We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service great, rooms ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Buhara Family Inn
Ranked #57 of 1,047 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Service great, rooms ok”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great location, great people but the room itself was ok. People were very friendly to our family and is easily the best thing about this hotel. Great location, walking distance to old city and major sites. Good for short stay.

Room Tip: Good for one or two night stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NayToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    32
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
53
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marsascala, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here in mid September for 5 nights and had a really great time. The whole family as well as Tamsel and Simona really made us feel at home, and helped us with all our requirements. Breakfast is home made and there was always a fantastic spread of things to choose from. Location is one of the best points of this hotel, you can see the blue mosque from the terrace of the hotel and the Sultanahmet tram station is just a few minutes' walk away. It is a bit of a long climb to get up to the terrace as there's no lift but the views and the fresh air at the terrace definitely make up for it!

We were sad to leave the hotel as we really felt at home, and will be looking forward to stay here again in future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daleinad84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Its a great hotel in a very good location, just 200 mts from the Blue Mosque. The neighborhood is very safe and there are good restaurants in the area. The family treats you so good, they make you feel very welcome. Simona is very helpful giving information and great customer service. The room is perfect, there is free wifi and the breakfast buffet is served in the terrace with a awesome view to the Bosphorus and the Blue Mosque. We really enjoyed our stay and totally recommend it, would definitely would stay here again.

Helpful?
3 Thank GuateRider_650
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Hi my husband and myself traveled to Turkey in the first week of August. I had booked this place through booking.com and got a discounted price. We were in touch with Simona as well as Tansel over mails and had a fair idea of what we wanted to do in Istanbul.
Location :The place itself is in the heart of Sulthanmet and very close to various places of interest.
Room: room was quite small.. but I guess that's how it is in Istanbul. It was cozy but cramped.
Food: food was fantastic. Scrumptious breakfast made by the owners themselves with a decent variety of veg dishes as well. Highlight was yaprak dolma (grape leaves stuffed with rice) and various other baked goodies. Yeah just the thought of all that food is salivating!
Service: brilliant! in one word. Tansel has a fantastic sense of humour and went out of his way to meet our requirements. Simona and rest of the staff planned our sightseeing and made traveling convenient. Metro connectivity is awesome in the city and cheap... infact we never hired a cab during our stay at Istanbul.
Pros: location, food and service.
Cons: room was small, basic amenities such as hooks for hanging clothes not there in the room as well as bathroom. No shelf near the shower room to place soaps\shampoo. No dustbin in the room. Also since the room is small I had to iron my clothes on the bed and got burnt. But thankfully the staff gave me an amazing cream to heal the burn. Worked wonders!

I will surely stay again at Buhara if I get a chance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divyah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Whoever called Paris the city of light, clearly hasn't been to Istanbul. This particular hotel is the ideal sort of "base camp" if you're the hectic "on-your-feet" explorer-type and need to be greeted back with a smile after a full day walking. The name Buhara "Family" Hotel is proper niche marketing. Spent the Eid vacation with my two boys, and we all absolutely loved it.

This is not a 5 star all-suites hotel with an acqua park & movie theater & discotheque & a thirty course breakfast buffet. It's an honest-to-god B&B lodge with homely feel and touch right in the center of Istanbul's old city / Sultan Ahmad district.

Ozlem, Tan & Simona speak perfect english, french and Italian between them; they'll reassure you with a gentle air of familiarity & spare no effort in answering any query (not that you need it since everything is either within the vicinity of this little lodge or easily accessible from the metro station 5 minutes away). Strongly recommended for just about anyone wanting a pleasant spot in the center of the old city.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is well ventilated and didn't once feel the need for A/C. Wooden staircase to the terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sbadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Gracia, Argentina
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed at the Buhara Family Inn Hotel last month. The hotel is very well located, only 5 minutes walking to the Blue Mosque and 10 minutes to the Grand Bazaar. The view from the terrace is amazing! The rooms are very confortable and everything is extremely clean. The hotel is attended by their owners, they are extremely kind with their guests and really made you feel as you are at home. they gently advice me which places I do have to visit in Istambul. The food is excellent I can't wait to experience again the typical turquish flavor. Undoubtely I recommend this place to stay and visit Istambul. I can't wait to be again in Istambul!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marcos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I just came back from Istanbul and we stayed at the Buhara for 2 nights and was a perfect stay. The hotel is fairly new our room was # 103 and was so beautifully decorated, with a modern bathroom and so clean! Tanzel really made our stay! He is so helpful and friendly he made us feel like family rather than normal guests. Our flight left very early in the morning and he waited outside with us for the shuttle to pick up us at 3:30 am. their breakfast on the roof top is superb!!!!! very friendly people we would definitely go back. Thanks Buhara Inn for everything!
Maria and Dario

Room Tip: The hotel does not have an elevator(most hotels there doesn"t) If you don't have a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank narizberta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Marmara Guesthouse
Marmara Guesthouse
#4 of 1,047 in Istanbul
978 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,047 in Istanbul
591 reviews
Sultanahmet
Stanpoli Hostel
Stanpoli Hostel
#14 of 1,047 in Istanbul
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Buhara
Hotel Buhara
#109 of 1,200 in Istanbul
61 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lalinn Hotel
Lalinn Hotel
#20 of 1,047 in Istanbul
267 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Studio Suites
Tashkonak Studio Suites
#102 of 1,047 in Istanbul
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buhara Family Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buhara Family Inn

Property: Hotel Buhara Family Inn
Address: Yegen Sokak No 7 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 1,047 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Buhara Family Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family hotel is a 5-minute walk from Blue Mosque and Hagias Sophia and 10-minutes’ walk from Grand Bazaar. You will feel at your home in our small street and our hotel and have the taste of the real Turkish traditional food, like we use to prepare at home. We have one of the nicest terrace of Sultanahmet area, with a great view on Blue Mosque and Marmara Sea and Princess Islands. The hotel is located on one of the nicest and colorful street of Sultanahmet. We are serving an traditional open buffet breakfast on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Buhara Family Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing