We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice”
Review of Marmara Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marmara Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 1,087 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I and my family stayed here in August 2013.
The location is excellent with all the major sites within very easy walking distance. There are great restaurants in a street that runs just behind the guesthouse. The surrounding streets are very quiet and pedestrian friendly. Breakfast is excellent with fresh yogurts, jams, breads and fruits. The roof terrace is a delight with fabulous views over the Bosphorus. Owners were very helpful. We arrived from a very early flight but we were able to leave our bags at the guest house, take a great breakfast nearby and then return after lunch to check in.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank dw300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 990 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at Marmara Guesthouse for 5 nights in mid-August. We also booked an excellent 3 day tour through Elif who runs Shashot Travel as well as the Guesthouse.
Apart from one slip up with a booking our experience was a positive and memorable one. The quality of room, service and breakfast was all we had hoped for. The sea view terrace offered a welcome retreat from the summer heat. The location is a key benefit, being close to major attractions such as the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya and Topkapi Palace- all simply stunning. Near to Marmara are excellent value restaurants, though you have to run the gauntlet of spruikers around 7pm.
The family who run this lovely Guesthouse are genuinely warm and hospitable in nature. They offer you excellent value accommodation in a prime location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLW456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was one of three hotels we stayed at in Istanbul.

We spent a month in Turkey, 4 days in Istanbul at the start and 4 at the end. When we tried to book here, they didn't have availability for all our dates, but they proposed we spend 3 nights here, 1 at Tulip Guesthouse (owned by a relative, next door) and the last 4 at Saruhan (another hotel they own). Usually we wouldn't go for this, but they were so organized and helpful that we decided to. Despite having to move next door for one night, it was great.

The location was incredible. It was right around the corner from the best street for restaurants - tons of selection. And the whole street had a great, laid-back atmosphere.

The hotel was within walking distance of the blue mosque...

The terrace is beautiful for breakfast. And breakfast was great.

The staff were so helpful and friendly. We felt instantly at home. They made good recommendations on true Turkish experiences (versus touristy ones). And we arranged several transfers with them before arrival (including a tight transfer between the two airports for a connection in the middle of our trip). They followed through on everything as promised.

The Tulip Guesthouse next door is a good alternative if Marmara is booked (or if you have a tighter budget). They don't have the terrace for breakfast, but if that's a deal-breaker, you might be able to arrange to go over to Marmara for breakfast.

The Saruhan would be a good third choice. (It probably had nicer rooms, and was still within walking to Blue Mosque... but Marmara was our favourite.)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdPaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you don't mind climbing a lot of steps, this place is perfect. When you reach the top of a few flights of stairs, you get to the rooftop where you enjoy a breakfast of homemade jams (the fig was my favorite), bread, cheese, olives, coffee/tea, while looking out at the water and meeting other tourists from around the world. The staff (some of which is the family that lives on the property) makes you feel at home and helps you with planning your trip. The location is very close to the most important sites of Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, and Topaki Palace. It is also close to a tram line that can take you to other parts of the city to see Chora Church, the new town, and the Galata bridge. While it's not super cheap, it's still by major city standards a budget hotel and good deal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S-Man283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

what a great find. great location, easy to walk around. Very friendly helpful staff even helped organise excellent visit to Gallipoli for us. Comfy bedroom and loved the terrace. Very helpful assisting with carrying bag up the spiral staircase - thank you. Would love to return and happy to recommend. Only wished we could have stayed longer. Cheers Colleen.

Room Tip: if you have difficulty climbing stairs ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Marmara Guesthouse. It's comfortable and clean, and Elif and her family make you feel welcome and cared for. Merih was very helpful and we enjoyed visiting with him, too. Breakfast is wonderful, typical Turkish breakfast with homemade fig and other jams that we especially enjoyed. And the view from the rooftop balcony is beautiful, at breakfast and in the evening for a glass of wine. We enjoyed being right in the middle of old Istanbul, walking distance to many restaurants, shops, and the main sites. It's not fancy, but it is just what we wanted. Would recommend to anyone wanting simple but clean accommodations with a great location.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first and make sure there is enough floor space. One of the rooms was almost en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayseejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We couldn't have found a better place - walking distance to all main attractions and the breakfast was amazing! lots of home made jams, and most importantly, friendly atmosphere!
Totally recommended!
Cristina & Louis

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrisLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#26 of 1,163 in Istanbul
841 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,114 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#11 of 1,087 in Istanbul
594 reviews
Beyoglu
Peradays
Peradays
#2 of 1,087 in Istanbul
507 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walnut Shell Hotel
Walnut Shell Hotel
#7 of 1,087 in Istanbul
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Guesthouse

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,087 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $28 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marmara Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Guest House is a small authentic charming guest house in Istanbul run by a Turkish family. It is located in the heart of the open air museum area of Istanbul which is located in the historic Sultanahmet area. It is only a few minutes walking distance from the Blue Mosque, Ayasofya, and Topkapi Palace... You can enjoy our traditional Turkish breakfast (you will love my mum's ,Mrs. Ayse’s, homemade jams) while watching seagulls with an exciting view of the Bosphorus & Marmara Sea and Asian side on our beautiful vine-covered terrace or relax on our terrace while you are having a free coffee, after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marmara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing