We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with more greatest stuff!”
Review of Asmali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asmali Hotel
Ranked #988 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Great hotel with more greatest stuff! I felt sick for a few times (food poisoning) while our stay in Istanbul, and the hotel workers even give some pills and make some beverage for me (it was to normalize my stomach, i think). Every one knows about my poisoning (thanks my mom), and all the hotel staff were taking care of me. That all was very nice and I'm still very grateful about that all. In addition to the service I loved the breakfasts and location was great too. I did really enjoyed that stay in Istanbul!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Senja_Kol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 362 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed in a doudle room for 6 nights but for the first night we forced to stay in a smelly basement room due to maintance works on the hydraulic system of the room we had booked (as the receptioned mentioned to us). It is a hotel that needs another refurbisment right now although it has gone through that in 2007 (as they claim). Photos on internet site that advertise the hotel do not meet your expectations when you actually visit the hotel.
Poor breakfast, small roof terrace with no sunshades and flowers, badly-preserved hotel with no elavator and without soundproof consist the main drawbacks of Asmali hotel. There is no restaurant and bar as well. I found expired coffee sticks in my room, broken chair, broken electrical plug-ins. Also, It is not recommended for elderly people.
On the other hand it has a great location, near to the main sight-seeings, but difficult to find it.
Overall, you can find better hotels at the area of Sultanahmet.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YiorgosFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We had a bit of a difficult time finding our hotel, but once we did everything was great. We stayed in the basement room which was fine. The bed wasn't terribly comfortable, but it wasn't awful either. The complimentary daily breakfast was pretty good, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is walking distance to many sights in Sultanahment as well as public transportation to get to other parts of Istanbul.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beeeechbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asmali_Konak_mgr, Front Office Manager at Asmali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. Our hotel is at the heart of the Old City, literally a stone's throw from Ayasofya, the Blue Mosque and the Hippodrome. We would like to see you again as our guest, Best wishes, Ufuk Ozkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

we booked through last minute where the hotel was described as having a bar with a good range of beers/wines and a rooftop restaurant.
It has neither.
It serves a buffet breakfast, and has a small rooftop terrace which you can walk up to with 4 tables and chairs.
The buffet breakfast is fine, so are the rooms and the staff
it's just misrepresented.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londontown21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Asmali - a-smelly. The bathroom had an unpleasant odour and not from our occupation of it. My wife describes it as a musty or damp smell. I think that's being generous. Not sure but there may also have been bedbugs. Great location though. Just around the corner from the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofya. Aircon was a plus. Wifi in the room and friendly staff also took the edge off the dissatisfaction with the bathroom. We would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirenomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Great location, wonderful service. They breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradandserena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asmali_Konak_mgr, Front Office Manager at Asmali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope to see you again at Asmali (Konak) Hotel in the near future. Best Regards, Ufuk Ozkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The location is great - within easy walking distance of the top historic and tourist attractions of Istanbul. The Hotel has character - it is an old restored house in the old part of Istanbul, but seems to have been restored or renovated quite recently - things inside look new. It has the friendly feel of a Bed & Breakfast establishment. You can eat breakfast in a very pleasant setting on the roof of the building with a great view over parts of Istanbul and the Sea of Marmara. The beds were comfortable and everything in the room worked fine. The staff were very friendly and cooperative. I would try and stay there again if I get back to Istanbul.

The staircase was a bit poky and the lighting on the staircase was a bit dodgy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asmali_Konak_mgr, Front Office Manager at Asmali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with the other tripadvisor.com users. Hoping to see you in Istanbul again.

Best Regards,
Ufuk Ozkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#500 of 1,173 in Istanbul
365 reviews
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#575 of 1,173 in Istanbul
244 reviews
Express Inci Hotel
#559 of 1,173 in Istanbul
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Kupeli Hotel
Kupeli Hotel
#464 of 1,173 in Istanbul
426 reviews
Reyyan Hotel
#237 of 1,173 in Istanbul
71 reviews
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#467 of 1,173 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asmali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asmali Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya mah. Mustafa Pasa sok. No 25 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #988 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $17 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Asmali Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asmali Hotel is ready to accommodate you with its well decorated rooms, terrace with Marmara Sea and Blue Mosque view. We serve an excellent open buffet breakfast on our Terrace Restaurant with a 360' view which includes the Blue Mosque and the Sea of Marmara.The Hotel Asmali is a boutique catogorised hotel and have 15 rooms.We located in the Old City (Sultanahmet) which is the most historical area of Istanbul. We are within walking distance of most of the major sites; the Imperial palace (Topkapi) of the Ottoman Empire. The most important places in this area are Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Sultan Ahmet Camii (the Blue Mosque), the Hippodrome, the Grand Bazaar (Covered Market), Undergroun Cistern and the Museum of Islamic Art... Our friendly and professional staff will make you feel at home, with traditional Turkish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Asmali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asmali Konak Hotel Turkish Mansion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing