We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in average”
Review of Antique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antique Hotel
Ranked #701 of 1,147 Hotels in Istanbul
P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good in average”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very well located, quite, nice breakfast area with the view on Bosphourous.
The rooms are sufficiently clean and good point with the air conditionning.
Bad aspects:
- Not very special welcoming, especially compared to the warm welcomes we received elsewhere in hotels or any places visited.
- Bathroom with shower directly on the toilet do not make things very simple...
A bit expensive for what is offered.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurence63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    95
    29
    13
    18
See reviews for
23
111
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Property in Sultanhamet is expensive so you cannot expect a big room for a budget price. Yes you could do with more space but if you had that you'd pay more.
What was more important for us was helpful staff, clean rooms, excellent buffet breakfast, good views, and most of all the location. The Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, and Topkapi Palace are all in easy walking distance, as is the Sultanhamet tram stop and the Grand Bazaar. It takes no time to tram to the Eninomu ferry area or across the Galata bridge to other parts of the city.
Owner Enis has good English and is happy to help with suggestions, other staff are helpful but remember their English is minimal.
I read some reviews about poor breakfast and surly service - our experience was quite the opposite, plenty of buffet variety and bright friendly service.
If you are tall ( I am 6' 1" ) you will need to be a contortionist in the shower and lavatory in most rooms BUT it is ok when you get used to it.
Some rooms have TV and aircon and are bigger, others haven neither and just enough space to get round the bed and to park your pack. We have had a smaller basement room, which was fine; also room 7 at the front with aircon, TV and small fridge. Discuss facilities and price by email or telephone.
The roof terrace is nice as is the downstairs outside chillout area with comfy seating and small tables. There is 24-hour free make-your-own tea and coffee.
The local area is rich with little shops and restaurants, very vibrant - if you have mobility problems be aware some streets are steep. Also; the hotel has no lift and the only way up or down to rooms is by a clever spiral staircase that links all levels.
Istanbul is no longer a cheap city so in our normal travel terms we find room prices expensive - but at least at this hotel they are fair and compare well with others.
The atmosphere is lovely, highly recommended. Steve Riches, Northampton, UK.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveRichesRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in Antique hotel for 6 days. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was served in the patio with a sea view and we had nice chats with other guests. The room was clean. It was a decent size room but the bathroom is REALLY small! My husband is 6' 1" so it was a bit of challenge for him. The rooftop patio has a great view of Blue Mosque. The location is great. Arasta bazar, Topkapi palace and Hagia Sophia are walking distance. The price is right if you don't mind the smaller size room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very nice place, convenient location, friendly people, good food!
Clean room, quiet area.

The room was little small, also the bathroom (no window), but absolutely enough for an holiday.
no elevator (historical building), small stairs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EB762013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issoire
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a family run hotel in historical Istanbul, two minutes from the Blue Mosque. Although very central, the hotel is situated in a very quiet area. The staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel itself is a bit old fashioned but clean. Our two rooms, situated next to each other, were tiny but tasteful. Sofas on the terrasse provide a view of the Marmara sea and a pleasant place to drink coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I visited Istanbul for 3 nights with a group of friends - girls and guys. There were 7 of us including 2 couples. We booked 3 rooms at the Antique Hotel soley based on reviews on Trip Advisor and location in relation to the Blue Mosque/sightseeing/restaurants and night-life in Old Town. The rooms/bathroom are indeed small, but this is to be expected of any hotel in this area, as the buildings are all very old. The rooms were clean and tidy, the breakfast was hearty and delicious, and the views were excellent from the outdoor patio in back. It's a very short (2-minute) walk to the Blue Mosque and all other attractions in the area. If you take a taxi from the airport, be sure you can give directions (in Turkish) or you can call the hotel and have the hotel mgr speak to the cab driver, as most cabies don't know where to go based on just the address (this is common for this area of Istanbul).
It's a family owned and operated hotel. You will probably meet Enis while there - he provided the best guest service I have ever experienced at any hotel, and I have been a business traveller for the last 10 years of my life, so I certainly have high standards when it comes to guest service. He offerred great suggestions for restaurants, bars, etc. Helped us with cabs. Even walked with all of us and helped carry our luggage through town so we wouldn't get lost when leaving. He suggested that we have an afternoon BBQ at the hotel one afternoon so we could mingle with the other guests, who happenned to be English-speaking as well - from South Africa, the US, and the UK. Enis made our experience one we will never forget. If I ever return to Istanbul I will certainly be staying at the Antique Hotel.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask to stay in the main building of the hotel. There is a seperate building a few bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrooks1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Antique Hotel gets good marks in the Lonely Planet so I booked a private room with a bathroom. It's really nothing out of the ordinary but I was satisfied. I booked my own van to and from the airport so don't know if they offer that service. I booked over the internet and they were friendly and responsive. Yes, it's true that lugging my very large bag up the narrow staircase was a challenge but they helped me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bessf0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ast Hotel
Ast Hotel
#1,036 of 1,147 in Istanbul
130 reviews
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#365 of 1,147 in Istanbul
119 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#528 of 1,147 in Istanbul
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#475 of 1,147 in Istanbul
362 reviews
Fener & Balat
New Fatih Hotel
New Fatih Hotel
#744 of 1,147 in Istanbul
63 reviews
Fener & Balat
Hotel Fatih Istanbul
Hotel Fatih Istanbul
#927 of 1,147 in Istanbul
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antique Hotel

Property: Antique Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Ogul Sok. No:17, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #701 of 1,147 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Antique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the Antique Hotel Istanbul which serves since June, 1989. Centrally located in Sultanahmet, The Antique hotel is a traditional family run property situated in the historical centre of Istanbul. Hotel Antique makes visitors feel more like a home. Accommodations are available for the short and long term stays for international travelers. The Antique is one of the most unique and definitely best BB hotel in the Sultanahmet district, offering friendly budget accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Antique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antique Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing