We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, terrible location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Maslak Istanbul
Ranked #188 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good hotel, terrible location”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Maslak for 5 nights on a recent trip to Turkey. The hotel itself is lovely, though expensive (i.e. meals, laundry, etc). The hotel is also very inconviniently located for tourists. It would be a greta choice for business travellers no doubt but is a terrible choice if you want to see the sights of Istanbul.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShaneAndRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonmaslak, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Maslak Istanbul, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we were so pleased to welcome you and felt great sense of gratefulness that you chose to stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the Sheraton Istanbul Maslak.

We are delighted to receive your positive comments as nothing can be more gratifying than favorable comments from our guests.

On the otherhand as you mention Sheraton Istanbul Maslak is located in a business area which is all global company offices located around. We receive mostly business travelers. Our location is very convenient and the metro is 5 minutes by walking for them. On the other hand our location is near by Bosphorus indeed business plazas with access to city by metro and shopping centers around the hotel.

Your satisfaction and comfort are our first priority.

Thank you for your thoughtful comments.

With our deepest regards

Secil Gurel
Guest Relations Supervisor

t — 90.212.335.9999 f — 90.212.285.0952
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    416
    263
    95
    49
See reviews for
138
125
89
774
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I am a SPG Platinum member, and stayed in Sheraton Maslak, for almost 4 months now, not at a stretch, but coming and going very often, and may a times staying everytime for atleast a month. I must say, that if there were 7 stars in rating, I would have given all of them.
The view of the city, bosphorus river and the skyline of Istanbul, is just breathtaking from the rooms I have stayed in. Also the extra large room size in this hotel, is amazing, and offers you the coziness you miss being away from home.
There have been so many occassions, where in I was offered free gifts, and invitations, and other surprises waiting for me, when I entered the room many times., right from a Turkish Coffee Cup, to passes for a Latino Carnival, to complimentary cookies and fruits.
Everytime, the hotel staff at the Reception (Mr. Emir and all others), and others have always been very generous and fulfilled my every request, related to choice of room, payment options, and other preferences.
I would like to thank each and every staff of Sheraton Maslak, for their never-ending hospitality.
Would like to mention some special staff members, and thank them specially for their support -

Room Service - Mr. SERKET & Mr. VEDAT - Have always been very quick in responding to each of my requests.

Breakfast at Cafe 333 - Mr. OMER IRDO, Mr. BARIS IRPANOGLU, Miss SONGUL - Have always been very hospitable and served me very well, and made me feel special each day in the morning. I am very thankful to them for their love and support.

HouseKeeping Staff - SEVIM KOSAN - have always made sure that the room is well kept and I am offered a very good stay.

I always look forward to stay at Sheraton Maslak, hotel as I feel like being at home here.
If there is a room of improvement, I would like to say, that the Hotel RoomService Menu should include more cuisines, like Asian and Turkish for sure. Also, some of the staff could work on their english speaking skills.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RishabhSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonmaslak, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Maslak Istanbul, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, we were so pleased to welcome you and felt great sense of gratefulness that you chose to stay with us.

Thank you very much for your feedback that you have shared in TripAdvisor following your stay in Sheraton Istanbul Maslak.It was such a pleasure to read your positive comment regarding your stay.

It was such a pleasure to receive your positive comments as nothing can be more gratifying than favorable comments from our guests. Your satisfaction and comfort are our first priority.

The entire team of the Sheraton İstanbul Maslak hotel is at your disposal for any kind of requirements you may have during your stay in our fabulous city.

We hope to welcome you back on many more occasions and provide you with the finest Turkish hospitality at the Sheraton Istanbul Maslak Istanbul.

Again thank you for your thoughtful comments.

With our deepest regards,

Secil Gurel
Guest Relations Supervisor

t — 90.212.335.9999 f — 90.212.285.0952
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

After a very long flight we finally arrived at our hotel. Initial greetig was very friendly and welcoming. We went to our room and went to bed. I had chosen this hotel as it was the preferred one as a starting point for our tour of Turkey, We chose to stay 2 extra nights prior to departing.
After awaking the next morning and ready for a much anticipated shower I entered the bathroom.
I don't think that this bathroom had been cleaned for quite a while. Excessive black mould in the shower area around tiles and fittings, towel shelve hanging off the wall; at an angle, loose floor tiles I was apprehensive to get in the shower area and generally felt that it was in need of a renovation. Our towels were thread bare, with holes in them,stained and very hard, ready for the garbage bin not a 5 star hotel!. Very disapointed to say the least. I immediately went down to reception and listed my concerns. I was told initially that they would send a person up to have a look at the problems, but, I said that it would take more than this to fix it and I would like another room so we could at least have a shower and become comfortable. My concerns were listened to and I handed them a list for their attention which I was assured would be handed on for review. We were then moved to another room which was what I would have expected initially and the view and general condition of the room was much better.I thank the staff for their assistance andfrom there on we enjoyed our stay.
Another point and after researching this myself I was under the opinion that we were in a central location. We were central to the CBD and quite a far dustance away from anywhere. Depends what you want but this did not suit us.

Room Tip: may I suggest another hotel depending on your needs as to location. Don't assume because your to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonmaslak, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Maslak Istanbul, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the Sheraton Istanbul Maslak.

Regarding your comments we were sorry for the problems that you faced in our Hotel during your accommodation. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.We would like to kindly inform you that we have shared the issue with the related department also your complaint has been discussed by the hotel’s management.

Through the guidance of your feedbacks we are able to see and eliminate the mistakes in our control mechanism which is the first step towards improvement of our services.

We appreciate your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back in effort to provide you the level of service you expect from our hotel.

Kind regards,
Secil Gurel
Guest Relations Supervisor

t — 90.212.335.9999 f — 90.212.285.0952
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for about 2 weeks. I found the rooms are clean and internet connection was also good. Room service and helpdesh people were very nice. The only problem I felt was they dont welcome with smiling face rather they always have a very serious face.
Littel bit slow in service but at the end of the day, all fine.
Thanksful to Adem and Emirhan, serkan from the front desk were very helpful and coopertative.

Farooq

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohammed f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonmaslak, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Maslak Istanbul, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the Sheraton Istanbul Maslak.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature.Also your constructive feedback is also much appreciated as your satisfaction and comfort are our first priority and highest mission.

Through the guidance of your feedbacks we are able to see and eliminate the mistakes in our control mechanism which is the first step towards improvement of our services.

We appreciate your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back in effort to provide you the level of service you expect from our hotel.

Kind regards,
Secil Gurel
Guest Relations Supervisor

t — 90.212.335.9999 f — 90.212.285.0952
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for business. The hotel is huge. The rooms upstairs have a great view on Istanbul.
Room are spacious. Breakfast was very good.
Outside the hotel nothing is close except the business area so it was fine for me. And also the metro station is close by, u can use it to get to the touristic places such as Taksim.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank islambadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonmaslak, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Maslak Istanbul, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature.

Thank you for your thoughtful comments.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing Sheraton Istanbul Maslak.

Sincerely,

Secil Gurel
Guest Relations Supervisor

t — 90.212.335.9999 f — 90.212.285.0952
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel before embarking on a tour of Turkey and it was awful. The room we had was supposed to be on a non smoking floor but it reeked of smoke. The towels were hard, my husband had to fix the shower head to stop it falling on our heads and the handle fell off the door to the room. The staff apart from in the restaurant were unfriendly and made you feel as though you were just a nuisance just staying there. The breakfast and dinners were just mediocre and there were very few choices to eat outside of the hotel. There was no free wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby. The only good thing was that that the beds were comfortable.
This place might be okay for business people but for tourists it is just not suitable as it is a long way from any of the attractions of the city.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the 11th floor unless you like the smell of smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonmaslak, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Maslak Istanbul, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the Sheraton Istanbul Maslak.
Through the guidance of your feedbacks we are able to see and eliminate the mistakes in our control mechanism which is the first step towards improvement of our services.

We appreciate your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back in effort to provide you the level of service you expect from our hotel.

Kind regards,

Secil Gurel
Guest Relations Supervisor

t — 90.212.335.9999 f — 90.212.285.0952
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed here on a recent business trip and found the room and service to be below the usual Sheraton standard. There was black mould in the bathroom and plug socket/light switch next to the bed was not properly fixed to the wall. Being in a club room I went to use the business lounge which was a very unwelcoming space in the basement and on the 2 occasions I went down there were no staff available, the wine bottles were empty and what few tables there were had not been cleaned. On one occasion the door was propped open and there seemed to be a large and loud business meeting going on I got such a nasty look when I entered the room that I left.
I won't stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilversumBigH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonmaslak, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Maslak Istanbul, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback that you have shared in Trip Advisor following your stay in Sheraton Istanbul Maslak.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the problems that you faced in our Hotel during your accommodation.We would like to inform you that we already shared the issue with the related department also your complaint has been discussed by the hotel’s management .
We were very disappointed to read that you were disappointed with standard of your room. Our guests in room experience is a top priority for us and I would like to apologise that your room did not meet the standard you expected.And also our Club Lounge team have taken this feedback on board and will ensure that they try to their best our guests request.

Sheraton Istanbul Maslak is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance.
We look forward to provide our guest the level of service they expect from Sheraton Hotels.

Kind regards,

Ulku Kizilkaya
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Bilek Hotel Istanbul
#489 of 1,149 in Istanbul
119 reviews
Besiktas
Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler
Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler
#125 of 1,149 in Istanbul
574 reviews
Levent
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
#104 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tempo Hotel 4 Levent
#942 of 1,149 in Istanbul
81 reviews
Sisli
Wyndham Grand Istanbul Levent
Wyndham Grand Istanbul Levent
#86 of 1,149 in Istanbul
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Maslak Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Maslak Istanbul

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Maslak Istanbul
Address: Buyukdere Caddesi 233 | Ucyol Mevkii. No. 233 Maslak, Istanbul 34398, Turkey (Formerly Sheraton Istanbul Maslak Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Maslak Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Maslak Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Istanbul
Istanbul Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing