We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveler rating
107
65
23
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
65
23
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews call to prayer blue mosque turkey clean bathroom busy city cozy hotel top floor no lift budget hotel topkapi palace walking distance tram stop a wonderful stay nice breakfast main attractions sultanahmet odor
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 198 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel is extremely comfortable. Everything works! Air con is a must and it has this. There is an empty fridge in your room so you can pop a cold beer or white wine plus some munchies inside and take up on to the roof terrace in the evening as a pre-dinner 'delight'! The views from the Roof Terrace of the Bosphorus and in particular the Blue Mosque are stupendous - you are quite simply 'right there' in the heart of the best the city has: Blue Mosque, Hippodrome, Palace, list goes on. It is an up-market area with the Arasta Bazaar down the road with the highly recommended Jennifer's Hamam selling eco-stunning towels and more - you have to visit this lovely Canadian lady selling only the best pure Turkish products. Tamara Restaurant is highly recommended by us too! The Staff at the Sultan Hill Hotel, could not have been more helpful and charming, having helped us with are daily expeditions (especially where to walk on the ancient walls) and also arranged the reasonably priced airport transfer. The breakfasts, too are worth a mention - delicious.

Thank you to all those at this superb Hotel - we (2 families) had the most wonderful time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandiMcCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was my first trip to Istanbul. I chose the Hotel Sultan Hill for the price and location, and, in the runup to my arrival, for the hospitable response to my torrent of emails. The folks who work there were solicitous a group as I could possibly hope for. I was having difficulty with the cobble stoned streets, and a bit of the trouble with the lighting in the halls, but, in all, it was a lovely experience and I have no trouble recommending the Hotel Sultan Hill to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is VERY well located. You see the Blue Mosque from the terrace almost at a touchable distance. The other view from the terrace is the sea.

Most key tourist sites like the Hajia Sophia, Grand Bazar and the Topkapi is within a few minutes walk.

For all other places the tran stop is just a small walk away.

The breakfast is meager but well organised. Everything usual expect a live kitchen.

If there was a disappoitment it was that the room always had a stink coming perhaps grom the sewage system. The unfortunate thing was that this was not the first time they have heard this complain. Once that is corrected, its a most definitely 5star.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iceindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We just returned from a 2 week vacation in Turkey.

We stayed 5 nights at Hotel Sultan Hill. It is in a terrific location for the first time visitor to Istanbul who wants to see the major sights. You can easily walk to Topaki Palce, Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazar, Cistern, Hippodrome, Archeological Museum, etc. Also, the tram stop is near by. Restaurants galore.

Across the street are a couple dilapated buildings that make it kinda creepy. The hotel itself is very clean and the front desk staff are very helpful. They will gladly help you with directions, dinner reservations, taxis, etc. There is a computer in the lobby for use(free). They have a small cooler with cold water, beer, soda and bottles of wine for sale.(you will need to buy bottled water for use)

Our room was on the 3rd floor. The room was good size with hardwood floors, a refridgerator, a desk, closet and mini-safe. The furnishings have seen better days. Pretty worn. Bathroom was small with a very tiny shower enclosure. A larger person might have issues with it. Good hot/cold water pressure. All was clean. A couple of the towels had holes in them and the bed was low with a hard matrress. We got used to it. No blanket on the bed though, just a cover sheet.

Breakfast is included in the room rate(we paid 80 euros) and is served on the basement level. The food was very good with a large selection of items. Same things every day. Juice, coffee, tea, water, cappucino, breads, cheese, meats, olives, nuts, butter, jams, tomatoes, cucs, coffee cake, fruit, cereal, eggs, etc. All very tasty. The lady who runs it was there most everyday and she was really nice. We enjoyed her.

We have a couple of issues/concerns though.

The staircase to the rooms is circular and marble. Very narrow at one point. The lights are on sensors, so you have to walk into the dark a bit before they come on. A real safety issue, especially at night . Also, no a/c in the halls/staircase. VERY hot. They could have even opened some windows to let some air in. Our room had an a/c split conditioner that worked just fine. But, when they came into the room to service it, they would turn it off. They should not be doing that. Everyday when we came back after sightseeing, it was VERY hot in the room. It would take a long time to cool it off again. One is paying for the air conditioning. You can open the windows but mosquitos would come in. It also let in alot of street noise if you did.

They advertise and have a nice outside roof terrace. a nice view and good size. But, it was kinda dirty. Towels on seats had been left out for days and the garbage was full. No service there so bring up your own drinks. Again, at night there were NO lights turned on. So, you walked up the staircase with sensor lights(partially in the the dark) and then the entire terrace was dark. There were lights, but you could not turn them on at all. Other terraces had lights.

One morning it had rained, so when we went to have breakfast, the windows were shut. It was VERY hot and humid in the room. Again, no a/c on or even a fan. We ate quickly and left.

So, super location with some issues.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LasVegasMyTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very helpful & Friendly staff. Excellent location on a quiet street that is close to everything but just a block or two away from the main tourist core.

Since you are about 10 ft. from the blue mosque, you WILL hear the call to prayer every morning. Price you pay for being so close!

Definitely recommend getting a couple bottes of beer or a bottle of wine and heading up to the rooftop to watch the sunset at least once during your trip. It's a wonderful view.

Room Tip: The first floor was a little louder with people eating breakfast and pedestrians. We stayed there once at the beginning and once at the end of our trip to turkey. The second time we stayed, we were on the 3rd floor vs. ground floor and I slept much better.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews