We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for, and rude service is free!”
Review of Turvan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turvan Hotel
Ranked #370 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Due to a logistical flaw/anomaly on my part, all I needed was a cheap, clean, safe hotel room for my first night in Istanbul, near where a friend was staying. Turvan was cheap (60 TL for a single room, I think), clean enough, and safe on a quiet street.

When I went to check out in the morning, the desk attendant said I broke a rule the previous night, and they had it on camera. Obviously I knew I didn't break a rule, none were posted anywhere, and the night attendant (who sold me my room in the evening and was there when I returned at night) didn't inform me of any rules either. Naturally, I argued / refused to pay an extra fee. They didn't take kindly to that.

I'm only giving this hotel a Poor rating (rather than Terrible) because the room was sufficient. But if the room were worse, they'd get a worse rating.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Turvan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 211 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

Website advertises a fireplace and kitchenette in each room. This is absolutely false. None of the guest rooms come with such amenities. The hotel doesn't allow you to carry you own suitcases to you room and literally takes them from you hand. When they deliver them, the bellhops demand a tip. If you need a drinking glass for your room, expect to tip for the glass. The room we were provided had holes in the wall, toilet was not seated to the floor, bathroom extremely dirty, and room in general needing of a good cleaning. The positive of the hotel is the location, but there are numerous other hotels in the immediate area.

Room Tip: The is a mosque directly next to the hotel. Depends on whether you want to be awoken by prayers.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jasmine8675309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I was visiting Istanbul from Los Angeles and I was a single female travelling. The hotel is at a very conveniently located place since all the touristic destinations are just walk distance away. There are great cafes and restaurants right outside the hotel and if u walk just for 2 minutes the options get more.
The staff is commendable, they are warm , helpful and makes u feel like home. I was too go out partying late at night and the gentleman at the reception made sure I sat in the taxi safe and secure. The breakfast option in the hotel is pretty decent and not just the usual cold breakfast served every where else. The staff at the hotel made the experience extra special for me.
The rooms are not over the top nice, they are decent enough to make u have a good night sleep.
I personally would recommend this hotel considering u pay very reasonable amount for the good services u get in return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nittisinghh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have spent 4 nights in Turvan that seems for us so nice because of location near to many touristic places (Topkapi, Aya Sofia, Basilic Citern, Grand Bazaar ....) and with good staff mainly Mr Ferhat who was very helpful for us from welcome time until last day. But the hotel needs some renewing for rooms and reviwing the Wifi coverage because it's very weak in rooms, I have gone down to reception to get connected.

Room Tip: For just walking around istanbul and shopping it's very good because it's near of everything...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badr_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

I am staying in turvan since 2003 , and have always find it my second home ,
The property has been refurbished recently with drapes , washroom renovated ,
Small improvements are needed like fittings in the washroom needs a more experienced mason ,
Overall it's a nice and decent place ,
Very safe , can always always trust especially Mr Farhat ,

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASHFAQ_BADSHAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my 2nd stay in Turvan hotel, however I was very disappointed about changes in last 3 years. Especially fact that they didn't keep my reservation for a first night and offer me just substitution apartment nearby without any explanation or compensation and breakfast, where people with special diets has literally nothing to eat, makes my trip to Istanbul little worse this time. "Trifles" like no water in the morning just before our business responsibilities and reluctance of the hotel representative assure me, that this was my last time in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin-Slovakia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

On arrival at the hotel at about 7pm we were informed that there was a problem with the family room. We were travelling with three young children. We were then taken to a dismal hotel and were to stay in the basement room, the stairs leading down were filthy, needless to say we refused. We were then taken to another hotel which was also not acceptable. When we informed the hotel that we would fin our own alternative accommodation we were taken to a like hotel. I do appreciate that they did find a hotel for us, but walking around the streets of Sultanahmet with three young children that late at night was not fun. With current internet facilities I feel the least they could have done was send a mail or a sms notifying us of the problem-

Room Tip: Can not comment on the hotel due to not actually having stayed there.
Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank malyvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#388 of 1,159 in Istanbul
120 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
#296 of 1,159 in Istanbul
138 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anadolu Hotel
Anadolu Hotel
#380 of 1,159 in Istanbul
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Istanbul Central Hotel
Istanbul Central Hotel
#379 of 1,159 in Istanbul
127 reviews
Sim Hotel
#879 of 1,159 in Istanbul
9 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#519 of 1,159 in Istanbul
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turvan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turvan Hotel

Address: Hocapasa Sok. No: 16 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#135 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $27 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turvan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel with family athmosphere and English speaking staff. Welcomes you to enjoy the unique historical places in Istanbul. If you choose to stay in Turvan Hotel you will experience the magnificent city of Istanbul by visiting the Blue Mosque, Saint sophia, Grand Bazaar,Under Ground Cistern, Topkapi Palace and more are walking distances.On the other hand, you can enjoy the sun and the sea by taking Bhosphorus tour and will also have chance to see the modern Istanbul. To taste the famaous Turkish cuisine to live the night life. Turvan Hotel Consists of 5 floors and 45 rooms. We have Single , Double, Twin and Triple rooms. All rooms are fully furnished and with own private bathrooms, TV, phone, Hair dryer, 24 hours room Service, Heating and cooling system ect... Breakfast is Open buffet for Our Guests.. And we have wireless internet it’s free of charge. You can use in lobby or all around the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Turvan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turvan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing