We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst stay ever!”
Review of Antique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antique Hotel
Ranked #640 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Dirty, tiny room! Sheets and towels were not clean.
Horrible breakfast at the "terrace". Ok view though! But you can find the same view all over Sultanahmet.
When we checked out early due to the unsatisfying room etc. the staff was friendly and helpfull as we paid for our one night stay. Unfortunately, as we arrived back home, we realized that the hotel helped themself charging for 4 nights at i our credit card - although agreeing not to do so!

We will definitely NOT recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CmS802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 219 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights, booked an economy room so wasn't expecting too much, which was lucky! The room was tiny, just big enough for twin beds with about a foot gap in between, and the bathroom was tiny too. I'm only 5'2" but my knees touched the wall when I sat on the loo!
We were out sightseeing until 7pm on the second day so were very surprised at the flustered reaction when we returned and asked for the key.
"Please give us 5 minutes, your room is being cleaned" Five minutes later, on entering the room,we found the bathroom had been repainted in our absence!
Similar thing the next day, except this time the bedroom had been transformed with a rather fetching shade of lilac! Bizarre but very funny!
As a previous reviewer said, breakfast doesn't get replenished so get there early, and try to ignore the perpetually sullen girl who oversees it.
The hotel seems to be used by commuters so you do get quite a lot of noise early in the mornings when they get up for work.
Despite all this, have to say that the location couldn't be better, just 5 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, the view from the terrace is lovely, the room was clean ( and freshly decorated!) and the manager was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anncol85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Situated behind the Blue Mosque, this hotel is perfectly situated for tourism. The staff are generally helpful, but lacking in English. Problem is that they take the "Antique" too far. The towels were old and threadbare, the bedding was non-existant. We had a sheet and a thin bed spread. The water pressure was intermittent. We had to rinse ... turn shower off to build pressure while soaping up ... turn on and hope for sufficient water to rinse.

There are many hotels in the area - I would avoid this one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonicCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights so I have smth to share. WiFi was not available in the room, only on reception, so I spent my evenings there. Breakfast is too poor, and no one add products to the breakfast table, girl just sitting close and doesn't try to help. Tea is over, no cheese or vegetables, almost empty table, but she is sitting and looking how 6 persons fighting for 1 egg.
Other personal is very helpful and friendly (thank you, Ahsen and Faruh), room was cleaned everyday, location is perfect... so no other problems except I mentioned before.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kushko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I haven't stayed in a hostel and shared a dorm for years and I was expecting the worst. But this place exceeds all expectations: you can't get any more central than this, it's in the centre of the old town; the staff are really friendly without being fawning; the mattresses are of very nigh quality and I slept like a log; and the upstairs terrace/breakfast room has incredible views of the Bosphorous. Next door is the Four Seasons Hotel which costs about 100 times more -- and if you want to show off how wealthy you are just ask the carpet salesmen where is the Four Seasons and they will treat you like royalty.

Room Tip: "Don't be afraid of sharing a room -- it was a lot better than I was expecting"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

For travelers on tight budget, it doesn't get better than Antique Hostel. This lovely dated building has all the amenities that you look for in a budget accommodation. Clean, spacious, comfortable and stone's throw away from Sultan Ahmet mosque and Hagia Sofia. What else and more can one ask for?
They have a great guy named Younus (he is getting married soon to a Turkish rockstar), he wil look after you and all your need. I wish him all the best.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makhdoom115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Hotel Antique is small,homely,warm.
the rooms are not big,but confortable and cosy.
the manager is always ready to help with informations,a chat,a suggestion for your dayly program.
the best part is the breackfast on the roof,with fresh cakes and a real turckish style delightful atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giovannac547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#459 of 1,163 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#491 of 1,163 in Istanbul
365 reviews
Express Inci Hotel
#560 of 1,163 in Istanbul
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fener & Balat
New Fatih Hotel
New Fatih Hotel
#740 of 1,163 in Istanbul
67 reviews
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#509 of 1,163 in Istanbul
232 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#111 of 1,163 in Istanbul
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antique Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Ogul Sok. No:17, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #640 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $22 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the Antique Hotel Istanbul which serves since June, 1989. Centrally located in Sultanahmet, The Antique hotel is a traditional family run property situated in the historical centre of Istanbul. Hotel Antique makes visitors feel more like a home. Accommodations are available for the short and long term stays for international travelers. The Antique is one of the most unique and definitely best BB hotel in the Sultanahmet district, offering friendly budget accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antique Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing