We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking service”
Review of Midtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Midtown Hotel
Ranked #142 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was recently here with a conference delegation ,it was a total shambles 80 of us ,rooming list was a shambles four people in a twin room ,service was terrible , run out of beers no advance preparation of any nature was made with regards to our group
Would not recommend this hotel to anyone ,it is not four star as advertised possibly a good one star hotel ,staff unfriendly and a big problem to ask anyone for anything .

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Raymond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midtownHOTELIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for your article concerning Midtown Hotel in TripAdvisor website.
we welcome all constructive criticism, as it help us to get better. Now that we are informed about your disturbance during your stay, we will be better able to serve your needs. We guarantee that you won't be bothered by the same inconveniences in your next visit.
We are waiting for your next trip to Istanbul.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 668 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Hotel is very well suituated, close to Taksim Square and access to all manner of public transport, from busses, fernicular and trams. We easily navigated our why to the City's hot spots. The rooms are well appointed, with all the basics from roof safe, free wi-fi, room fridge, hair dryer and ac. Breakfast is a full buffett and perfectly adequate to fuel you up for the day. Hotel staff were pleasnt, and ready to assit with advise on how to get around, and what to see.

Room Tip: rooms further from the elevator core are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathleen_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midtownHOTELIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Hotel Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this online review. It's a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay at midtown hotel and in Istanbul. We are trying to offer the best services to all our guests. Hope to welcome you at Midtown in the future.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I have been there for 2 nights for a business trip, but I would reccommend it also for leisure and tourism. The style is close to be minimalist and neat, modern but not cold. I was given an upgrade to a business room, but I know also how are the standard room, both wide enough to feel good and use them not just to sleep. The hotel is located downtown in a pedestrian area, so very quiet without traffic noise but very lively because of the many restaurants. It's close to Taksim square and to the "movida" area.
The service is very good and responsive. Only improvement area is the breakfast. It's very rich and well organized but only in Turkish style, so no yogurt or English tea available, nor omlette, but it's a very small detail. Also the public areas and the bar are not so wide. All in all a good experience with an excellent ratio quality price so I reccommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maucami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midtownHOTELIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Hotel Guest,
Thank you for your very positive feedback following your recent stay with us and I'm delighted to hear that we met your expectations. I am very pleased that you found that our team provided friendly, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your staying. We will be glad to welcome you at Midtown for next time.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

it was our first trip to Istanbul & we were extremely happy with our hotel. Right from the time we checked in till the time we left, the experience was amazing. The staff was very helpful & went out of their way to guide us & tell us what to do, how to do, when to do & even helped us with the bookings!
The rooms were comfortable & the service excellent. The hotel is very centrally situated & so close to Taxim Square (a very lively & popular area).
I would definitely go back to this hotel if I visit Istanbul again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diya_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midtownHOTELIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for your article concerning Midtown Hotel in TripAdvisor website.
we welcome all constructive criticism, as it help us to get better. Now that we are informed about your disturbance during your stay, we will be better able to serve your needs. We guarantee that you won't be bothered by the same inconveniences in your next visit.
We are waiting for your next trip to Istanbul.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The positives: The room was quiet and clean (on day 1)

The negatives: I stayed 5 days -- of which two days the house-cleaning staff did not
completely clean the room. One day -- they "forgot" to clean the bathroom; another
day they "forgot" to make the bed. I expect more from a hotel carrying so many stars.
In both cases they had done a partial job so really no excuses (-- e.g. do not disturb sign -- which I never use).

The staff at the front desk was not very helpful on either occasion or at the time of checkout. At checkout the staff mentioned that they had tried to contact the owner who was on vacation and so they could not compensate me for the problems I had during the stay.

I highly recommend Hotel Lausos (a friend was staying there and I had a chance to interact with the staff there who were much more polite and extremely friendly). The feeling from the staff here at Midtown was that they were glad to have your money and would be willing to tolerate your presence.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prof S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midtownHOTELIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for your article concerning midtown hotel in Tripadvisor website.
we welcome all constructive criticism, as it help us to get beter. Now that we are informed about your disturbance during your arrival. We will be better able to serve your needs. We guarentee that you won't be bothered by the same inconveniences in your next visit. We are waiting for your next trip to Istanbul.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

It was a very nice hotel with quiet rooms, although it is near Istiklal and Taxim Square. The hotel has spacious and clean rooms, excellent breakfast and friendly stuff. It could be less expensive though.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aretidiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midtownHOTELIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Hotel Guest,
With great pleasure we are reading your review. Thank you so much for taking the time to show us how much you enjoyed your stay at midtown hotel and sharing your experience with so many other people online. We are really happy that you appreciated our services that much and are looking forward meeting you again in the future!
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was our first time in Istanbul and I couldn't have asked for a better experience from a hotel. It's in a convenient and popular area with a lot going on around you, but the rooms are still quiet enough to sleep well. Im used to nice hotels in the states, and honestly i didn't expect the hotel to be as nice as it was. Cold AC, clean rooms, nice people that understand English and want to help you plus the great location. Great experience.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank jj_blum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midtownHOTELIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Hotel Guest,
Thank you for writing this review. I am very happy to read how much you love this city. It would be great if we may welcome you again at midtown hotel during your next visit. Hope to see you soon at Midtown.
Bests,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
CVK Hotels Taksim
CVK Hotels Taksim
#328 of 1,163 in Istanbul
379 reviews
Beyoglu
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
#84 of 1,163 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Beyoglu
Avantgarde Hotel Taksim Square
Avantgarde Hotel Taksim Square
#392 of 1,163 in Istanbul
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Central Palace Hotel
The Central Palace Hotel
#387 of 1,163 in Istanbul
217 reviews
Beyoglu
Nippon Hotel
Nippon Hotel
#324 of 1,163 in Istanbul
521 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#96 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtown Hotel

Address: Lamartin Cad. No 13 | Taksim, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#93 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#112 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#137 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $67 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Midtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only home is better…midtown hotel rises in a matchless location, i.e. Taksim, for everyone who wants to feel the heart beats and rhythm of the city and at the same time seek a quiet and tranquil place. Being located in an advantageous spot close to conference and fair centers of the city, to culture and entertainment centers like Beyoğlu, Sultanahmet, Dolmabahçe and İstanbul Congress Center, to shopping centers like Nişantaşı and Maçka featuring worldwide brands, and to Atatürk airport in terms of transportation, midtown hotel offers easy sightseeing of the entire city taking the hotel as a starting point, since it is also located on the metro network. Our hotel has 80 rooms categorized in 7 Corner Suites, 14 Greenworks and 53 Deluxe rooms, 6 of which have a Bosphorus view, with a size range of 25-33 m2 in a simple and stylish atmosphere in harmony with fumed oak furniture and soft, light color of linens. midtown unites modern decoration with needs of its guests and features specially-produced furniture and ergonomic designs. Being the only 4 star hotel qualified for the most recent ISO standards on quality, environment and food safety, midtown hotel practices environmental consciousness as a sustainable project with austerity measures expressed in clear figures. midtown hotel awaits guests seeking not only accommodation but joy and new explorations, with its restaurant featuring tastes coming out of a visionary cuisine, where award-winning cooks work, and a cafe featuring a wide coffee menu and sweet and savory appetizers. As a sign of the importance we attach to Istanbul, which also gives us our name, we use special collection of Istanbul Photos in all of our rooms and aisles. You may buy any of these 195 photos, if you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing