We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Marmara Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marmara Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 1,114 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great guesthouse in nice neighbourhood. Friendly people and helpful!
Lots of stairs in the guesthouse.
Great terrace on top with free coffee and tea facilities.
We had a small room and bathroom but clean!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinetteKoning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

617 - 623 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and tried to come back a few weeks later but it was booked. Great location for walking to major tourist spots. Excellent buffet breakfast on a terrace with a wonderful view. Free hot tea available 24/7. Able to purchase water and beer at the hotel. Hospitality met all our needs and expectations (again especially thanks to Elif). It seemed the perfect blend of price and creature comforts. Our room was not fancy but it was quiet, clean, and had all the essentials.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leni g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed here with a friend in October 2012, upon recommendation from Lonely Planet guide and after checking Trip Advisor reviews. The guesthouse was perfect for us. Very friendly, helpful and welcoming hosts, lovely rooms, fabulous roof top terrace with view over the Marmara Sea, wonderful choice for breakfast, ideal location a few minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, etc, just round the corner from many good restaurants and close to a tram stop. We could not have wished for anything more. Excellent value for money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a fabulous guesthouse very close to well-known sights. The owners are very welcoming and friendly. Delicious and plentiful breakfast. The view from the terrace is NOT to be missed. Clean but simple. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Or stay at Marmara guesthouse was very nice. The family run business was clean and friendly. The staff was always willing to help answer any questions. We also enjoyed breakfast overlooking the view of Istanbul and the sea every morning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron_in_Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

A well managed Guesthouse by a family. Very Cozy and helpful folks. This was our first time in Istanbul and we could not have picked a better place to stay. Location was excellent walking distance to all the historic sites of Istanbul.

The host was always helpful and there at site to assist in any regards. We will go back again
Guests from Washington DC- USA

Room Tip: select there bigger rooms if you need to pay extra even
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taaleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights recently and we were very happy with our choice! The location is perfect for touring the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar, and Spice Market. All are within a reasonable walking distance. The rooms are simple but they have all you need. The rooftop terrace breakfast was a great way to start the day. The staff is very friendly and helpful. A reasonable price for such a great location!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank sarahejohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#22 of 1,178 in Istanbul
870 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,841 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Peradays
Peradays
#1 of 1,114 in Istanbul
519 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nea Suites Old City
Nea Suites Old City
#2 of 1,114 in Istanbul
215 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walnut Shell Hotel
Walnut Shell Hotel
#8 of 1,114 in Istanbul
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Guesthouse

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,114 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $30 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marmara Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Guest House is a small authentic charming guest house in Istanbul run by a Turkish family. It is located in the heart of the open air museum area of Istanbul which is located in the historic Sultanahmet area. It is only a few minutes walking distance from the Blue Mosque, Ayasofya, and Topkapi Palace... You can enjoy our traditional Turkish breakfast (you will love my mum's ,Mrs. Ayse’s, homemade jams) while watching seagulls with an exciting view of the Bosphorus & Marmara Sea and Asian side on our beautiful vine-covered terrace or relax on our terrace while you are having a free coffee, after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Marmara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing