We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent family Pension”
Review of Marmara Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marmara Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 1,070 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2011

All was excellent except that we have to change room 4 times during our 2 weeks stay (We had reserved our room a long time before). A better planification of the rooms would have been appreciated.

Room Tip: Better to take a front room because there is music until eleven at the rear hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melsymonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
There are newer reviews for Marmara Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

734 - 740 of 983 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

I stayed at the Marmara Guesthouse for three nights, and based on the reviews I'd read on Trip Advisor, I was disappointed. My room was clean but definitely bare-bones... two simple beds, enough space to lay out our suitcases but not much more - not the kind of place that supplies a washcloth or conditioner. I did see that other rooms in the guesthouse had cute Turkish-style decorations, but ours could have been a hostel-style room anywhere. We also had problems with noise at night, but it did die down at midnight. That being said, breakfast was delicious, the view from the two rooftop terraces was beautiful, and the family who runs the inn were helpful and friendly, so I'd recommend it.... just don't expect anything more than the basics. We also stayed at Hotel Sphendon for a few nights, and for the same price you get a lot more amenities, but it's a little bit harder to find since it's not on a main street like the Marmara.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth10023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Everything about Marmara is top-notch, from the helpfulness and informativeness of the staff, to the comfortable beds, to the magnificent views(overlooking Marmara Sea) from their breakfast patio. Its location is central to Old Istanbul, but also part of the new hip tourist scene. Each day the staff would ask about our previous day, and give suggestions for where we might visit and why. And each suggestion was spot-on. The owners are informed, thoughtful, giving, and warm.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom48572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We had an amazing time staying with Marmara Guesthouse. It is a great accommodation in the heart of Istanbul, made not only by the great location but the helpful and very friendly host and hostess.

The view from the top is impeccable, and the hostel only accentuated the beauty and kindness of Istanbul.

I would recommend this post to all!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samgreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed at Marmara on three separate occasions in May and June, 2011. We chose it due to a random pop-up that appeared on our screen when searching for a guesthouse in central Istanbul. After checking reviews on this site, we booked and were delighted with the choice.

We found everything about it to be perfect for us. It is clean, quiet, well furnished, central and is owned and run by an outstanding Turkish family. They are very welcoming, helpful, quick with suggestions re places to visit (or not!). Special thanks to Ebru for all her help.

The terrace on the roof is a real bonus with great views. A perfect sport for the yummy breakfasts or to sit with a cool glass in the evenings .

The only consideration for travelers is that the steps up and down are rather steep within the house.

Room Tip: All three rooms we stayed in were great.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hill36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

The hosts were gracious and helpful. My lower level room was small but functional. I loved the neighborhood, which is ground zero in the old part of the city. Even though the neighborhood was bustling during the day, the Marmara is located on a quiet side street. The rooftop area was a lovely place to rest after sighseeing. I also appreciated that the airport shuttle was arranged and carried out without a problem. I recommend the Maramara.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccc5239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The guesthouse is run by a very nice family always ready to help you. The daughter is speaking English very fluently. The house and the rooms are very clean. You take the breakfast on a roof garden with view to the Marmara Sea. You can sit on the roofgarden at any time.
The guesthouse is situated in the ancient part of Istanbul so that you can visit all objects of interest on foot. You can also reach Beyoglu and the ferryboats to Asia without problems. If you want to end the day in a restaurant or pub nearby you have only turn around the corner; there several restaurants and pubs. Nevertheless the guesthouse is silent.
The price is okay; you can also book the transfer from and back to the airport.
Summing up: When we visit Istanbul again we will stay again in this guesthouse.

Room Tip: Our rooms on the groundfloor were ok.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mansel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,049 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#28 of 1,159 in Istanbul
831 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,159 in Istanbul
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#2 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,388 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,765 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,070 in Istanbul
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Guesthouse

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $31 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marmara Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marmara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing