We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class service - the perfect hotel for a trip to magical Istanbul”
Review of Sirkeci Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sirkeci Mansion
Ranked #4 of 1,151 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class service - the perfect hotel for a trip to magical Istanbul”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

From the moment you book, the staff start looking after you, providing a guest website where you can book meals, tours, spa treatments (we didn't use it, hence 3 stars - judging by everything else, I'm sure it will be excellent). Any questions are quickly and fully answered.

Without repeating every other review on this hotel (unbelievable service, clean and comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast buffet (until 11am!), roof terrace and restaurant with lovely views), our stay was summed up by several things:

A member of staff brought us through to the salon upon our arrival, offered a complimentary drink and then went through our trip (in as much detail as we wished) to make sure everything was ready for us - including arranging a guided tour, dinner reservations, etc. We never felt pushed into anything, just presented with options, each of which turned out to be a great idea.

On the desk in the room, we found a note from the hotelier welcoming us and explaining that we should feel like we are guests in his own home and that nothing should be too much trouble - nothing was.

The location is perfect - just 5 minutes from the bustle of the tourist centre around Sultanahmet - peace and quiet in a hectic city.

The hotel offers complimentary cultural experiences. We enjoyed a cooking experience with the head chef and 4 other guests. There was also a tour and wine tasting, among others. It was an added bonus during our stay and really made us feel like valued guests.

We honestly did not want to leave our hosts. The sooner we can arrange another visit, the better. Why anyone would spend more on one of the big hotels, miles from the old city, I don't know.

Make sure you visit Istanbul and make sure you stay at Sirkeci Konak, you will not be disappointed.

Also, if you are visiting Istanbul on the tourist trail make sure you come during Ramadan - the sights, sounds and atmosphere of thousands of people breaking the fast together will stay with us forever.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashrossx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Sirkeci Mansion, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
My Dear Guest;

I am Faruk Boyacı, the owner of the hotel, I would like to thank you for your review about Sirkeci Konak Hotel. Such beautiful comments show that we are in the right path and make us motivated working with a great desire and passion.

Thank you again. Everyone sends you their regards Please do not hesitate to contact me directly ( faruk@istanbul.com ) ,if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey. I will be very happy to host you again in Istanbul or in our hotel group when you come back.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyacı
The Owner of Sirkeci Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,600
    327
    29
    3
    5
See reviews for
585
1,560
176
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somers, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great location, comfortable rooms and superb service ensured our stay here was memorable. The staff at this hotel are the best we have encountered. The breakfast offering was extensive. If possible enjoy an evening meal on the roof top terrace. Overlooking the park, with views of the Golden Horn we had a delicious meal which was very reasonably priced. We also enjoyed a free cooking lesson which we recommend if time permits.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Sirkeci Mansion, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
My Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review and appreciate your kind comments. It is great to hear that you had a enjoyable stay at our hotel. Everyone sends you their regards.

Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.

Best Wishes from Istanbul Sirkeci Konak Family

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the Hotel
Sirkeci Group Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We expected a good small boutique hotel when we chose it based on Trip Advisor reviewers. Before we entered the front door, we knew it was the right decision. Our taxi delivered us to the front door on a quiet street but steps from the tram and an easy walk to just about everything. Quiet being the key word, since it's hard to find in this city! When we walked into our beautiful large, top-floor room with a balcony overlooking the park, well, it not only exceeded expectations but made me proud to be the one who had made the decision!

We were welcomed early in the morning off our cruise ship and invited to eat their wonderful breakfast while they finished preparing our room. The most unusual thing then happened. The gentleman at the front desk invited us to sit down in their lounge area, brought us apple tea, and proceeded to brief us on Istanbul - the customs, the people, the neighbourhoods, transportation, restaurants, even what to expect there. He provided maps and off we went.

While at the hotel, we enjoyed the Turkish Bath facilities in the basement, complete with Hamam. A wonderful experience! The rooftop restaurant offered a nice getaway from the restaurant crowds of Ramadan, although the food was disappointing relative to their wonderfully diverse breakfasts. One of the best parts of our stay was a culinary experience they offered to guests, free of charge. We had the chance to prepare Turkish dishes alongside the chef in the hotel's kitchen and then sit down to enjoy the fruits of our labour. Just one more way this hotel offers not only a bed to sleep in, but an entire Istanbul experience. Had we stayed longer - and next time we will - we would have participated in some of the other activities they offer, included a trip to the spice market.

This hotel will not disappoint. In fact, it will be the best decision you make when visiting Istanbul!

Room Tip: Deluxe was the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodFinders2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Sirkeci Mansion, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
My Dear Guest;

I cannot tell how wonderful it is to read your review. Thank you very much for honoring us with your kind comments and becoming a part of our success.

I hope to see you again in Istanbul with us.

Kind Regards
Faruk Boyaci -
The owner of Sirkeci Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Neorion Hotel and Serkeci Konak are sister hotels. They share same price range as well. Locations are about the same. Serkeci is on a quiet street with prettier shops.

Neorion has free sunset drinks every evening on its rooftop terrace. It also has free mezza at the restaurant where you have many selections of mezza with bread. Its spa and swimming pool are bigger and newer than Serkeci. Neorion staffs rank about 5 times bettern in terms of speaking English, caring customers, mannerism and all services compared to Serkeci Konak.

Serkeci Konak has a nice restaurant. I enjoyed having a breakfast with big windows with lots of aun light. The wait staffs at the Serkeci is much better than the ones in Neorion. Neorion doesnt really have a restaurant with kitchen. It only serves breakfast. The rooms at the Serkeci is bigger than Neorion but less cleaner.

For the same price, I would stay in Neorion but Serkeci was a nice hotel as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrangeKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Sahibi at Sirkeci Mansion, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
My Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Sirkeci Mansion Hotel. We are open to not only positive comments but also negative comments. Negative comments will show our lacking areas that need improvement.

Moreover, I appreciate your kind comments. I am very pleased that you had good time in our hotel and in Istanbul. But, it would be better, if you could spend better time. So, if you come to Istanbul again, I will be happy to host you in Sirkeci Mansion Hotel but this time should be completely perfect for you.

Kind Regards,

Faruk Boyaci
Owner of Sirkeci Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is one of the best I have ever stayed. Rooms. Are clean, spacious and lovely, the lobby has character. The breakfast is divine - no seriously, the breakfast is awesome, the staff are so kind and generous and thoughtful we felt like family. They also have several small activities in the hotel such as Turkish Wine and cheese tasting that are included. There is a gorgeous rooftop restaurant and bar as well as lounge chairs to relax. Because of road restrictions taxis sometimes can't get right to the front door but it is a very short walk from the Gulhanen tram stop.
The location overall cannot be beat! It is so convenient,so quiet at night, and what a view from the roof. If we come back to Istanbul,we will stay here for sure!!!!

Room Tip: They also have rooms with 2 singles for friends travelling together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Sirkeci Mansion, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
My Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review and it is very nice and important for me to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay.

Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us we are on the right path. We will look forward to seeing you with us in the family again.


Kind Regards,

Faruk Boyaci
Owner of the Hotel
Sirkeci Group Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Location: heart of Old Town
-steps away from the tram
- around the corner from rows of restaurants
- walkable to Hagia Sophia in one direction and the Spice Market in another
- Our window overlooked the public park attached to Topkapi Palace (nice to have a picnic in the park!)

Staff:
-The moment we arrived we received a drink of our choice (we went for turkish coffee and tea) and an orientation of the hotel and the city
- every time we had contact with the front desk they were great

Rooms:
- very large - king bed (2 beds pushed together like all others we had this trip)
- super clean
- fresh turkish delights each day
- upon arrival owner had a letter in the room with his personal cell number on it urging guest to call him if they have any concerns - we, of course, had none but it is nice to see he cares!

Pool/Hammam:
-refreshing pool
-cool there is a Hammam room that is large - I don't know if they do scrubs there or not - we went at night
-is a gym but we didn't look in it

Breakfast:
- Buffet - though it was large there was something a little off about the breakfast - lots of stuff but none of it really belonged together - breads, Turkish selections changed daily (we otherwise would not have known to try these foods which were delicious), cheeses, eggs, fruit, oatmeal and any topping you can imagine, jams - found out later we could order eggs, any kind including veggie omelet from the kitchen.

If I ever go back I am definitely returning to this hotel and would recommend it!

Rooftop Restaurant:
-GREAT staff!
- great view of water and park
- food was good but not amazing for a gourmet Turkish restaurant

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Sirkeci Mansion, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
My Dear Guest;

I am Faruk Boyacı, the owner of the hotel, I would like to thank you for your review about Sirkeci Konak Hotel. Such beautiful comments show that we are in the right path and make us motivated working with a great desire and passion.

Thank you again. Everyone sends you their regards Please do not hesitate to contact me directly ( faruk@istanbul.com ) ,if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey. I will be very happy to host you again in Istanbul or in our hotel group when you come back.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyacı
The Owner of Sirkeci Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Sirkeci Konak is a gem of a hotel. The location is perfect for visiting the major sites in the old part of Istanbul and the tram is close by if you are not up for walking. You can be at the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, and Basilica Cistern within 5 minutes.
The facilities are great too --- the rooms are well furnished and modern with roomy bathrooms (ours had a deep bathtub which we took full advantage of after a long day of touring).
The breakfast buffet is amazing --- plenty of hot and cold options to suit everyone's taste.
We will definitely stay here again if we go back to Istanbul and will recommend it to friends for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDGal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Sirkeci Mansion, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
My Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review and it is very nice and important for me to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us we are on the right path.


Kind regards,

Faruk Boyaci
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,151 in Istanbul
2,987 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,151 in Istanbul
3,327 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,151 in Istanbul
2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,151 in Istanbul
2,909 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,151 in Istanbul
2,070 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,151 in Istanbul
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirkeci Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirkeci Mansion

Property: Sirkeci Mansion
Address: Taya Hatun Sokak No:5 | Sirkeci / Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey (Formerly Sirkeci Konak Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#1 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#2 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#5 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#7 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sirkeci Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located next to the Topkapi palace in the heart of Istanbul and from where we are we invite you to explore the mysteries of two thousand years. In hopes of capturing the spirit of the area, our Konak's atmosphere, decor and design take a revolutionary approach in combining 19th century style with 21st century comfort. Combined with this atmosphere, what if we offer the promise of distinctive hospitality? Just imagine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sirkeci Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirkeci Konak Istanbul
Hotel Sirkeci Konak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing