We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel in the heart of Sultanahmet.”
Review of Hotel Sultan Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sultan Hill
Ranked #433 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed June 18, 2010

The service we received from Yolcun and Tarik at this very clean and charming hotel was amazing! We enjoyed staying at the Sultan Hill so much that after touring other cities in Turkey we returned to stay again with them. The rooftop terrace overlooking the Blue Mosque and the Marmara Sea was breathtaking. The breakfast each morning was delicious with plenty of food. They gave us great suggestions on restaurants and directions. Our service was always friendly and genuine. The rooms are small yet comfortable, very clean and crisp linens. Air conditioning, clean bathroom and beer and wine that could be purchase in the lobby to take up and enjoy the panoramic view on the roof top. We could walk to all the sights in Sultanahmet and felt safe comfortable. The call to prayer from the Blue Mosque at 4:30 a.m. is rather loud, but that being said, it was part of the Istanbul experience. The Sultan Hill was our home away from home on our first trip to Istanbul. Thank you Yolcun!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anton37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 187 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2010

I found this hotel in Rick Steves' Istanbul and was given a discount for showing the book. I arrived in the late evening and was greeted by name when I arrived.
Room was small but spotless and the bed was heaven. This hotel is only three years in business and very well kept up.
Breakfast served in the lower level was fantastic. A wonderful spread in a pleasant atmosphere.
Building also has a rooftop terrace with an amazing view and tables and chairs if you care to get a bottle of wine available in the lobby to enjoy.
I was very comfortable there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinita2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Stayed here June 5 thru 11, 2010. Payed 68E after 15% discount by mentioning that I found them in Rick Steves" Istanbul Guide Book and showing it at checkin. Stayed in Room #201 (one double bed - main floor - no stairs - no elevator) Great price, location, very good free breakfast buffet, friendly staff, room was on back side away from very little traffic street, good bathroom, TV, AC, Would stay there anytime I return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlohaCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

This is a wonderfulhotel close to the centre of the city,the service is excellent,prices very competitive,breakfast offered a great variety of foods to please any palate.When we return to this lovely city,we will stay here again because we know that we will be very happy here,the staff are so nice,thanks for a great holiday.Ro & Phil Hewitt and family

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruiser0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

We just walked in off the street in our pursuit to find a hotel room and got very lucky to find this hidden gem.
We were invited right away to a small wine tasting with owners and staff . What a great
way to relax and feel welcome after a long day of travel.
I can't say enought about the desk hosts who always went out of ther way to fill a request.
Feeling hungery, no problem will send the waiter(from a restraunt down the street) up to our roof top patio so you can enjoy the view with a bottle of local wine.(available in the lobby) The breakfast was very nice and included in the price.
WARM FRIENDLY STAFF-DOWN HOME HOSPITALITY!! Thank you all!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmcbrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

The friendly staff at this hotel was extremely helpful and fun! The young men who worked the desk loved giving us tips on where to eat, where to go, how to get to the airport most efficiently, etc. The room was very clean and modern! It is very close to a mosque so the Call to Prayer was disturbing, but this would be easy to overlook with a good set of foam earplugs (you hear the call to prayer everywhere!).

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndieTraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

This adorable 17 room Ottoman hotel next to the Blue Mosque has great prices and a very helpful staff (Thanks Tarik and Gokhan!) The rooms were clean. The breakfast was convenient. Guidebooks, bottled water, phone cards all available in the lobby. As a solo traveler I felt safe and very happy that I chose the 60 Euro hotel room over a hostel. Cheaper if you pay cash!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Djem
Hotel Djem
#340 of 1,163 in Istanbul
269 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ararat Hotel
Ararat Hotel
#145 of 1,163 in Istanbul
81 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#117 of 1,163 in Istanbul
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
#377 of 1,163 in Istanbul
189 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#319 of 1,163 in Istanbul
397 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Turkoman
Hotel Turkoman
#520 of 1,163 in Istanbul
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultan Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultan Hill

Address: Tavukhane Sok. No:19 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#202 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $39 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sultan Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Hill Hotel
Sultan Hill Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing