We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
105
65
22
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
65
22
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscall to prayerblue mosqueturkeyclean bathroombusy citycozy hoteltop floorno liftbudget hoteltopkapi palacewalking distancetram stopa wonderful staynice breakfastmain attractionssultanahmetmuslim
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 195 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2012

As mentioned above, the main advantage of this hotel is its location (old town of Sultanahmet) and the view you get from the roof. It is strange that so few guests decide to walk the stairs on the top floor and enter the roof with wonderful veranda. There you will find tables and an amazingly close view on the Blue Mosque from one side and the sea with the ships awaiting their turn to pass the Bosphorus. The view is so fascinating (whichever side you chose) that you would not want to leave the roof at the evenings and nights. Instead, bring your own backgammon, fruit and some wine up there.

And of course you don't get awakened by the invitation to Muslim prayer from dynamics shouting in your window every day, do you? For many this could be a disaster, but for us in fact it was the main attractive point for the accomodation choice.

The location is also nice, since it is right in the middle between Hippodrome square and the restaurants streets further down in Sultanahmet.

However, there is nothing special in rest of the services offered in Sultan Hill hotel. Yes, the building is very old (150 years?) and it has been recently renewed but there are many like this around. The staff was very friendly, English-speaking and nice.
The eletronic devices provided, towels, bath accessories, furniture, air-conditioner, etc. was present but quite "cheap". Among the drawbacks during our stay was very low speed of Wi-Fi connection, but this might have been fixed afterwards. Another disadvantage was quite boring breakfast table...

In general, everything was OK, but we would recommend this hotel only thanks to the view from the top.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valery_and_Lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The rooms are basic, generally clean, but a bit dusty. Our bathroom was musty and a bit moldy in the shower, and the plumbing leaked all over the floor, so was pretty wet after a few minutes in the shower. And the bed was on the hard side, with only one sheet.
Breakfast was decent. Nice yogurt and fruit, with an assortment of cold meats, cheese, bread and coffee/tea/juice. The staff were friendly and accommodating.
The main thing going for this place is location. It's right in the heart of things - an easy stroll to all the sights... Mind you, being right next to the Blue Mosque, be prepared to be woken up at 4:30am for morning prayers.
Overall, average place, but perhaps not the best value, with nicer hotels nearby for the same price.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

during my long trip to Istanbul, I stayed @ Sultan Hill hotel, great location within walking distance to the major tourist attractions, loved the personel very friendly and warm hearted. check the paintings most of them are done by one of the owners. amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sylva h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Like some other TripAdvisor contributors, I discovered Hotel Sultan Hill in the Rick Steves' Istanbul guidebook. The many positive reviews about the hotel here on TripAdvisor convinced me to book it for my vacation to Istanbul. Reserving the room prior to arrival was easy, with all of my e-mails answered promptly by the hotel staff. Upon arrival, the hotel was only a 5 minute walk from the Sultanahmet tram stop. Breakfast every morning consisted of sliced meats and cheeses, sliced tomatoes and cucumbers, dry cereals, dry and fresh fruit, hard-boiled eggs, breads and pastries, GREAT coffee, tea, juice, olives, fresh yogurt, and several jams and spreads. The small but cozy room featured cold air-conditioning, great water pressure in the shower with ample hot water, good sheets on the bed and towels in the bathroom, and Turkish and English (CNN, BBC) channels on the television. The hotel, open since 2005, is overall very clean throughout. Upon check-out, I received a 15% discount on the 60 Euro a night rate for being a follower of Rick Steves and showing his Istanbul guidebook during the check-in process. I am very satisfied that I stayed in this hotel for nine nights, and would readily recommend this hotel to anyone looking to travel to Istanbul. However, this hotel may not be suitable for persons with mobility issues, as the hotel only has stairs and does not have an elevator. Also, anyone with insomnia may not want to choose this hotel, as the last call to prayer at the Blue Mosque next door is around 9:30 pm at night, with the first call to prayer around 5:30 am in the morning. Finally, there are some dilapidated buildings in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, but it is my understanding that these will soon be upgraded. However, the hotel's location still felt and was very safe. TripAdvisor currently rates this hotel around #100 of around 700 hotels in Istanbul. There is no doubt in my mind that if the wonderful staff of Hotel Sultan Hill continues to perform at the level that I experienced during my stay, this hotel will soon be a Top 25 hotel in Istanbul.

Room Tip: The higher up your room is at Hotel Sultan Hill, the better your view of the Blue Mosque will be.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank weatherman1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel has an amazing location - you are within close walking distance of the Blue Mosque, Haya Sofia, Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace. The staff are wonderful, very friendly. The rooms are rather small (and so it the doublebed) but this is an historical area and the hotel is set in an old house so you cannot expert huge suites.
The only downside is that if you are a light sleeper you will be woken up very early (5 am) by the very loud call to prayer from the Blue Mosque, by loudspeakers. At the same time it's great to stay so close to this historical area and it certainly adds to the atmosphere (but not to the sleepquality).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maltaswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews