We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Istanbul Marriott Hotel Asia
Ranked #207 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A very nice hotel, looks fairly new and is well appointed. Staff were friendly and very accommodating, rooms well appointed, and great facilities. They even have dedicated smoking rooms. The swimming pools are great, one for swimming laps, and one for general pool activities.

But there are a couple of negatives. The gym in the hotel is well equipped, but is apparently the community gym, there is no way all those steroid junkies were hotel guests - which put me off using the facility. Second, if you're an English native speaker, the only English language channels on the tv are CNN and BBC World... really, this is completely ridiculous... I've stayed in several hotels in Istanbul, and this is the only one that doesn't have general entertainment channels in English. Another negative, the breakfast at the restaurant is awful - unless you're Turkish I guess. Even the coffee wasn't that great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterReischl, General Manager at Istanbul Marriott Hotel Asia, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Sasha N,
Thank you for your comments and on Tripadvisor.
I appreciate your time to share your experiences and I am happy that in regards of property and staff we managed to reach or even exceed your expectations. We are very proud of our hosts working with us and I am proud to hear that they enhanced your stay.

In regards of the TV Channels and maybe more important the breakfast I would be happy to hear directly from you what you feel was missing to make it a great experience. Please feel free to contact me on my personal email for this.
peter.reischl@marriott.com.

I thank you in advance and hope to be able to welcome you soon again.
Sincerely
Peter Reischl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 563 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

While this hotel had impeccable service, and we were even upgraded to the executive suites, my one complaint is that it is very far from downtown Istanbul where all of the sites are. The rooms were incredibly clean, and the food/breakfast was amazing, I just wish it were closer to the center of town. Other than that, I have absolutely no complaints. If you are here on business, I am sure it is perfect. If you are here on a tourist visit, maybe look at something closer to the sites.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristalkareh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is very nice and centrally located to the important sights of the city. We were located on the eighth floor over looking the bridge over the Bosphorus river. Access to the executive lounge was maintained by a very professional staff, the rooms were very well kept and comfortable, and security was carefully maintained. The breakfast buffet was large and outstanding and contained all of the foods locally grown as well as commercially offered. Service is outstanding with the staff very attentive to the traveller's needs.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have a quality view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MB Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The staff is absolutely the best. They made our stay special. A big Thank You to the staff for the flowers and access to the executive lounge. The property is very well kept and worthy of the 5 star rating. The rooms are very nice and the pillows are super comfortable. Expect the same or even better comfort as any Marriott 5 star properties in USA. I wish I had arranged to stay longer at this property but we had to continue our trip and had a very short stay here. If you plan to choose the public transportation from IST it is too long. You must take a metro from the airport to the tram that will take you to the ferry (30 min ride) and then it is a 12 minute ride on a fast metro line that is relatively new. Overall it is about 150 minutes and I would not recommend the public transportation. We came by taxi which was way faster but certainly more expensive.

Room Tip: Having a room with a view is nice but the sea is too far to really enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is over-all very nice however far removed from transportation to site seeing activities. There is no real view from the rooms and not much to walk to...If its strictly business your there for then the hotel is fit for purpose. The host a lot of weddings so be careful of the noise as it was loud during our stay.

Room Tip: No real view from any room so your free to take any....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobyDunya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterReischl, General Manager at Istanbul Marriott Hotel Asia, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Roby Dunya,

thank you for your time to give us your feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am happy to hear you like the hotel and our product in general. Should you have gotten disturbed by the wedding hosted during your stay I do apologize.

Should you ever visit Istanbul again, please be aware of the Metro that is located at the Carrefour entrance just a short walk from the hotel. This takes you to Kadikoy in just 11 minutes from where you can reach all interesting tourist sites by sea boat.
Istanbul has one of the biggest marine transportation systems in the world and apart from moving very fast with no traffic it also offers you breathtaking views of the city not possible to capture from anywhere else.

Thank you again for your time and for choosing Marriott when travelling,
sincerely
Peter Reischl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Good and cosy Mariott in Istanbul. We get there a real friendly Service and we can recommend this Hotel to others. Good Location and the Hotel was nice and cosy outfitted. Room was in a good middle Class Standard outfitted and we found there all was clean. Good Itmes at Breakfast, wich we did liked and it was tasty.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karimtraveller1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel in all aspects: rooms were comfortable and fancy with the bathroom "open" to the room, breakfast was outstanding (with a wide and diverse selection of quality food), facilities were amazing (gym, spa, indoor & outdoor pool) and the restaurant also offered a good selection of food (try the yogurt kebab)... all this at very reasonable price for a 5 start hotel, but this may be due to the fact that the hotel was located in the Asian side of Istanbul (can take up to 1hour to go to the European side due to traffic). This was the only downside of it, hence definitely making the hotel more of a business hotel rather than tourism.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAuditeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Kadıköy
Hilton Istanbul Kozyatagi
Hilton Istanbul Kozyatagi
#111 of 1,163 in Istanbul
590 reviews
Kadıköy
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#220 of 1,163 in Istanbul
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Istanbul Asia
#187 of 1,163 in Istanbul
417 reviews
Levent
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
#97 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,255 reviews
Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel
#194 of 1,163 in Istanbul
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Marriott Hotel Asia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Marriott Hotel Asia

Address: Kayisdagi cad. No 1/1 | Atasehir, Istanbul 34750, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#85 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#112 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#123 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#159 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $62 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Istanbul Marriott Hotel Asia 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Istanbul Marriott Hotel Asia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Istanbul
Istanbul Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing