We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well placed and quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marmara Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marmara Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 1,013 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mérignac
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“well placed and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is very close to everything in Sultanahmet yet very quiet. There is a small terrace at the top where you can have breakfast or a drink with a view over the Bosphorus. The hotel is family run, they are able to help you with airport transfers and visits. The room we stayed in was quite small but very clean. The breakfast is quite good, unfortunately you have to pay extra for fresh orange juice (4TL). You can buy drinks from the fridge all day and you have free tea and coffee until about 22H.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view you have to pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    221
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
204
396
90
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasov, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The whole family and staff deserves our great compliments, for the kindness and attention given in every their word and gesture. The location of the hotel is the best , near the Aya Sofia , Blue Mosque, Topkapi, old centre.
The terrace makes all the money.A nice place to stay, eat, drink, talk with your friends about the palces you visited that day in Istanbul. It is an opened window to the Marmara Sea with its boats, seagulls.
Thank you Marmara guesthouse!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurentiu Catal... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torino
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The lady that organizes everyting deserves our great compliments, for the kindness and attention given in every her word and gesture. The location of the hotel is the best that you could choose, near the centre and the terrace is unique, expecially during the hot first afternoon time or before going to bed. You can see boats on the sea and relax, drinking hot free available drinks.Breakfasts are on buffet and complete of everything. The staff is ready to help you when you ask for info or help. We thank the Marmara for the nice time spent there.

Room Tip: For a few euros more, we suggest you choosing the up rooms, possibly with sea view. The dowwn rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaedino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was an absolute pleasure to stay at Marmara Guesthouse! From the moment we stepped through the door to everyday of our stay, to when, regretably, we had to move on, to when we realized we had left some shopping behind in their luggage room, which they were happy to mail to our address, our stay was fantastic!!!

The location, rooms, service, food and ambience was all incredible, the all around experience of Mamara was more than we could have hoped for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erin_dp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My family and I were staying at the Marmara guest house for a weekend stopover in Istanbul. The prices were very reasonable, the location excellent and the staff very hospitable. Great place to chill after a long day wandering around the city and very conveniently located to drop in for dinner and a pipe in the next street along! Well worth going!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sam1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Alaska
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a clean well managed place in a great location. It is a very good value and I loved there rooftop deck. Watching the ships go up and down the Bosphorus while eating breakfast was fun. The promimity to the major attractions was great. The neighborhood is lovely and the 4 seasons os just around the corner, so it seemed to be a prime location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Mamara Guesthouse is on a quiet street, close to many attractions and restaurants, in Sultanahmet. It has a fantastic rooftop view; morning and evening. The breakfasts are very good, and varying content from day to day. The family operators are very friendly and helpful. The room was small but clean, comfortable bed and great shower. There are larger rooms with water views that looked very nice. Marmara is modest, good quality accommodation. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#35 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,013 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Guesthouse

Property: Marmara Guesthouse
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,013 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marmara Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Marmara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing