We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will return”
Review of Noble House Galata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Noble House Galata
Ranked #480 of 1,259 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Eklektik is a fun little place tucked silently away on a picturesque side-street, very close to Istaklal. The staff was super-friendly, and I will return. No doubt.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bostonmikkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 85 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2011

In short, you can find a much better place to stay in Istanbul for less than half the price. My grievances are below.

1) I'm used to tight spaces and even showers located in bedrooms, but if you're paying 110 euros a night for a room, then you should spruce up the accommodations a bit. Since the showers are located in the rooms and right next to the beds, the steam and condensation makes everything in the room very damp and cold -- despite the heaters. Every night, the sheets were so damp that I had to lay blankets I bought at the market on top of the bed to lay on. If you like breathing thick and damp air 24/7, then you won't have a problem.

2) The location of the hotel is great and the staff, at first, are very friendly, but if you're looking for a place for a longer stay with more flexible accommodations, then this is not your place.
We let the owner know 3 days ahead of time that we were planning a trip outside of Istanbul and would like to cut our stay short. His friendly demeanor was dropped and he was incredibly unprofessional -- instead of being like the owner of a boutique hotel, he was unreasonable and told us to leave the hotel immediately. At first, I was very sympathetic with him, and we let him know that we would be willing to pay for the days that he was unable to book a room for, but he refused and demanded that ALL the money be paid.
In fact, his cancellation policy is the most unreasonable I've ever come across, so be sure to read it carefully. Even if you cancel 30 days ahead of time, you are expected to pay 25% of the total price.

3) He demands that cash be paid up-front and in full. While this is understandable on the surface, he is not a licensed hotel and therefore you have no rights as a patron. If something goes wrong, he does not have to give you a refund for dissatisfaction. He does not advertise this on his website and I'm sure we were not the first to be surprised that we would need to extract over a thousand dollars in cash and pay him -- with no way to get a refund.

4) We booked our stay of nine days online, thinking that the increased room rate over New Years would decrease after New Year's. Instead, the rate conveniently dropped on January 7th -- the last day of our stay.

5) The "common" area is not a "common" area at all -- it is locked during the day and night. The same is true with the kitchen. There is no area to sit and relax besides your own room.

I recommend the Buyuk Londra for a nice stay. While many have complained the unrenovated rooms are musty, they were not damp and the service is unbeatable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HappyHappyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I'm on a new kick of staying at more and more guest houses and bnb's for the personal touch and character. This one fits the bill. Nice mixture of decor. Great area for walking and taking in the evening air at the end of a long day. Staff went out of their way to help when I had questions. Pleasant and relaxed. Good meals. Great job, folks! I'll hope to be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leomarmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Definitely a nice funky place in a fun location. I have taken to staying in guest houses and bnb's more often, as I find them more personable and full of character. This place is ideally situation for walking, and the staff will go out of their way to assist with recommendations, directions, etc. Breakfasts are delicious! Highly recommended. Nice job, folks!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marleomag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Great base to stay in Istanbul. Very friendly helpful and generous staff. Nice leafy location in a side street. Felt like a home away from home. Beautiful breakfast with so many delicious choices and homemade treats. Tastefully decorated and I would recommend any one to stay.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clockon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Quirky individual rooms with great attention to detail. Lovely atmospheric building. Excellent warm welcome & super friendly staff. Great location for fashion, art & choice of authentic restaurants. Breakfast that just kept on coming. Delicious.

July 13, 2010

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

The Eklektik is exactly as it says on the website; a guest house, not a hotel. So if you don't expect too much, you will find this to be a charming, well run, very clean and friendly guest house. With some quirky room decors.

We stayed in two rooms; one of the cheaper rooms (only one available that night) and in the Black room. There really is a vast difference between the cheaper rooms where the shower and basin are "stuck" in the corner of the room, and the more expensive rooms, with much better bathrooms. So aim for the Sultan, Zen, Black or Red rooms, and I'd avoid the Colonial, Retro, Leylak and Hamman rooms.

The staff at Eklektik are extremely helpful and friendly. They man the reception 24 hours and are always willing to lend a hand. Their desire to please would definitely be a highlight of the place.

The building is tucked away in a small side street but very handy to the Tunel end of İstiklal Cd in Beyoglu so you can walk to Taksim Square, use the funicular to go down the hill and generally walk anywhere you need to go.

The building is old and compact so you do hear a lot of internal noise at night, especially from the squeaky old staircase so don't stay here if you are a light sleeper. Or go for the Red room as it's at the top of the stairs so others don't pass by.

We also stayed at the Lush Hotel at Taksim Square, which I booked via an internet site for about 35 euro a night more. If your budget stretches I would have to say it's worth the extra.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LookingLooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#837 of 1,173 in Istanbul
627 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,823 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#77 of 1,173 in Istanbul
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,173 in Istanbul
3,157 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#12 of 1,259 in Istanbul
552 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#477 of 1,173 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noble House Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noble House Galata

Address: Serdari Ekrem Cad. Kadri Bey Cikmazi No:4 Galata, Istanbul 34420, Turkey (Formerly Eklektik Guest House)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #480 of 1,259 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $38 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Noble House Galata 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The typical European Istanbul building of 1890s is originally converted into a 8-room hotel with different themes in each room. At Noble House, the modern comfort is united with a personal welcome feeling. Being in the very center of the city, it is conveniently located close to the major tourist attractions, shopping area and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Noble House Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eklektik Guest House Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing