We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family run Guesthouse in perfect location”
Review of Marmara Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marmara Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 1,103 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We visited Istanbul and stayed at the Marmara Guesthouse. We decided on this one as the reviews were so good, and it didn't disappoint. It is a family run Guesthouse which shows in the care, attention and friendliness that you receive from start to finish.
The breakfasts were fantastic, rooms clean and nicely appointed, and their Roof Terrace offers the most stunnings views back over the water.
The only thing I'd say, if you're not good with stairs, it wouldn't be suitable. Its is a real town house, so relatively narrow but tall, meaning lots of stairs up and down!
They also organised our transfers which went smoothly with very nice drivers.
We liked being just that tiny little bit back from the "main" road, so you felt like you were escaping the hustle and bustle as you walked back to the Guesthouse, but you're still so close that it takes literaly minutes to get to many of the attractions. Of course they're not all on your doorstep, but many are, others very close, and the nearest tram stations are only a 10 min (max) walk away. There are some lovely restaurants around too, and the Arasta market was great, nice to have one so close if you want a spot of shopping without going far.
All round we were truly so happy with the Guesthouse, service, cleanliness, location, not to mention the frienliness of the family.
We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VashtiSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 996 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for four nights in September 2012. The location was perfect. Airport pick up (from and to the airport) was well organised despite us having a 4 hour delay on our flight into Istanbul. The room and bathroom was very clean and the room was serviced daily. We were travelling with our two year old and without asking we were given a room with an extra bed for her. The breakfast was simple but generous and probably the best variety that we had in any hotel in Turkey (we were in Turkey for three weeks). The stairs weren't a problem, as our bags were carried up to the room on the third floor for us. We had a room at the rear of the hotel which was nice and quiet. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

As a first time visitor to Istanbul, I really appreciated the warm greeting at the airport and safe travel to the guesthouse that was organised by our host, Elif. Our room was clean and comfortable with a lovely sea view. My husband and I enjoyed the family atmosphere and relaxed nature of the accommodation but also the quiet sleeping opportunities when we were ready to sleep. It is a place where single women, couples and families can feel comfortable and relaxed. The rooftop deck, with its great view, is a good place to enjoy the fresh, tasty, Turkish breakfast and to chill out and mingle throughout the day if you wish. Because we were situated in the heart of the Sultanamet district, we were within easy walking distance of many key sites and the tram to so many more opportunities for exploration of this fine city. We thank Elif for organising a very good, well hosted and informative day trip to Gallipoli. Our friends have already made a note of this accommodation for their future trips to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights last month and would look further next time. Room was very small, no place for luggage, and impossible to use the toilet without first shutting the door. Many narrow steps up to rooftop area where breakfast served. Food was OK, not excellent as many reviewers state. Lovely family running the guesthouse. Limited English other than the daughter. Best part was the location and the restaurant Aloran 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Marmar Guesthouse is so close to all the sights in Istanbul. The rooms are great and there is always hot water. The hosts (Effie) is very friendly and always willing to help out with everything. The only downside is there is no elevator. The terrace on the roof is awesome and has a great view of the bay. Overall I would definitely recommend the Marmara Guesthouse. Also it's on a little street just off a main street so it's pretty quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We found Marmara Guesthouse through the Lonely Planet Guide, and everything they said is true.
Elif Aytekin and her family make you feel very welcome and comfortable. The rooms are small, but very clean and have everything you need for a good night's sleep. The breakfast's are delicious and you have a beautiful view of the Marmara Sea from the vine-covered rooftop terrace. It is located in a great part of Sultanahmet, close to most of the major sights. Great value for the money.

Room Tip: You might want to request a room above the ground level, but in the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

excellent location, charming rooms, clean and air conditionned. Great view from the terrace on Bosphorus, (unforgettable breakfasts!)
The team is adorable and very helpful.
I would sincerely recommand this place to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinYves C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,822 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#27 of 1,173 in Istanbul
858 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#8 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,173 in Istanbul
3,158 reviews
Beyoglu
Peradays
Peradays
#1 of 1,103 in Istanbul
517 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nea Suites Old City
Nea Suites Old City
#2 of 1,103 in Istanbul
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Guesthouse

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,103 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $24 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marmara Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Guest House is a small authentic charming guest house in Istanbul run by a Turkish family. It is located in the heart of the open air museum area of Istanbul which is located in the historic Sultanahmet area. It is only a few minutes walking distance from the Blue Mosque, Ayasofya, and Topkapi Palace... You can enjoy our traditional Turkish breakfast (you will love my mum's ,Mrs. Ayse’s, homemade jams) while watching seagulls with an exciting view of the Bosphorus & Marmara Sea and Asian side on our beautiful vine-covered terrace or relax on our terrace while you are having a free coffee, after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marmara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing