZ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed at the Sumahan for 5 nights, were a group of eight.

We simply loved the hotel style, the friendliness and professionalism of the staff (Cher Nural mille merci pour tout !!), the location on the peaceful Asian part of beautiful Istanbul.
Breakfast. afternoon drinks or dinner at the Sumahan were a delight and the trip through the Bosporus on the Hotel's Navette a great experience especially after a buzzy day in the city.

The rooms were spacious and in perfect condition, the reception staff had good restaurant ideas and was helpful in all other matters ( We had to take our daughter to the hospital, the hotel staff organised this is a second). We will certainly return.

The only thing missing at Sumahan is a long lap pool ....

Room Tip: All rooms are on the Bosporus and have a great view
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VDTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Ajia Hotel
#428 of 1,159 in Istanbul
182 reviews
Uskudar
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
#302 of 1,159 in Istanbul
185 reviews
Besiktas
Les Ottomans
Les Ottomans
#377 of 1,159 in Istanbul
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#12 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,023 reviews
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumahan on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumahan on the Water

Address: Kuleli Cad. No:51 Cengelkoy, Uskudar, Istanbul 34684, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Uskudar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#80 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#90 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#155 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $217 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sumahan on the Water 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sumahan on the Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumahan On The Water Hotel Istanbul
Sumahan On The Water Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing