We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem of a place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marmara Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marmara Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 1,013 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Francphile
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little gem of a place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

Stayed 3 nights here and found it clean, comfy and central. Family run, Mum was so welcoming and helpful, despite only limited English - the men of the family were rather taciturn.
Help yourself breakfast was plentiful and varied and the freshly squeezed juice-an extra 3 TL- was the best way to start the day.
The Blue Mosque was minutes away as was a bazaar full of individual shops, and there was a good selection of cafes and restaurants. We ate at the Turquoise, with a roaring fire( it was very chilly outside) and friendly service , delicious food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerys-Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    221
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
204
396
90
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

That's a really nice and cosy place, perfectly located in Sultanahmet area, clean with private rooms and homemade breakfasts. I really enjoyed my stay in this guesthouse which is really more like a home, where everybody is full of good mood and hospitality. Thanks again and lots of success!!! I would recommend this place to families as well as solo travellers and should I happen to be in Istanbul again I know which guesthouse to choose!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SIBERIANLYNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

Marmara Guesthouse is a great place to stay, fantastically close to most of the sights, yet quiet, very clean, with friendly Elif and Ersin always willing to help. Our room was comfortable and cozy, breakfasts very satisfying, overall a very nice stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mielony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamamatsu, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

I enjoyed this tiny cute guesthouse very much, especially having breakfast in the 4th floor terrace , watching big ships moving slowly in the sea in the morning light.

Everyday I was hearing that their staff is sincerely consulting how to travel with guests. Myself was also helped by them about transportation in Cappadocia and Istanburg airport shuttle bus just-20 minites-prior reservation on a tram accident situation.

Its location is also very convenient. Within 5 minutes walk, I could reach Sultanahmet tram station, Topkapi Sarayi and seashore also. I visited Eminonu harbor and Galata bridge every morning before breakfast to see the morning commutation jam by many ships.

During 4 days I walked around Istanburg city, and I think this Sultanahmet area is the best location to stay in a convenient and quite cute hotels.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taroimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

We stayed Marmara Guesthouse from Feb. 2 to Feb. 4.
As everyone says everything is great! I'll definitely go there again if I have a chance.

We also used air port pick-up service, and it was good, too.

You can use US$, Euro, JPY, but not credit card.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank masashi1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

The marmara is a family-run guesthouse. Everything is tidy and the guest family is very friendly and helpful. The common room includes a kitchen, and has a fantastic view over the Bosporus. I enjoyed the stay.
All famous attractions (Ayasofia, blue mosque, Topkapi) are around the corner.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ullemalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemi, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

Marmara Guesthouse "homelike", warm hostel with friendly personal. It is located central. Rooms are clean and turkish breakfast is good.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sivonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#35 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,013 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Guesthouse

Property: Marmara Guesthouse
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,013 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marmara Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Marmara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing