We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beautiful city”
Review of Marmara Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marmara Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 1,070 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We have travelled across Turkey by bus and have stayed in many guesthouses but this is the best breakfast and we will be coming back for the homemade jam and fresh eggs. The guesthouse is in a quiet culdesac facing the sea so is very quiet, and the other people staying there were quiet at night. It is really clean and fresh. As Istanbul faces to sea there is a breeze and you can walk to all the main historic sites. There are herons nesting in the Gul park on the way down to the bridge over the Golden Horn. Elif speaks really good English and is really helpful and will arrange anything eg dolmus to airport, and sorted out the problem immediately when I left my debit card in a shop. Like many guesthouses in Istanbul, the stairs are steep, but then you have the entrancing views of the big ships from the rooftop terrace. A delightful place to stay and we would not consider staying anywhere else in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
There are newer reviews for Marmara Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 983 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2011

the owner was very kind to advise me the itinerary of my trip. the room is clean and has a beautiful view of blue ocean

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuroken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We have been travellıng in Turkey for 5 weeks and have stayed at the Mamara GH twıce. The rooms (and bathrooms) are immaculately clean and very comfortable.The buffet breakfast every mornıng ıs excellent and can be enjoyed whıle takıng ın the vıew from the roof garden.Elıf,her famıly and frıendly staff create a warm frıendly atmosphere and Elıf ıs always avaılable to help wıth querıes, bookıngs and advıce. The guest house has a great locatıon and ıs ın walkıng dıstance to most all of the tourıst destınatıons. Mamara would always be our fırst choıce on a return vısıt to Istanbul - ıt's a great place to stay!

Room Tip: ask about dıfferent room styles avaılable
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Despite being reasonably priced for such a prime location, Marmara is very comfortable and oozing with character. The view from the rooftop is tremendous. With plenty of home- made produce, the breakfast is the best I have had in Turkey. The biggest assets however, are the always friendly and helpful staff. Faultless!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

My partner and I stayed in Marmara guesthouse in mid November. We were very welcomed by the family. Elif as well as her brother and parents were always there for help when we needed. This included a 440am incident when we needed help from a taxi driver whom was trying to rip us off!!

The location is absolutely perfect. 5 mins walk through the lovely old streets of Sultanahmet to the two Mosques and restaurants literally around the corner.

The rooms are clean and the view up the top is FANTASTIC. Beer and drinks available for very cheap and they rely on good old honesty for purchasing.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and would definitely return.

Room Tip: There is no lift so ask for a room on a lower floor!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I can only recommend Marmara Guesthouse. Of course, if you expect five star hotel standard you might be disappointed but if you would like to stay in a typical Turkish environment right in the heart of the center with a very high price/value relationship Marmara Guest house is perfect. The daughter of the owners speaks very well English and always tries to help in any ways, e.g. giving tipps where to go and when (e.g. visit Topkapi right in the morning, later it is overcrowded.

Advantages:
- Clean rooms
- Very quiet as it is in the historical center with very few cars
- Nice atmosphere, you get a taste of the Turkish friendliness
- Awesome terrace with view to the Bosporus
- Free Computer and WIFI available
- etc

Disadvantages:

As the house is quite old everything is rather small and narrow so very tall people might feel a bit inconvenient, but I guess all houses in the historical center are like that

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the marmara. Nice room and a great breakfastbuffe. Walkingdistance to all the big atractions. lovely family runing the place.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmmaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,048 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#28 of 1,159 in Istanbul
831 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,159 in Istanbul
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#2 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,387 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,764 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,070 in Istanbul
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Guesthouse

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $31 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marmara Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marmara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing