We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Buhara Family Inn
Ranked #55 of 1,070 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 29, 2013

location great , and tansel and simona were very helpful . when we arrived we were were taken to the roof top where the family were having a bbq and invited us to have dinner with them. after dinner we were taken to our apartment which was in the adjacent buidling , room sizes were fine, my only crib would be that the bathroom was tiny. breakfast was well cooked and in abundance . if your looking for a homely place you cant get better than this . but be warned there are no elevators so if you have a room near the top its a lot of stairs . my husband has a bad knee so initaily i was concerned but as our apartment was only 1 flight of stairs up it was ok. The family go out of their way to help you and guide you . Me and my daughter's return flight was early in the morning while my husband was flying out in the evening , they were very accomodating let my husband check out but gave him space somwehere else and then offering him lunch before he left for the airport . i cant thank them enough . they made our holiday great .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saubia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Buhara Family Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 145 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great location!
great staff!
owners is so frendly
The room is perfect, there is free wifi and the breakfast buffet is served in the terrace with a awesome view to the Bosphorus and the Blue Mosque.
Tansel and Simona helped us with all our requirements.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmagla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great location, great people but the room itself was ok. People were very friendly to our family and is easily the best thing about this hotel. Great location, walking distance to old city and major sites. Good for short stay.

Room Tip: Good for one or two night stays
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NayToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here in mid September for 5 nights and had a really great time. The whole family as well as Tamsel and Simona really made us feel at home, and helped us with all our requirements. Breakfast is home made and there was always a fantastic spread of things to choose from. Location is one of the best points of this hotel, you can see the blue mosque from the terrace of the hotel and the Sultanahmet tram station is just a few minutes' walk away. It is a bit of a long climb to get up to the terrace as there's no lift but the views and the fresh air at the terrace definitely make up for it!

We were sad to leave the hotel as we really felt at home, and will be looking forward to stay here again in future!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daleinad84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Its a great hotel in a very good location, just 200 mts from the Blue Mosque. The neighborhood is very safe and there are good restaurants in the area. The family treats you so good, they make you feel very welcome. Simona is very helpful giving information and great customer service. The room is perfect, there is free wifi and the breakfast buffet is served in the terrace with a awesome view to the Bosphorus and the Blue Mosque. We really enjoyed our stay and totally recommend it, would definitely would stay here again.

3  Thank GuateRider_650
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Hi my husband and myself traveled to Turkey in the first week of August. I had booked this place through booking.com and got a discounted price. We were in touch with Simona as well as Tansel over mails and had a fair idea of what we wanted to do in Istanbul.
Location :The place itself is in the heart of Sulthanmet and very close to various places of interest.
Room: room was quite small.. but I guess that's how it is in Istanbul. It was cozy but cramped.
Food: food was fantastic. Scrumptious breakfast made by the owners themselves with a decent variety of veg dishes as well. Highlight was yaprak dolma (grape leaves stuffed with rice) and various other baked goodies. Yeah just the thought of all that food is salivating!
Service: brilliant! in one word. Tansel has a fantastic sense of humour and went out of his way to meet our requirements. Simona and rest of the staff planned our sightseeing and made traveling convenient. Metro connectivity is awesome in the city and cheap... infact we never hired a cab during our stay at Istanbul.
Pros: location, food and service.
Cons: room was small, basic amenities such as hooks for hanging clothes not there in the room as well as bathroom. No shelf near the shower room to place soaps\shampoo. No dustbin in the room. Also since the room is small I had to iron my clothes on the bed and got burnt. But thankfully the staff gave me an amazing cream to heal the burn. Worked wonders!

I will surely stay again at Buhara if I get a chance.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divyah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Whoever called Paris the city of light, clearly hasn't been to Istanbul. This particular hotel is the ideal sort of "base camp" if you're the hectic "on-your-feet" explorer-type and need to be greeted back with a smile after a full day walking. The name Buhara "Family" Hotel is proper niche marketing. Spent the Eid vacation with my two boys, and we all absolutely loved it.

This is not a 5 star all-suites hotel with an acqua park & movie theater & discotheque & a thirty course breakfast buffet. It's an honest-to-god B&B lodge with homely feel and touch right in the center of Istanbul's old city / Sultan Ahmad district.

Ozlem, Tan & Simona speak perfect english, french and Italian between them; they'll reassure you with a gentle air of familiarity & spare no effort in answering any query (not that you need it since everything is either within the vicinity of this little lodge or easily accessible from the metro station 5 minutes away). Strongly recommended for just about anyone wanting a pleasant spot in the center of the old city.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is well ventilated and didn't once feel the need for A/C. Wooden staircase to the terr...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sbadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#144 of 1,159 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Corner Hotel
Sultan Corner Hotel
#28 of 1,070 in Istanbul
132 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Buhara
Hotel Buhara
#105 of 1,237 in Istanbul
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Naz Wooden House Inn
Naz Wooden House Inn
#59 of 1,070 in Istanbul
376 reviews
Sultanahmet
Marmara Guesthouse
Marmara Guesthouse
#4 of 1,070 in Istanbul
983 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,070 in Istanbul
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buhara Family Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buhara Family Inn

Address: Yegen Sokak No 7 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $45 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Buhara Family Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family hotel is a 5-minute walk from Blue Mosque and Hagias Sophia and 10-minutes’ walk from Grand Bazaar. You will feel at your home in our small street and our hotel and have the taste of the real Turkish traditional food, like we use to prepare at home. We have one of the nicest terrace of Sultanahmet area, with a great view on Blue Mosque and Marmara Sea and Princess Islands. The hotel is located on one of the nicest and colorful street of Sultanahmet. We are serving an traditional open buffet breakfast on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Buhara Family Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing