We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grand Washington
Ranked #477 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel was recommended to us by an acquaintance who stayed there last year, and we were not disappointed, check in was pleasant and quick and we were escorted to our room and helped with the luggage by a very pleasant porter, who explained the key card and the remote for the air con. he also came back up later to sort out our room safe and showed us how to set the code. The room was a good size and looked exactly like the website photos, it had every thing you needed including a kettle with tea and coffee and a complimentary bottle of water, replenished daily, the bathroom was a good size with a walk in shower plenty of towels again these were changed daily. there is a mini bar in the room and prices are in $dollars, but seemed reasonable. Breakfast is typical Turkish buffet style and had a large variety of items including eggs, sausage,salads, fruit,cereals, yoghurt, breads, cakes, jams, tea, coffee and juice. again this looked like the photos on the website. On the first evening we ate at the hotel, this was OK but nothing to write home about, but was very reasonable at 22 TL pp for an eat as much as you want buffet. We had a bottle of wine which seemed a little over priced at 110TL. The views from the top floor restaurant are amazing and it was lovely to eat breakfast on the outside balcony and enjoy the nice weather. On our first night we returned to our room to find a lovely bowl of fruit which which we enjoyed over the next few days when we returned from sightseeing. We used the bar in the reception area a few times during our stay and Ishmael the barman was lovely and so courteous. I also used the swimming pool one day and although on a huge pool it was warm and the facilities were clean and towels provided, I was also offered free tea and coffee during my time there. Yes some of the staff might not speak very good English but then my Turkish is not very good either but they are anxious to make your stay as good as possible. The hotel is about a 25minute walk from the big sights of The Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia Museum and grand Bazaar, also worth a visit is the underground Basilica Cistern(opp the Hagia Sofia) and the Suleymaniye Mosque this is only about 15 minutes from the hotel and was fantastic. It is so big it can be seen from most parts of the city. there are no queue's at this mosque unlike some of the the other attractions. The Topkapi Palace you could spend all day here there are plenty of places to sit and rest in between looking around the many rooms and exhibitions. Well worth doing is the sightseeing buses who have two routes red and blue and we covered most of the out of the way places with these such as the going over the Bosphorus bridge an experience on an open top bus to the Asian side of Istanbul and the Golden Horn and the which links the the Turkish and European sides, you can hop on and off at any of the attractions on the route and just get on the next bus they also go over the Galata and Ataturk bridges. The hotel is situated in a pleasant area with a few restaurants within a 5 minute walk there seems to be a lot of clothes shops in and around the hotel but on closer inspection they are wholesale only.
All in all a great hotel with good facilities and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TudorWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 184 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

This hotel was fabulous in all areas. The hotel is in a quite area surrounded by many stores, restaurants and walking distance to many attractions. The staff was exceptional which made our stay better than expected. They helped in all areas to include advice about transportation, food, etc. The manager and Mr. Mahmoud went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and comfortable throughout our stay. The breakfast was extensive and facilities was excellent as well but most of all...they had English speaking channels which was great for our children. The rooms were generous (bigger than most European Hotels) and clean. We were a party of five (5) so we had two connecting rooms with two bathrooms...FABULOUS! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor in connecting rooms. No view but the space of the rooms was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jump5mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My boyfriend won a trip to Istanbul for a week and we stayed at the Hotel Grand Washington.
We were really excited with the idea to stay in a 4**** hotel for the first time and were looking forward to staying at this place after seeing the pictures on the website.

We were quite happy at our arrival, the welcome at the reception was nice.
The room was small but clean and tidy.
The view from the restaurant is amazing and we watched stunning sunsets.
The food was ok.

But then, you realised that the staff doesn't really speak english and is not helpful enough.
The servers at the restaurant are even rude. No smile, they don't speak to you when cleaning away the dishes, we were even asked to pay one night although all dinners were included in the price.
Overall, we were expecting a better customer service for a 4**** hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CyRiL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were a group of travellers who stayed for one night in this very clean and comfortable hotel. The location is good for a peaceful and quiet stay but equally good for transport links to the main attractions - the tram is just around 2 or 3 corners and at only 3 Turkish lira pop it's great value for money. The rooms are small but are nicely decorated and the shower is fab but watch your toes on the little step into the bathroom. We didn't use the spar facilities but they looked nice. the inside pool looks as if its a reasonable size but the roof top pool is more the size of a hot tub than something you could swim in. However, Mahmood on the front desk is adorable and very helpful. He held our personal items securely while we spent the few hours we had enjoying a 2 hour boat trip on the Bosphorus and he managed to get us a really good price for our airport transfer so a big thank you to him for that - zor zor supas Mahmood!!!

Room Tip: Tram are cheap and taxis are very reasonable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our first visit to Istanbul, and as we discovered, the Hotel Grand Washington was the perfect place to be based from. A short walk ( or a few tram stops if you prefer), the Spice Bazar, the Grand Bazar, Topkapi Palace, and the Blue Mosque in all it's glory are among the attractions that await. The hotel rooms are comfortable and tidy if somewhat small, but adequate to rest and freshen up from after a long day out. We found the pools to be small.

A wonderful buffet breakfast on the 7th floor is included in the price of the room, and a great start to the day from the fantastic vistas overlooking the Sea of Marmara. The hotel staff were friendly, but remember that in many cases, English is not their first language, so patience is advised. A must do in Istanbul is to get to nearby Eminonu and sample the freshly caught grilled fish from the fishermen on their boats. A bargain at 6 lira.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TH D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at for 5 days at Grand Washington .from arrival and went back for departure of Turkey .as a family of 5 we always need 2 rooms so we get 2 rooms next to each other .huge breakfast good air on/plenty of hot water very clean hotel and helpfull staff.Erol even did our online check in for us.hotel is well situated to all attractions . Very close we taxied every where because 10 lira ($ 5) will get you to
Most places so don't line up for public tpt. Very crowded Thank you Erol and all staff.Family of 5 (Munip) from Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tricky351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week. The rooms were extremely small , no space for the luggage had to leave them in the little entrance area, the bathroom tiny and the shower area so small that some people could only get in sideway, the pool is much smaller than the photo and was like a large Jacuzzi. So the photos you see misrepresent the actual facilities/rooms.
The reception staff were rude and not friendly we had to ask them many time to get a second key ,each time they said come back tomorrow ( a room with three adults gets one key ). They were also rude & angry with us and other people because we had bought bottled water from outside , they said you have to use your mini bar !You cannot even take your water to the gym. We travel a lot and have never seen these strict policies in other hotels. Generally the reception treated us like they were doing a favour to let us stay there. To be fair here are the positives : they changed our room on our request due to problems in the room ,the location is good, the roof terrace was nice the breakfast staff were polite & cheerful the bell boy Kenan was wonderful, helpful and caring , thank you Kenon. The reception staff mistreated or ignored us and some of our friends many times that we will never go back to this hotel .

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are a little bit bigger but still no place for luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simchi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Vicenza
Hotel Vicenza
#455 of 1,175 in Istanbul
250 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Zurich Istanbul
Hotel Zurich Istanbul
#618 of 1,175 in Istanbul
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Samir Hotel Deluxe
Samir Hotel Deluxe
#326 of 1,175 in Istanbul
31 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Sorriso Hotel
Sorriso Hotel
#590 of 1,175 in Istanbul
133 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#222 of 1,175 in Istanbul
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Washington

Address: Gencturk Aga Yokusu Street No:7 Laleli, Fatih | Istanbul, Istanbul 34134, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #477 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $52 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Washington 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Washington located in the historic centre of ancient Istanbul is within walking distance of historical , cultural , business and entertainment areas. Also easily accessible by mobile transportation. We serve our guests with distinctive deluxe rooms and suites , meeting rooms and an elegant designed lobby , all fully renovated in 2012. Dine at our roof top restaurant , overlooking beautiful Istanbul or enjoy a drink by our outdoor swimming pool and sunbatting terrace. Pamper yourself with a Turkish bath , steam bat hor massage in our fully fledged S.P.A and saloon , conveniently located nearby our indoor swimming pool , sauna and fitness centre. Your comfort and enjoyment are our highest priorities achieved by high - class and dedicated service with 25 years of experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing