We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Sultanahmet Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sultanahmet Suites
Ranked #36 of 1,234 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at this suite for 3 nights. We had a suite with one queen bed and one sofa bed in the living room.
Our stay was great. The only thing that was missing in this hotel was an elevator.
If you want food, there are a few convenience stores nearby and restaurants and bakery.
If you are someone who is looking for a mosque near your hotel then this is your hotel because the mosque is literally next door.

Room Tip: Room 13 and 12 are good
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikramikram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
There are newer reviews for Sultanahmet Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 468 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

Hotel was located walking distance from Blue mosque. We took metro from Ataturk airport to Sultanahmet and then walked to the hotel. We were five people and had enough bedding for everyone. Kids loved the stay and still miss walking to bakery right next to the hotel having fresh breakfast everyday. We walked to almost every tourist attraction from the hotel like blue mosque, topkapi, grand bazar, spice market, hagia sofia, suleman mosque, new mosque, bosphorus etc. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They explained everything in details how to get to any attraction and how much we should pay if we need to take the taxi. We walked every day for hours and hours and everyone loved that. We also ate so much but burnt all the extra calories we consumed by walking. I would recommend anyone to stay in this hotel if you want to enjoy the trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamran502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We booked a room with a sea view in the "gold" building. The first night we were put in a ground floor room in the "Esmerald" building - they claimed it was bigger and it was better for us!

We of course complained and the third night we were put in the upper part of a duplex (with a view of the park). The lower floor was rented to a family who we were separated from by a wooden door. We may as well have had them in our room - it sounded like they were!.

The next day we wanted to leave this hotel. The staff were very annoyed. We had to call the so-called "manager" who gave us all an apology, saying tourists were very important to them, and then they gave us a room with a sea view for our last two nights.

But the problem is that at the end of the stay they made us pay for five nights at the price of a room with a sea view! We could not believe it! We complained again but they did not listen and after a long discussion, they gave us a paltry 8% reduction!

And of course when we paid, the manager was no longer reachable and didn't seem to care about customer satisfaction ...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
209  Thank olivier p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joytheking, Manager at Sultanahmet Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review but something are missunderstanding beetween us.
I try to explain you when you were staying with us so I will do again.
Your reservation was one of online reservation system and you did not right your Credit card details when you were making your reservation.
so your reservation wasnt Garanti.
The Sultanahmet Suites was available so we arranged the Standart Suite for you first two nights; after we changed to suite and we booked Deluxe Suite with balcony and park view. After you complain I said if you are not happy The Deluxe Suite with sea view and balcony is available you can stay.
so you did last two nights.
I also explain you a few times your reservation wasnt confirm because your details wasnt enough to our system. But comminication was difficult because my French is not so good. you can check with online system ( the cod number ; behind your card last three numbers was missed )
I just sad to you it is your holiday you must be happy and we will do our best .
I offered you free breakfast also.
Your check out date you wanted discount it is like our mistake so I accept %4 but you were not happy so we did % 8 without any problem.
so I am very sorry that we couldnt make you happy during all your stays at Sultahmet Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location at few minutes walk from Blue Mosque. Our Flat in Diamond Building had enough room for two people.
Excellent and comfortable furniture.
Equipped with all you may need ( microwave, hair dryer, kettle).
Every mail we sent to Ayleen before departure were answered in less than half an hour. Mr Denis helped us for everything in a very kind and professional way. We recommend this place for a couple with or without a child!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilviaG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Aside from the hilly walk into the centre, this is a great place to be in Istanbul. The accommodation is good - although when we arrived, we were told that they didn't have enough rooms for us - despite me confirming twice in the week before we travelled. It did take a persistent response from me, before they found us the extra room we needed. This spoilt the beginning of the trip.
I'd recommend this accommodation overall, but urge you to be very clear when you book about them having the right room ready when you arrive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gilly0502011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Best beds in any hotel I have ever been in. Showers don't run out of hot water. Friendly and warm staff. It is located in an "odd" location between a residential neighborhood and the tourist area. Walking distance to Grand Bazaar, the Spice Market, the Blue Mosque, the Haigia Sofia and the Basilica Cistern. There's even a Chinese restaurant nearby. Got a problem? Ask Kivanc (Joy).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked this suite 6 months in advance - had excellent email connections with them and were really looking forward to spending 3 days at their Deluxe Suite in their Gold Building.

OK, they provided an excellent pick up service from the airport - much appreciated - but by the time we'd made our way through thier cramped cafe / office area - and up to the top floor - we were suprised that the De Luxe Suite wasn't really as good as the pictures on the internet suggest.

Everything was as advertised in terms of furniture and equipment - but it was one of theose places where things to us - and we've travelled a lot - showed wear and tear around the edges - leading to us accepting and managing, but not really enjoying our stay.

A comfortable large bed, a sofa and footstools plus TV and excellent free internet connection made up for the curtains next to the bed only covering two thirds of the window - we hung a towel over the rest of the curtain rail to ensure privacy. At the other end the large patio door / windows again only had curtains across two thirds - we had to use the bed throw over the rest to cut the lights out from the buildings outside as well as lights from the sea.

There was a kitchen area, but it wasn't at the better end of the quality area the photos seem to suggest. Yes, everything was available, but not to the quality I think you'd expect from their descriptions on the net.

There was a good sized balcony with a great view of the bottom end of the old town and across the sea - good for evening sunsets. We are cat lovers, but the smell of cats urine and the odd feaces in plant pots sort of put you off.

We left after 3 days - went on a 6 day drive and came back for our last night. The top floor was out of action and we were offered, at a much lower rate - an alternative room in their other local building. We were shown a room in the basement - horrible and small, flies in the bathroom and walked out.

Sounds like a moan - but the manager on duty made a quick call and we then dragged our cases to the local Best Western for the same price - lucky us - where we had a REAL suite!!

So - I realise this sounds as though we might have high expectations - but if you can manage a few untidy edges then these are a good place to stay - only 15 minutes up a steep road to the Blue Mosque, and you are really in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Old Town.

Room Tip: Ask for the top room - even with the minor faults it's worth the climb for the view out to sea.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
110  Thank holiday1steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Alhambra Residence
#8 of 1,234 in Istanbul
92 reviews
Beyoglu
MySuite Istanbul
MySuite Istanbul
#7 of 1,234 in Istanbul
218 reviews
Sultanahmet
Topkapi Apartments
Topkapi Apartments
#64 of 1,234 in Istanbul
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Nuru Ziya Suites
Nuru Ziya Suites
#9 of 1,234 in Istanbul
306 reviews
Sultanahmet
Emirhan Inn Apart Hotel
Emirhan Inn Apart Hotel
#16 of 1,234 in Istanbul
379 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seatanbul Apart
Seatanbul Apart
#73 of 1,234 in Istanbul
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultanahmet Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultanahmet Suites

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Ozbekler Sok. No 4 D 1 | Sultanahmet - Kadirga, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 1,234 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $22 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultanahmet Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultanahmet Suites is a first class Apartment in Istanbul. It has a quiet location in the old city centre - Sultanahmet - where you can find the heart of Istanbul's history. When you step out of Sultanahmet Suites you will feel the culture of the Byzantine Empire. It is within walking distance of Byzantine and Ottoman monuments such as St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Topkapi Palace and the Grand Bazaar. Other Istanbul attractions, like the Cemberlitas Hamami (Turkish bath) and the Spice Market, are also only a few minutes away.Free wireless internet access,24 hours reception desk,House keeping service is daily, minimum three nights stay free pick up service from Ataturk Airport,Each rooms air-conditioning-LCD Television over 100 channels,Tour desk,car parking,Restaurant for breakfast and Lunch... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Sultanahmet Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultanahmet Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing