We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel”
Review of Sirkeci Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sirkeci Mansion
Ranked #4 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2008

My accomodation in this charme hotel has been perfect.
Hotel iscentrally located, service is good, staff (reception and waiters) is very kind and avaliable. I had booked a double standard room, but they gave me a superior room that was large, clean and very well equiped with good fornitures.
Breakfast was super!!
Price is not low but good for this kind of hotel
I'll raccomand this hotel for sure!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Champ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,991)
There are newer reviews for Sirkeci Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,240 - 2,246 of 2,991 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2008

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the Sirkeci Konak for four night this past weekend. We chose the hotel based on the spectacular reviews here on TripAdvisor and our experience was EVEN better than the already high expectations we had. This is my first review on TripAdvisor but we had such a great time I felt the need to pass along the story of this amazing little hotel.

The rooms were clean and well stocked. Everyday there was complimentary breakfast and afternoon tea. And the staff at the hotel was the friendliest and most helpful I've encountered. While the staff at a Four Seasons or Ritz-Carlton may come across more polished, the staff at the Sirkeci is so warm and inviting that each day our return home and walk through the lobby was a treat.

The location of the hotel is perfect for anyone who wants to walk around old town Istanbul. A five minute walk to the major attractions (Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, etc) and a wonderful ten minute walk to the Grand Bazaar and Spice Market.

A couple of special notes - if you book through the hotel's website (like we did), they will 1) arrange for a complimentary car to pick you up in the airport and transfer you to the hotel (a huge plus when we arrived late at night with a very tired baby) and 2) a free dinner at the restaurant located in the lobby of the hotel, which was surprisingly good.

Also - if you pay your bill at checkout in cash (as opposed to by credit card), you get an additional 11% discount. A nice little treat to end our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank joshpayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2008

We booked 3 nights in a double deluxe room and the celebrations package plus Hamam and cooking course.
It was a wonderful experience. The service was really perfect and all was done to make you feel comfortable.
The location is absolutely marvelous - you just stroll to all major attractions in the old parts of Istanbul.
Im Gold Member of Starwood, GOLD VIP of Hilton Honors - but this Hotel topped them all in terms of customer service - i can fully recommend the Hotel. You will fell like the Sultan himself.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank H_C_Lederer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2008

We had read so much about this hotel on TripAdvisor and after listening to my wife's brother raving about Istanbul we just had to go. We spent 5 nights at the Sirkeci Konak in late October with our 11 and 13 year old children and we had two interconnecting rooms on the top floor. The rooms were fine - comfortable beds and decent bathrooms. The hotel was quiet with the exception of the early morning call to prayer from a nearby minaret, which was very atmospheric.

We enjoyed breakfast where there was plenty of choice and after a busy day we dined in the hotel's Turkish restaurant each night. The menu has plenty of choice (we even had the chance to sample the fish from the hotel's other restaurant a couple of times). The food is great and all of us took to Turkish cuisine with relish. Service was very good and the staff were so friendly and helpful. On our second day the heavens opened and it rained and rained. Because of the rain the restaurants handled over 100 diners as everyone nearby seemed to want to eat here and whilst we waited a little longer than usual the staff battled through with good grace.

We all enjoyed the swimming pool which was a nice way to relax after sightseeing and also loved the tea and sandwich snacks each afternoon.

All the staff were really great and helped make our stay so special. The Guest Relations Manager, Pelin, helped us with our daily itinery and saved us a lot of money with advice on a boat trip along the Bosphorous. Pelin also sent us some Turkish menus for our daughter's cookery class - a really nice touch.

We were a little worried about how the children would react to Istanbul - so different to the other 20 countries they have visited but they loved everything - the mosques, Hagia Sophia, Grand Bazaar and Spice Market, Topkapi Palace, Galata Tower, several boat trips including a short excursion to Asia side (cost of £5.60!!) and especially the Basilica Cistern. The sights and sounds on each street were amazing and we walked miles round the city taking it all in.

We went to Istanbul with high expectations of the Sirkeci Konak and it did not disappoint!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quinnkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2008

The Sirkeci Konak Hotel is an excellent place to stay in Istanbul. It is very comfortable, clean and relaxing. Our room like many had a small balcony and the space inside was enough for just two people. During warmer weather the roof terrace would be a great retreat. Included in the price is a very nice breakfast with enough selections to get you started for the day. My wife and I visited during the off season and were able to include complimentary shuttle service from the airport plus dinner the first night (which was awesome).

The hotel itself is strategically located off a quiet corner in an ideal spot -- you can walk to the Topkapi Palace in 8 minutes, the Haghia Sophia and Blue Mosque in 10 minutes, and in the other direction you can be at the Spice Market in 15 minutes or the Grand Bazaar in 20 minutes. Istanbul is very much a walking city and renting/driving a car is not recommended.

Free internet is also available in case you wanted to search on local events-- but there was very little need, since the Sirkeci Konak Hotel staff was extremely knowledgeable and helpful, they really made us feel at home -- of course our favorite was the complimentary tea time every evening.

If you ever have an opportunity to visit Istanbul we would highly recommend staying at the Sirkeci Konak Hotel.

Greg & Miriam

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GM-Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2008

Our stay at the Sirkecki Konak was wonderful. It's a lovely "boutique" hotel located across from Gulhane Park near Topkapi Palace. I've stayed in five hotels around the World but I have never been more pampered by a hotel staff. The hotel is relatively new with a cozy atmosphere. Many major points of interest are within easy walking distance; Hagia Sophia, Sultanahmet (Blue Mosque), Basilica Cistern, Islamic Art Museum, Spice Bazaar, Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, The guest relations manager is very helpful with tours, dinner reservations and directions.

We dined at some fabulous restaurants but I must say, the hotel chef during our stay is without equal; a real perfectionist with a flair for presentation.

The only minor downsides were' the automobile parts shops across the street (I understand they are to be vacated next year and renovated into boutique shops) and the hotel staff couldn't seem to make the wireless internet on our floor work. It was a little bit of a hassle to go to the lobby to connect. Nevertheless, this shouldn't stop you from enjoying this fine hotel and excellent staff.

If we return to Istanbul, we will make a point to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cato08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2008

Sirkeci is in great location, within walking distance to all of the sights in historic, old Istanbul. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was always friendly and helpful. We stayed there for 6 nights and were always comfortable during our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pengysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,046 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#2 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,386 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#6 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,121 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,944 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#7 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirkeci Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirkeci Mansion

Address: Taya Hatun Sokak No:5 | Sirkeci / Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey (Formerly Sirkeci Konak Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#2 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#4 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#5 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#7 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $76 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sirkeci Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located next to the Topkapi palace in the heart of Istanbul and from where we are we invite you to explore the mysteries of two thousand years. In hopes of capturing the spirit of the area, our Konak's atmosphere, decor and design take a revolutionary approach in combining 19th century style with 21st century comfort. Combined with this atmosphere, what if we offer the promise of distinctive hospitality? Just imagine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sirkeci Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirkeci Konak Istanbul
Hotel Sirkeci Konak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing