We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little gem”
Review of Turk Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turk Art Hotel
Ranked #61 of 1,051 Istanbul B&B and Inns
New York
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a little gem”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

this is a very small and budget lodge with only 9 rooms. IF you want 5 stars conf or deluxe services, this is not the place for you, just go next door and pay 3 times more. The hotel offered enought for what we paid (65€ a night, incl breakfast with omeletes!) . Our room was not the biggest, but clean and confortable for our needs. We indeed spent more time on the wonderful terraces and walking around, so after all a real good choice.
The hotel is in a quite location, in the middle of the old city, just a short stroll from the Bue Moschee, Aiga Sophia and the Cistern Basilic. What can you ask more for this money :-))
The night porter (James Bond), the receptionist (Tom Cruise) and the waiter in charge for breakfast were very helpful and always tryied to please our noisy small group of Italians.
Definitely, we will go back to Istanbul soon, and definitely go back to Muhlsi Bey.
Greetings from the Italians!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_crazy_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    54
    6
    7
    5
See reviews for
16
60
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Wonderful staff, could not have been more helpful.excellent location. Good quiet rooms some are a little small but for the price they are excellent

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The hotel is smal and in a good position to visit the most important attraction of the city. Close by every means of transport and very quiet.
The staff was so kind, friendly and always ready to help us...and, what's more important, ever and ever smiling!!!
From the big terrace on the roof you can have a 360° view.
The neighbourhood is definetly safe and is within easy reach.
Hope to be back sono.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florentiacivitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

It's a small hotel so service and amenities are minimal, but a great deal overall.

The location is very good, right on the best spot in old town (just accross the entrace of the Four Seasons) and the views from the rooftop terrace are excellent, you can see the blue mosque and agia Sophia very close to you while you have breakfast in the terrace.

We stayed 5 nights and paid 90€/night for the suite room in the 2nd floor. The other rooms didn't look as nice, so I'd recommend calling them directly to check availability.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpIorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Our Turkish friends recommended this 9 room hotel across the street from the Four Seasons in the most central historical district location and we were delighted. We enjoyed our breakfast on the roof overlooking the Blue Mosque, Haig Sophia and the Marmara Sea. Again in the evening it was a perfect romantic location. Volkan, Boris and "James Bond" were friendly, helpful and accommodated all of our needs, which made for a delightful stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachwalkerfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2011

The price is definitely excessive for the kind of hotel: the service is nonexistent since there is only one person trying to do everything (and not friendly at all); when we arrived the shower was broken and so it stayed despite we asked several times to fix it. Poor breakfast with bad limited choice. From the room we could hear the other rooms (and vice-versa I suppose) and the noise from the street. The room is basic (no telephone, minibar, …) and during 5 days has been cleaned once; it was also hard to get clean towels. At last, the wireless internet connection that was supposed to be included wasn't even working. Never again!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroladittrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cihan M, Yönetici at Turk Art Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2015
Google Translation
sayın misafirimiz
siz otelimizde 2011 tarihinde konaklamışsınız otelimizin o tarihteki ismi Muhlis bey otel di .otelimizin 2014 ten beri ismi turkart hotel olup tamamen otelimiz yenilenmiş tir .O TELİZDE SİZLERİ DAHA İYİ BİR ORTAMDA TEKRAR AĞIRMAK İSTERİZ
SAYGILA R turkart hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We stayed four nights in a small but very comfortable and well decorated room with small but modern bathroom and balcony looking out onto Four Seasons Hotel and Hagia Sophia.
The location could not be better. The room was great overall and the reception staff helped us whenever we needed anything. Breakfast served on roof terrace and was simple but plentiful. Reception and stairs were small and plain but totally in keeping with the type of hotel.
Overall a great place to stay in Sultanahmet.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Side Hotel and Pension
Side Hotel and Pension
#319 of 1,149 in Istanbul
405 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#210 of 1,149 in Istanbul
601 reviews
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#183 of 1,149 in Istanbul
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#216 of 1,149 in Istanbul
245 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turk Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turk Art Hotel

Property: Turk Art Hotel
Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Tevkifhane Sok. No:12 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 1,051 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Turk Art Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace bar and restaurant commands an impressive view of the Blue Mosque, Saint Sophia and Topkapi Palace. One could scarcely imagine a more gorgeous location on Earth. One of the oldest prisons of Istanbul and a good example of Ottoman architecture is in front of us, which is Four Seasons Hotel today. Rooms include clean bathroom and 24 hours hot water, orthopedic beds, TV, and phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Turk Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muhlis Bey Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing