We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming staff!”
Review of Tulip Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tulip Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 1,038 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marbleton, Quebec
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Charming staff!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very well located small guesthouse in Sulthanamet. The room was smallish but clean and confortable for the price range. Wifi worked sometimes, so the owner Essin had to give us the password of the next door guesthouse; that solved the problem for good! Breakfeast was surprisingly good for such a small place; a true delightful turkish breakfeast, We had to change room for the second night as the brother of Essin gave us a room with two bed, a single and a double when we signed in; usually we don't enjoy packing and unpacking for the second night, but for whatever reason we didn't mind to much this time, except that we lost in the process the hot water in the sink. The strong point of this guesthouse, apart from its location, is the friendliness of the staff. One more negative note, a least two missing lightbulbs in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierreD861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    185
    31
    7
    9
See reviews for
66
207
114
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We got to our hotel after a long flight, and were happy to find a very clean and comfortable room. The staff upgraded us to a room with our own bathroom, as the hotel was not full. On our way back, before our flight home, they did the same thing! If you are interested in having a view, the view over the water is very nice.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed at Tulip Guesthouse on my trip into Turkey and my trip out. Not only was the staff very pleasant and accomodating, the hotel was well located. Glad they are doing renovations to bring the hotel up to date a bit more (were bringing a double room up to speed and had re-done the hotel facade with mortar and bright paint/tulips while I was there. Hotel staff was kind enough to store the turkish carpet and tiles (yes, I did get 'convinced' to buy these on the square) when I went to Cyprus and Antalya for two weeks.Breakfast in the upstair breakfast room has a great view of the Bosporous and is both generous and good. Will return with my wife next time.

Room Tip: Rooms are 'cozy'. Though they are working on it, wifi was not working too well so had to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum City, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The location of the Hotel is excellent, located in a beautiful part of the city. The warm and welcoming staff made us feel very comfortable and we were happy to oversee the fact that we were inmidst of a refurbishment. (you have to note, that our trip took time in february, not the main tourist season! when else do you want to refurbish?)
The simple but filling vegeterian breakfast is served on the cozy top floor with a simple but nice view of the sea.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sergey48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our stay at the Tulip Guest House was a wonderful experience. It is extremely well located in Sultanhamet, very hear all of the most important historical sites. The breakfast is nice, and the breakfast room has a lovely view of the harbor. LOTS of hot water and nice, modern bathrooms. The whole place is very clean, and the people that work there speak very good English AND are both very nice and very helpful. I would like to mention Ahmet in particular, who did everything possible to make our visit to Istanbul a pleasant one. His cousin Elif is a lovely and professional travel agent, and she was able to arrange out trip to Cappadocia for us. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to this wonderful city.

Room Tip: Room 301 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajeroLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at tulip guest house for 5 nights about 10 days ago. The price, facilities, location and especially the staff were excellent. My first impression was very positive. The breakfast was better than I had expected. Gracias y saludos desde Madrid!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atajan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was our first stay in this magic city of Istanbul ! We spent one week in TGH ! It was very great : the team is super nice and very welcoming. The house is very clean and cosy. The breakfast is good : great tea, fruits and vegetable, bread and cereals, yoghourt and honey ! Esin, the manager, is helpful and will make ur stay in Istanbul a delight !
Have a good stay overthere !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#25 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Sultanahmet
Marmara Guesthouse
Marmara Guesthouse
#4 of 1,038 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walnut Shell Hotel
Walnut Shell Hotel
#7 of 1,038 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Guesthouse

Property: Tulip Guesthouse
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No : 19, Istanbul 34121, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,038 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tulip Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tulip, a beautiful little guesthouse nestled within the awe inspiring and unparalleled surroundings of the ancient Sultanahmet area of Istanbul. With views across the Marmara sea to the shores of the Asian continent you will at once find yourself immersed in a truly unique and magical atmosphere.Yes, the magic of Istanbul is before you. At the end of a busy day in this great city, at the Tulip guesthouse, tucked away from the bustle of the city on a quiet street, you will find a relaxing and enjoyable place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Tulip Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing