We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,954)
Filter reviews
1,954 results
Traveler rating
1,279
412
147
55
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,279
412
147
55
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshagia sophiablue mosquegrand bazaarguest relationsperfect locationold citywalking distancethe hotel stafffamily roomspecial thanksturkeymain attractionsamazing hotelhotel restaurantbasilica cisternturkish bathsultanahmet square
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 1,954 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is situated on side road
20 seconds away from Sultan Ahmet train station and Sultanahmet square.

Staff are just wonderful... Okan is the best.
Helped us with checkin. He was incredibly friendly and speaks very good English. Okan is a real asset to this hotel .
Emre and Ismail also helped us so much with directions advise and general chat. Very nice people.

Okan upgraded our room at check-in after we had a bad experience at another hotel, was wonderful to see Okan being so understanding and upgrading our room.
Triple room was a very good size with a balcony.
Hotel is very clean. Has an outdoor swimming pool and a lovely garden.
Safe in the room and big mirror wall. Lighting is very good in the room.

If you wish to visit historical part of Istanbul this is definately the best hotel to stay at.
Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi palace all within 5 minute walk accross the square.

Eaay access to Grand Bazar. 10 minute walk.
Taksim you can connect to via 2 ways from here about 20 minss away.
Plenty of shops and cafes all within seconds of the hotel.

Plus points :
Location, staff, cleanliness, room size.

In room dining could have a bigger and better selection. Restaurant is cheap but just needs a wider menu. Lots of guests from UK and Arabia., maybe offer something to suit tourists more.

2 supermarkets on corner of road. Cafes outside.

Superb hotel

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank Alkahly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuraHotels, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed and polite comment about our hotel. It made us happy to read your beautiful thoughts. We are honored to have hosted you. We would like to see you again at our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The location of this hotel is the only thing that will make you feel that your money hasn't gone in vain. Cleanliness is pathetic. It's a renovated hotel with very old infrastructure.
They will give you a warm welcome. Their lobby meets the standard of 5 star hotel. Their lobby and restaurant is over staffed. These staff members will be found asking you about your problems but it seems none of them is concerned about solving them.
Most of the guests had to stuggle hard with their credit card machines as they were not working particularly for foreigners cards.
Rooms are well lighted with few rooms having a huge pillar in the centre of the room.As I have already said that cleanliness is big issue. You will not have your floors mopped and washrooms cleaned unless you will not complain to the manager.we stayed here for 9 nights and rooms floor was cleaned only twice.
Breakfast is good but again don't meet the standard of 5 star.
They serve free tea between 5 to 6 and most the items served with tea are remains from the breakfast.
Botanical tree shown in their highlighted features is very small.
Swimming pool will give you relief. Blue mosque and other tourists features are very close.sultanahmet metro station is near to this hotel.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank Nausheen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuraHotels, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Nausheen, thank you for your lovely and polite interpretation. It is our honor to know that you are satisfied with our services. We are happy to have you in my happy family. As soon as possible to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We checked into this hotel 5 days ago. The service is amazing here, especially Hasan at food and beverage. Sadik who was the Manager was also very welcoming and helped out whenever needed. Kadir at the front desk was also fantastic . We asked him if he could advise us how to get to. a destination and he actually came with us to the Tram stop, showed up how to purchase the ticket and then went back to the hotel. Being a travel consultant , and also a travel blogger on Instagram , we do lots of travelling around the world and stay at various hotels. However this hotel will be remembered for the amazing staff and the service they provide. Thankyou Sura Hagia Sofia and most importantly Hasan for a great stay He made the stay here one of the best stays we have had in Istanbul. Nothing was too hard for him and he went beyond our expectations.
Fusun and Murat Gumus

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mgfg97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuraHotels, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for evaluating our hotel. Guest comments and opinions are extremely important to us. We are proud to make you happy. As soon as possible to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a standard room but got upgraded free of charge upon arrival due to us requiring a baby cot and I'm glad they did that since even the room we got was barely spacious. What we liked about the hotel:
- great staff
- good breakfast
- excellent well maintained garden
- nice little pool
- and of course, the best location in Istanbul hands down
What could be better:
- afternoon tea/coffee: the taste of the beverages is not great .. definitely not 5-star like
- no elevator to our garden-level floor so we had to carry the stroller each time (though staff jump to help us whenever they saw us) and it was only few steps
- concierge employees should be able to give better advice on local "off the beaten track" places .. it felt they can only help with the traditional touristy attractions and excursions which we weren't interested in

Overall, it was an excellent stay and would definitely stay again (given that we don't get a noisy room under the restaurant).

Room Tip: Request a room away or not below the restaurant
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ibrahim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuraHotels, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ibrahim, thank you for your lovely and polite assessment. It is an honor for us to make you happy. We are happy to have you in my happy family. As soon as possible to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Initially booked for 5 nights. Managed to stay the night only and left the minute the sun rose.
Terrible noisy hotel. Guest next door made a noise till 4am. I called reception and was told he can't leave as he is alone on duty.

This hotel can never be 5 star. I rate it 3 star. Management did absolutely nothing to compensate for the terrible noise. Nor did they apologize.

Terrible service at a terrible hotel. Moved to Conrad Bosporus. Now that is 5 star

Rooms are attic style and if you tall you bound to bump you head everytime you get up from the bed or couch

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Najparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuraHotels, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. Your ideas are important to us. All your views are shared with the relevant departments. The required arrangements will be made. We would like to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews