We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value at Marmara Guesthouse”
Review of Marmara Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marmara Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 1,114 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

From the pickup at the airport to drop off at the airport the service at Marmara Guesthouse was excellent. The rooms are clean, neat and tidy. The breakfast on the balcony was terrific. I'll be back and I've recommended Marmara to my friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwrankine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

Marmara Guesthouse has a perfect location on the street of Sultanahmet. You can walk to Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque or Sultanahmet tram station just in a few minutes. The staff was very kind and helpful. The room was kept neat and clean every day. The best thing was the breakfast on the terrace. To have breakfast looking at the Sea of Marmara was fantastic!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minsook K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Marmara Guesthouse is tucked away amongst the streets of the Sulthanahmet but has great access to a small bazaar, the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia (less than 5 minute walk). There is a convenient little store for water across the street and around the corner from restaurants and shops. The staff was very helpful throughout the planning process and even coordinated my trip inland to Cappadocia. Shuttles to the airport were reasonable as well. The space was comfortable and clean and even cleaned each day that we were there. The breakfast was plentiful, filling and tasty - olives, fruit, tomatos, cucumbers, bread, cheese, and spreads galore, not to mention coffee and tea and the option of fresh juice for a nominal amount.
Great choice. I felt safe and secure the whole time.
My only notice would be that the walls are a little thin and the sound carries, but there were never people that were noisy, just general conversation.
The bathrooms were even roomy with great shower pressure and good temperatures.
I had a friend say he found places somewhat cheaper but I didn't have a chance to compare quality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at Marmara guesthouse for 3 nights and it was great. Rooms are clean and ready every day. The breakfast is delicious , a lot of various jams, turkish delights and cheese or fruits, so you can not be hungry for a long time. It is in the middle of most important and interesting monuments, and it has also good point for exploring other side of town by tram or bus. The staff is very kind and don't hesitate to ask them whatever you are interested for. Good experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkopac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Marmara Guesthouse has an excellent location. Being in the old city we were a few minutes walk to Aya Sofia and the Blue Mosque as well as being an easy walk to the Grand Bazaar and Spice Bazaar. Staff were very pleasant and helpful with good English. The room was very clean and comfortable. The location was quiet and yet around the corner were restaurants. Breakfast was delicious with homemade jams and fruit and traditional healthy Turkish food and we ate on the terrace overlooking the sea view. A really great choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleAddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

It was really nice place. The host (I didn't get his name, though) is such an artist. He recommended several gorgeous places and always has big smile. The room is also clean and cozy. Breakfast? You don't need to worry. FRESH AND YAMMY!! I took some photos of two drawing on the both sides of the desk. Do not hesitate! It will be nice place to you!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank 민정양
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and had amazing experience. Rooms are very very clean and cleaned everyday. Amazing location. Breakfast could be improved. Highly recommend to everyone. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam95_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#22 of 1,178 in Istanbul
870 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,841 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Peradays
Peradays
#1 of 1,114 in Istanbul
519 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nea Suites Old City
Nea Suites Old City
#2 of 1,114 in Istanbul
215 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walnut Shell Hotel
Walnut Shell Hotel
#8 of 1,114 in Istanbul
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Guesthouse

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,114 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $30 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marmara Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Guest House is a small authentic charming guest house in Istanbul run by a Turkish family. It is located in the heart of the open air museum area of Istanbul which is located in the historic Sultanahmet area. It is only a few minutes walking distance from the Blue Mosque, Ayasofya, and Topkapi Palace... You can enjoy our traditional Turkish breakfast (you will love my mum's ,Mrs. Ayse’s, homemade jams) while watching seagulls with an exciting view of the Bosphorus & Marmara Sea and Asian side on our beautiful vine-covered terrace or relax on our terrace while you are having a free coffee, after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Marmara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing