We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay in an Excellent Location”
Review of Turvan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turvan Hotel
Ranked #394 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed with a friend for 2 nights. We liked the location as it was close to attractions in Istanbul and well commuted. There was also a choice of restaurants. Breakfast was a good meal and pleasant atmosphere.
On the downside: it could have been cleaner and the the elevator boy did not have to be so upfront about a tip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SammySaiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 213 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

was there with my friends for almost a week in December and Jan. Its location in Sultanahmet area is the only thing i like about the hotel. the fact of the matter is, i cannot think about anything else that could be considered a pro.

i never thought a property with 3.5 stars would be this bad, or does it really have 3 stars..?? i dont know. The day we arrived, there was no hot water in the bathroom. we complained 4 times and 2 people came to check and they left saying something in Turkish. somehow hot water was available the next day. Apart from the guy at the reception, nobody else speaks a word of English.
The room was shabby and there was not even a carpet in the bathroom which had midieval fittings. They did make up the room everyday though. We could here almost everything from other rooms and outside the building even though the windows were shut.
Their "high speed internet" was the slowest i have ever used. Had to buy a 3G pack on my mobile for my personal use.

It gives you an impression of a seedy lodge, to be utterly honest. Not making such a mistake again.!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mateo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotels security guard harassed us asking us to join him for dinner and the likes. We weren't scared more annoyed than anything but it would be intimidating for a female traveling alone. Worse though is that the receptionist seemed to condone the behavior. The bathroom was filthy, you arrive feeling cleaner than when you leave. Redeeming quality our shuttlebus to the airport was on time and allowed us to get out of the place ASAP.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSSBBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Due to a logistical flaw/anomaly on my part, all I needed was a cheap, clean, safe hotel room for my first night in Istanbul, near where a friend was staying. Turvan was cheap (60 TL for a single room, I think), clean enough, and safe on a quiet street.

When I went to check out in the morning, the desk attendant said I broke a rule the previous night, and they had it on camera. Obviously I knew I didn't break a rule, none were posted anywhere, and the night attendant (who sold me my room in the evening and was there when I returned at night) didn't inform me of any rules either. Naturally, I argued / refused to pay an extra fee. They didn't take kindly to that.

I'm only giving this hotel a Poor rating (rather than Terrible) because the room was sufficient. But if the room were worse, they'd get a worse rating.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Website advertises a fireplace and kitchenette in each room. This is absolutely false. None of the guest rooms come with such amenities. The hotel doesn't allow you to carry you own suitcases to you room and literally takes them from you hand. When they deliver them, the bellhops demand a tip. If you need a drinking glass for your room, expect to tip for the glass. The room we were provided had holes in the wall, toilet was not seated to the floor, bathroom extremely dirty, and room in general needing of a good cleaning. The positive of the hotel is the location, but there are numerous other hotels in the immediate area.

Room Tip: The is a mosque directly next to the hotel. Depends on whether you want to be awoken by prayers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jasmine8675309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I was visiting Istanbul from Los Angeles and I was a single female travelling. The hotel is at a very conveniently located place since all the touristic destinations are just walk distance away. There are great cafes and restaurants right outside the hotel and if u walk just for 2 minutes the options get more.
The staff is commendable, they are warm , helpful and makes u feel like home. I was too go out partying late at night and the gentleman at the reception made sure I sat in the taxi safe and secure. The breakfast option in the hotel is pretty decent and not just the usual cold breakfast served every where else. The staff at the hotel made the experience extra special for me.
The rooms are not over the top nice, they are decent enough to make u have a good night sleep.
I personally would recommend this hotel considering u pay very reasonable amount for the good services u get in return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nittisinghh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have spent 4 nights in Turvan that seems for us so nice because of location near to many touristic places (Topkapi, Aya Sofia, Basilic Citern, Grand Bazaar ....) and with good staff mainly Mr Ferhat who was very helpful for us from welcome time until last day. But the hotel needs some renewing for rooms and reviwing the Wifi coverage because it's very weak in rooms, I have gone down to reception to get connected.

Room Tip: For just walking around istanbul and shopping it's very good because it's near of everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badr_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
#293 of 1,160 in Istanbul
138 reviews
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#429 of 1,160 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anadolu Hotel
Anadolu Hotel
#390 of 1,160 in Istanbul
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Istanbul Central Hotel
Istanbul Central Hotel
#389 of 1,160 in Istanbul
127 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ipek Palas
Hotel Ipek Palas
#566 of 1,160 in Istanbul
981 reviews
Sim Hotel
#877 of 1,160 in Istanbul
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turvan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turvan Hotel

Address: Hocapasa Sok. No: 16 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#92 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#147 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $27 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turvan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel with family athmosphere and English speaking staff. Welcomes you to enjoy the unique historical places in Istanbul. If you choose to stay in Turvan Hotel you will experience the magnificent city of Istanbul by visiting the Blue Mosque, Saint sophia, Grand Bazaar,Under Ground Cistern, Topkapi Palace and more are walking distances.On the other hand, you can enjoy the sun and the sea by taking Bhosphorus tour and will also have chance to see the modern Istanbul. To taste the famaous Turkish cuisine to live the night life. Turvan Hotel Consists of 5 floors and 45 rooms. We have Single , Double, Twin and Triple rooms. All rooms are fully furnished and with own private bathrooms, TV, phone, Hair dryer, 24 hours room Service, Heating and cooling system ect... Breakfast is Open buffet for Our Guests.. And we have wireless internet it’s free of charge. You can use in lobby or all around the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Turvan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turvan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing