We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hosts, great location....”
Review of Noble House Galata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Noble House Galata
Ranked #482 of 1,260 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed December 11, 2011

The Eklektik is eclectic, it's special in its eccentricity and it's uniqueness. The host Can (pronounced Chan), is extremely charming and helpful as soon as you step inside you become part of the "extended family". Dilek who prepares a lovely wholesome breakfast welcomes you each morning with her bright smile! And urges you to savour more of her cooking.

The Eklektik is not perfect but that's exactly what's perfect about it, it's a living organism and once you are there you become part of it! Well done Can, Surinam & Dilek

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VallettaYozhik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 85 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

After great difficulty finding it, this place grew on us and we enjoyed our stay very much. We had the top floor of a 5 floor walk up so make sure you are ok with that many stairs. The staff helped us carry our bags up. Once up there, we had a nice view of the Bosphorus from a charming roof top deck. Make sure you ask in advance for very detailed directions in English and Turkish. Our taxi driver from Taksim Square had no idea how to get there even though we pointed on a map. There is no sign out front and the "street" they are on is really on alley. The room was small but fine. The breakfasts were great and the staff friendly and helpful. They made us feel very much at home.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth5591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Charming and quirky gay friendly boutique guest house in a great location in Beyoglu, the more modern area of Istanbul. Each room is individually decorated, with en suite shower and toilet tucked behind doors in the corner. We stayed in the red room at the top of the house (5 flights, no lift) next to the shared terrace with views over the Bosphorous to Asia.

Istanbul is spread across seven hills, so everywhere is on a gradient. The Eklektik is a short walk down hill from the upper stop of the Tunel funicular and the main pedestrian street of Istiklal Cadessi, and it’s another short walk further downhill to the stop for the trams which will whisk you to the historic sites (and all the way out to the Byzantine city walls if you want).

We really enjoyed our four day stay. The hosts were warm, welcoming and helpful, and the lavish breakfasts really set us up for the day’s sight seeing. There are some great restaurants nearby – Lokal at street level and up on the rooftops the wonderful Leb-i Derya (with great views over the Golden Horn) and Besinci Kat (equally great views over the Asian Shore).

For bars, Pinokyo is a place to see Turkish drag queens and impromptu male belly dancers, whilst Chianti is a more western style gay club, albeit on the second floor of an apartment block. These are on side roads from Istikal Cadessi, and within walking distance of the hotel.

Istanbul is a great place to visit, and the Eklektik was the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ptpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Eklektik is a fun little place tucked silently away on a picturesque side-street, very close to Istaklal. The staff was super-friendly, and I will return. No doubt.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bostonmikkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

In short, you can find a much better place to stay in Istanbul for less than half the price. My grievances are below.

1) I'm used to tight spaces and even showers located in bedrooms, but if you're paying 110 euros a night for a room, then you should spruce up the accommodations a bit. Since the showers are located in the rooms and right next to the beds, the steam and condensation makes everything in the room very damp and cold -- despite the heaters. Every night, the sheets were so damp that I had to lay blankets I bought at the market on top of the bed to lay on. If you like breathing thick and damp air 24/7, then you won't have a problem.

2) The location of the hotel is great and the staff, at first, are very friendly, but if you're looking for a place for a longer stay with more flexible accommodations, then this is not your place.
We let the owner know 3 days ahead of time that we were planning a trip outside of Istanbul and would like to cut our stay short. His friendly demeanor was dropped and he was incredibly unprofessional -- instead of being like the owner of a boutique hotel, he was unreasonable and told us to leave the hotel immediately. At first, I was very sympathetic with him, and we let him know that we would be willing to pay for the days that he was unable to book a room for, but he refused and demanded that ALL the money be paid.
In fact, his cancellation policy is the most unreasonable I've ever come across, so be sure to read it carefully. Even if you cancel 30 days ahead of time, you are expected to pay 25% of the total price.

3) He demands that cash be paid up-front and in full. While this is understandable on the surface, he is not a licensed hotel and therefore you have no rights as a patron. If something goes wrong, he does not have to give you a refund for dissatisfaction. He does not advertise this on his website and I'm sure we were not the first to be surprised that we would need to extract over a thousand dollars in cash and pay him -- with no way to get a refund.

4) We booked our stay of nine days online, thinking that the increased room rate over New Years would decrease after New Year's. Instead, the rate conveniently dropped on January 7th -- the last day of our stay.

5) The "common" area is not a "common" area at all -- it is locked during the day and night. The same is true with the kitchen. There is no area to sit and relax besides your own room.

I recommend the Buyuk Londra for a nice stay. While many have complained the unrenovated rooms are musty, they were not damp and the service is unbeatable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HappyHappyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I'm on a new kick of staying at more and more guest houses and bnb's for the personal touch and character. This one fits the bill. Nice mixture of decor. Great area for walking and taking in the evening air at the end of a long day. Staff went out of their way to help when I had questions. Pleasant and relaxed. Good meals. Great job, folks! I'll hope to be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leomarmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Definitely a nice funky place in a fun location. I have taken to staying in guest houses and bnb's more often, as I find them more personable and full of character. This place is ideally situation for walking, and the staff will go out of their way to assist with recommendations, directions, etc. Breakfasts are delicious! Highly recommended. Nice job, folks!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marleomag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#69 of 1,181 in Istanbul
669 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,181 in Istanbul
3,178 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#876 of 1,181 in Istanbul
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#71 of 1,181 in Istanbul
832 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,181 in Istanbul
1,841 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#104 of 1,181 in Istanbul
2,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noble House Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noble House Galata

Address: Serdari Ekrem Cad. Kadri Bey Cikmazi No:4 Galata, Istanbul 34420, Turkey (Formerly Eklektik Guest House)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #482 of 1,260 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $39 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Noble House Galata 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The typical European Istanbul building of 1890s is originally converted into a 8-room hotel with different themes in each room. At Noble House, the modern comfort is united with a personal welcome feeling. Being in the very center of the city, it is conveniently located close to the major tourist attractions, shopping area and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Noble House Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eklektik Guest House Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing