We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Asmali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Asmali Hotel
Ranked #890 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent stay and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in the Asmali in June. A good budget hotel with lots of nice touches (bottle of wine and fruit bowl on arrival, slippers, robe and nice toiletries in room). We were in a deluxe room which although not overly large was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and no request was too much trouble. Breakfast taken on the rooftop terrace with a lovely view of the Blue Mosque. The location is perfect with just a 5 minute walk to the hippodrome and main sites.
Finding the hotel is very easy; from the tram stop walk to the other end of the Hippodrome keeping the Blue Mosque to the left, at the end on the left is a road (Nakilbent Sk) winding down the hill, walk down this hill and take the second left (Gelinlik Sk) crossing one road walk to the end and take a sharp right and the hotel is just 20metres on the left.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    100
    57
    19
    32
See reviews for
51
181
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed for three nights in May.

The welcome wine and fruit in the deluxe room were a nice touch, but the room was slightly claustrophobic. The sitting area makes opening the the closet and safe nearly impossible.

We travel A LOT and stay at hotels around the world. Standard practice for towels is to place them up so the staff doesn't need to to wash them *there was even a sign saying such. After a day out, our towels were gone and there was no replacement. We asked and we were informed that there were no more, to use the bathrobes to dry off and we'd have to wait a day or two.

The Internet is wonky and a real challenge.

The breakfast staff was exceptionally nice, the pillows were nice, but that was about it. Much more interesting places to stay in Istanbul for about or at a slightly lower price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquaskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I were delighted with our room at the hotel. It was the sea faing suite room with a jacuzzi , 2 balconies offering a partial sea view and also a view of the blue mosque.
It is a 7-10 minute walk away from the major tourist attractions in Sultanahmet and the tram station.
It is a quaint hotel with an old school charm and though you wouldnt have room service , swimming pool, a lounge et all, the staff/management is really helpful. The suite is on the top floor next to the resturant. ABove the suite and the restaurant is a roof top paitio with stunning views.
Highly recommended..especially if you book the suite room

Room Tip: the sea facing suite is really nice and cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isheeta b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Someone referred to me this hotel on a recent trip to Istanbul and I was very pleased. Staff were helpful as soon as we got there, offered us coffee and took us on the rooftop patio while the room was getting ready. Great location in the Sultanahmet area, a short walk away from all the major attractions and shops. Felt very safe walking around this area at night, quiet but touristy and all the locals were very friendly. It was bit tricky to get to coming off the tram so I would suggest a taxi. There's very cheap there.
The room was small but cute. Beds were very comfortable, I was very relaxed there.
Great value for 60 euros a nights (for two people) including breakfast. Free wifi.
I would just advise to bring your own adapters because its a small hotel and I think there's only one adapter to go around for all the rooms.
Although there was only two people staying in my room, we had an extra bed around a separate nook of the room which would be perfect for a group of 3 traveling. We just used the area to unpack our suitcase and store our stuff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicoleta2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

hotel needs refurbishment. bed and overall impression ok. room needs proper cleaning. it is not dirty dirty, but somewhat carelessly cleaned. great location on quiet street. I paid 24€ per night, so despite some faults good value for money.

Room Tip: deluxe means basic, do not go for standart
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ristoggyvbknknj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stay in this hotel with husband for a week, and from this trip we have only good impression.
Hotel has exellent location in Sultanahmet area, we were not need to by taxi much, all near - Aya Sofya,Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, etc... all that tourists needs :) shops, restorants, souvenirs, nice places.. Comfortable rooms, nice interior, cleaning service good and in time. Breakfast in traditional turkish style, testy and varied. Stuff very friendly, benevolent and helpful.
we spent great time in Istanbul and in Asmali hotel, and will recommend to all who want to spend holidays in romantic place in the heart of Istanbul!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tatyana90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
275 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Enjoyed a wonderful stay in this hotel. Booked this hotel day of and stayed in two different rooms over 4 days. The rooms were very clean and all had nice bedding, decent towels, and essential toiletries and amenities. They even had plug adapters for us Americans, making it an extra nice perk. I also thought the hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. They offered lots of advice and suggestions about how to get around. As travelers who like nice accommodations during the even, but tend to budget, they did not try to oversell us on tours or experience tourist attractions. The breakfast was really nice -- a traditional Turkish buffet with a mixture of meats, olives, cheeses, eggs, breads and pastries, and other varieties of tasty treats. On nice days you can go upstairs to enjoy a view of the city.

The hotel is very convenient to the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya, and other attractions that are close by, but you need to travel a little further to get to the heart of the restaurant districts or other parts of town. For us, it was ideal, because we got a little walk in a we got to indulge in more Turkish treats.

Room Tip: Definitely see if you can book one of the sweets near the top of the hotel, because they are nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worktotravel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#466 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#275 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Fors Hotel
#580 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Antique Hotel
Antique Hotel
#734 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ast Hotel
Ast Hotel
#1,027 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Beyazıt
Hotel Gedik Pasa Konagi
Hotel Gedik Pasa Konagi
#861 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asmali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asmali Hotel

Property: Asmali Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya mah. Mustafa Pasa sok. No 25 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #890 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Asmali Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asmali Hotel is ready to accommodate you with its well decorated rooms, terrace with Marmara Sea and Blue Mosque view. We serve an excellent open buffet breakfast on our Terrace Restaurant with a 360' view which includes the Blue Mosque and the Sea of Marmara.The Hotel Asmali is a boutique catogorised hotel and have 15 rooms.We located in the Old City (Sultanahmet) which is the most historical area of Istanbul. We are within walking distance of most of the major sites; the Imperial palace (Topkapi) of the Ottoman Empire. The most important places in this area are Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Sultan Ahmet Camii (the Blue Mosque), the Hippodrome, the Grand Bazaar (Covered Market), Undergroun Cistern and the Museum of Islamic Art... Our friendly and professional staff will make you feel at home, with traditional Turkish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asmali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asmali Konak Hotel Turkish Mansion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing