We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Marmara Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marmara Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 1,070 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The location is very close to the main Sultanamhet sites and also to many restaurants. Our room 301 was compact but there were plenty of drawers and a wardrobe so we could unpack our cases. The room was sunny, well maintained and modern. All of the staff were very friendly and they really went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. The breakfast buffet was good quality and varied. It was very pleasant to sit on the terrace and enjoy the view at breakfast or to have a drink later in the day. We stayed for a week and we were really pleased that we had chosen to stay at the Marmara Guesthouse. Thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in 301, the room below 201 is a bit smaller.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
There are newer reviews for Marmara Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 983 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here! Its a brilliant location and everywhere you would like to go is really accessible from here. We booked a room with a view of the Bosphorus. I have to say that I was slightly disappointed by this as there was a building straight in front of our window and couldn't see the Bosphorus unless you looked out of the window and too the left. If I had known this I doubt I would have paid extra for a room with a view. Having said that the room was excellent, clean, spacious and comfortable. The view from the room didn't spoil anything as the view from the terrace is good and a lovely place to start the day with breakfast.

Breakfast was the same each day but was very tasty. The variety of jam's were especially nice. I ended up obsessed with the rose jam!

Our hosts were really friendly and although we saw them very little (we spend all day our sight seeing) they provided everything we asked for and booked our shuttle to the airport for us so we didn't have to worry about that.

As I said that location was great and we walked everywhere, we didn't use taxis or the tram at all. The trams were always jam pack so we didn't fancy using them so we were really pleased that we could walk everywhere. Bearing in mind we like to walk so perhaps a few places we managed to reach on foot may not be accessible for others.

There are loads of places to eat around the guesthouse, we didn't try any and preferred to go further out but there is no lack of places.

The only difficulty we found was finding the guesthouse when we first got to the city, it took us ages to find so perhaps getting a taxi from the port of a transfer from the airport would be wise. If you like an adventure though then try your best with a map. We found it eventually. Overall we found this an excellent base to explore an amazing city!

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the Bosphorus but the terrace has better views.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zainehasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The family is adorable, the service is remarkable and both the hotel and rooms are very clean. The breakfast is good and is served on the terrace that has view on the Bosphore and is on a calm street.

It would be nice to see some local beverages in the fridge, especially if the come from small producers.

The only complain I would have is to get better door isolation you can easily hear noises coming from the hallway.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We went on a round-the-Turkey for 2weeks.
I traveled with my wife.(I am 66 years old japanese man)
We stayed many kinds of hotels but Marmara Guesthouse is the best for us to stay. Ofcorse Location and room is excellent and all staff are kind !
Especially owner, she is very kind.
Their kitchen has always been opened and We can use hot water all the time.
It was special time for us to see the Sea with hot nice tea.
We spent great time to stay Marmara Guesthouse in Istanbul ,

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank souraku2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Cramped, lots of narrow stairs, booked a room with a sea view weeks before and was given a small basement room, noisy from apartment block next door with telephones and conversations on their terrace till early am, pleasant staff. The complimentary reviews on this guesthouse are misleading, this is a backpackers hostel with a nice terrace for breakfast but with basic conditions.

Room Tip: Ask for top room with sea view, top room facing apartment block is noisy. This is a backpackers area...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avelana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great location, good service and very helpful staff. Rooftop terrace with a view of the Marmara sea. Rooms are clean and basic, though fairly good value for its location. Breakfast is good though limited in range.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I spend a great time in this guesthouse. Located in a small and quiet street just 5 minutes walk fron Aghia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. Free WI Fi. No lift. Friendly and helpful owner and staff. I loved my room with privat bathroom and a fantastic bed (301) and without tv. The breakfast was served in a nice and sunny terrace. I definitely I want come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlizama16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,048 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#28 of 1,159 in Istanbul
831 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,159 in Istanbul
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#2 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,388 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,764 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,070 in Istanbul
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Guesthouse

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $31 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marmara Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marmara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing