We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, but very basic”
Review of Marmara Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marmara Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 1,050 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Ideal location, but very basic”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We selected this hotel based on a "Top Choice" recommendation from a travel guide book. It is ideally located, a few blocks from Topkapi, Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. There are many many restaurants and bars just outside the door around the corner. Since it is located off the main street, it is quiet. So what are the negatives? The walls and floor are paper thin. You can hear everything that is going on in the next room or in the hall way. I am a rather light sleeper and it was a problem for me. The bed linen is rather old and at least to me felt like it was made from synthetic material. It was a bit uncomfortable as I am used to sleeping on cotton sheets. The breakfast was reasonable with cheese, tomatoes, fruits and bread. The terrace seating was excellent with a view of the Bosphorus. Perhaps I expected too much from a low priced hotel? It was certainly serviceable for our 2 night stay. There are many many hotels in the area, so plenty of choices are available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    224
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
206
401
92
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrange with them to stay one night in Tulip guesthouse (same family, next door), other in Marmara guesthouse and the last one again in tulip, due to unavaliability. We paid for the first night and we were told to leave our bagage in reception during the second day so we would occupy our room in Marmara ate the end of the second day. When we arrive we were explained that there was a mistake and no room was available for us. They proposed us to go to another family hostel far from the centre (they told us that we would discover the "real Istambul"..). We left and found room available in Nobel hostel (same area and fully recomendable).
Bad opinion of this hotel, despite is was recommended in lonely planet guide...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moises_oe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I really can't fault this lovely B&B.

The location is perfect, just off the main area of bars and restaurants which means it is quiet but literally only 30 seconds walk to the amenities. It is also just a few minutes walk from the blue mosque, places and cisterns as well as small buzzards and other shops. Five minutes to the tram where 3lira will take you on as any stops as you like... The boat trips own the bosphorus (?) river are just two stops away by tram and the grand bizarre just three stops in the other direction.

The accommodation itself was first class. Obviously recently done up, the rooms were in very good condition and extremely clean. The Taff were very friendly and the roof top terrace was stunning with a lovely Turkish breakfast served every morning.

We were there five days and will be back gain in the near future... Same B&B for sure!

Enjoy..............

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedroso1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We visited Istanbul and stayed at the Marmara Guesthouse. We decided on this one as the reviews were so good, and it didn't disappoint. It is a family run Guesthouse which shows in the care, attention and friendliness that you receive from start to finish.
The breakfasts were fantastic, rooms clean and nicely appointed, and their Roof Terrace offers the most stunnings views back over the water.
The only thing I'd say, if you're not good with stairs, it wouldn't be suitable. Its is a real town house, so relatively narrow but tall, meaning lots of stairs up and down!
They also organised our transfers which went smoothly with very nice drivers.
We liked being just that tiny little bit back from the "main" road, so you felt like you were escaping the hustle and bustle as you walked back to the Guesthouse, but you're still so close that it takes literaly minutes to get to many of the attractions. Of course they're not all on your doorstep, but many are, others very close, and the nearest tram stations are only a 10 min (max) walk away. There are some lovely restaurants around too, and the Arasta market was great, nice to have one so close if you want a spot of shopping without going far.
All round we were truly so happy with the Guesthouse, service, cleanliness, location, not to mention the frienliness of the family.
We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VashtiSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for four nights in September 2012. The location was perfect. Airport pick up (from and to the airport) was well organised despite us having a 4 hour delay on our flight into Istanbul. The room and bathroom was very clean and the room was serviced daily. We were travelling with our two year old and without asking we were given a room with an extra bed for her. The breakfast was simple but generous and probably the best variety that we had in any hotel in Turkey (we were in Turkey for three weeks). The stairs weren't a problem, as our bags were carried up to the room on the third floor for us. We had a room at the rear of the hotel which was nice and quiet. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

As a first time visitor to Istanbul, I really appreciated the warm greeting at the airport and safe travel to the guesthouse that was organised by our host, Elif. Our room was clean and comfortable with a lovely sea view. My husband and I enjoyed the family atmosphere and relaxed nature of the accommodation but also the quiet sleeping opportunities when we were ready to sleep. It is a place where single women, couples and families can feel comfortable and relaxed. The rooftop deck, with its great view, is a good place to enjoy the fresh, tasty, Turkish breakfast and to chill out and mingle throughout the day if you wish. Because we were situated in the heart of the Sultanamet district, we were within easy walking distance of many key sites and the tram to so many more opportunities for exploration of this fine city. We thank Elif for organising a very good, well hosted and informative day trip to Gallipoli. Our friends have already made a note of this accommodation for their future trips to Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights last month and would look further next time. Room was very small, no place for luggage, and impossible to use the toilet without first shutting the door. Many narrow steps up to rooftop area where breakfast served. Food was OK, not excellent as many reviewers state. Lovely family running the guesthouse. Limited English other than the daughter. Best part was the location and the restaurant Aloran 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,147 in Istanbul
2,980 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,147 in Istanbul
1,731 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,147 in Istanbul
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#4 of 1,147 in Istanbul
997 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,147 in Istanbul
754 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,147 in Istanbul
3,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Guesthouse

Property: Marmara Guesthouse
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,050 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marmara Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marmara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing