We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coolest guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tulip Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tulip Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 1,029 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Coolest guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Tulip for one week and had a great time. It's a guesthouse which I warmly recommend it to travellers of any age.

The location of Tulip is excellent, just a short walk from Topkapi, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. There are restaurants around the corner but if you want you can just hop on a tram and go to another area for your dinner. The tram stop is just a short walk away as well.

Loved the breakfast there, didn't even get bored of it after one week. The lady who prepares the breakfast is very sweet and the food and tea lovely. Just the thing to get you started with the day. The views from the breakfast room are also very beautiful.

Our room was located on the first floor so on the first night I had trouble sleeping when people were coming and going. This was solved by earplugs and after that I had no problems to sleep.

Our rooms were cute and small with a private bathroom which was excellent. It was also very clean which I personally find an important criteria when choosing a place to stay.

The staff is all very charming, friendly and helpful, do remember to ask them for advice on where to go :)

I loved Tulip and already miss it, so if I ever return, I will stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkilili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    185
    31
    7
    9
See reviews for
66
207
113
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
東京
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

this guesthouse is near mosque and restaurants.It's very convenience.small room,but it's just size for us.When I visited was bad weather,if good it , you will see the sea of Marmara when you take a breakfast.And staff were very helpful during our stay there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

My stay at Tulip Guesthouse was fantastic. Firstly, thanks to it's ideal location within walking distance from several tourist attractions such as the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, I was able to visit many sites with ease. Next, not only was their breakfast inclusive package amazing but also the many Turkish restaurants located just a stone's throw away from TGH ensured that my craving for good Turkish cuisine was always satisfied. Finally, the 24/7 warm hospitality received from the owner and his staff ensured that my stay was a comfortable one. So if you are interested in sightseeing, Turkish cuisine and warm Turkish hospitality, Tulip Guesthouse(TGH) is the perfect choice for you. You won't regret it because I surely didn't.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kandia85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

this was my first trip alone and the truth istanbul was an amazing city with many interesting things to see, mosques, food, people, etc., a highly recommended city to visit, at Tulip Guesthouse treated me very well and were always order anything I need, I send a big hug!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristian2058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

Hey all, a great place to stay. Amazing breakfast, really clean rooms, great owners, amazing location in a very cute part of Istanbul and RIGHT next to the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. No complaints at all!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelarosegeddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

If you are a student and going to stay in Istanbul, you should choose this hotel!
We looked around few hotels in Istanbul but this hotel was the cheapest.
The rooms and bathrooms are clean. It has great breakfast.
And you can drink tea and coffee for free!
The best thing is that the owner of this hotel is kind and funny!
There're always tourists from other countries and this funny owner at the top room.
You can talk with them and feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kensuke_ahiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

the room is very clearing. the breakfast is free but delicious. the hosts are nice and handsome. location is also very perfect. overall: very good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sashac_Yuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#33 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Sultanahmet
Marmara Guesthouse
Marmara Guesthouse
#4 of 1,029 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walnut Shell Hotel
Walnut Shell Hotel
#6 of 1,029 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Guesthouse

Property: Tulip Guesthouse
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No : 19, Istanbul 34121, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,029 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tulip Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tulip, a beautiful little guesthouse nestled within the awe inspiring and unparalleled surroundings of the ancient Sultanahmet area of Istanbul. With views across the Marmara sea to the shores of the Asian continent you will at once find yourself immersed in a truly unique and magical atmosphere.Yes, the magic of Istanbul is before you. At the end of a busy day in this great city, at the Tulip guesthouse, tucked away from the bustle of the city on a quiet street, you will find a relaxing and enjoyable place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Tulip Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing