We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Sultanahmet”
Review of Sultanahmet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sultanahmet Hotel
Ranked #585 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The best things about this hotel are the location, the breakfast and the view from the terrace at breakfast. The rooms vary greatly. If you are lucky enough to get one with a view to the Blue Mosque it's OK, if not, it's not OK.

Room Tip: If you can get rooms 103, 203, 303 you are doing well. I don't know how you get those rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rodenday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 177 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

If you're going to spend a few hundred bucks a night for a hotel in Turkey, I'd hope you can find a better spot than this hotel. It was thoroughly average, with some pitfalls from the front desk. The location goes a long way though and prevents the rating from being worse.

Pros:
- It's right off the main avenue that leads you quickly to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Grand Bazaar, Roman cistern, and other marvels. And better still, you're not right on that avenue or in the midst of all the touristy restaurants, so it is rather peaceful.
- It's not a typical chain. It feels rather local, and Turkish.
- The water pressure's good.
- You can get a decent enough sleep. It's alright comfort-wise, though not particularly comfortable.

Cons
- While it's a local property, it's not particularly elegant or beautiful or even charming. The furnishings and decor won't exactly make you think you're in some Ottoman Empire inn.
- The way the showerhead fits in the holder, several times it would spontaneously start spraying around in all kinds of random directions.
- It's overpriced for what I'd expect compared to places I've stayed in dozens of countries.
- The people at the desk try to outdo each other to be unhelpful. Trying to print out my boarding pass proved to be an ordeal that was so trying that it was a comedy of errors, though not that funny when I just wanted a quick printout before getting a bite to eat. And the advice I received on what to do on the Galata side from the front desk was overwhelmingly so terrible that i had a wonderful trip mostly by following the opposite of what he advised. So you may just want to get your city map and head somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dberkowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

A wonderful Turkish hotel in Ottoman style but with all modern conveniences, straight opposite the Blue Mosque - beautiful in the morning sunshine and lit up in the darkness. We had a large room with plenty of space to move around and impeccable service. For example, we used the laundry service and found the clothes back, washed and ironed by the time we were back from visits. It is on a quiet street but only a few moments to the central area near to the Hippodrome and Aya Sofia. We stayed a full two weeks, did not see all there was to see in that time, and will go back. The staff unobtrusive but helpful whenever needed.
Breakfast lovely - on terrace watching the ships go up and from the Sea of Marmara.
We were particularly impressed that when we were charged much more for a taxi ride than expected and mentioned it to the reception staff. We said it didn't matter but just to warn others. The man said that it did matter and rang the taxi company. The taxi driver came over to the hotel with an apology and the overcharge.
Only one complaint. The rather gloomily lighted bathrooms have mini hammams which is nice but makes it so difficult to get in and out of the small space without getting wet.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have one with a balcony if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Babbington25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Is it Istanbul or Constantinople - as per the song lyrics? As a first visit to this amazing, significant, touristic and wondrous city the area of Sultanahmet is where you need to start. The Sultanahmet Hotel is a must stay for travelers wanting to experience the real turkish atmosphere ( in contrast to hotel groups and chains where the local encounter maybe diluted).

The hotels location is central for on foot travelers to visit the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern, Aya Sofya, Grand Bazaar and Spice Markets. We walked the streets going to and fro many attractions including taking public transport making sure we were sensitive and aligned in our dress standards, coverage and actions. The advice and assistance from the reception staff was spot on as with the amazingly polite and attentive restaurant and bar staff.

The view from the restaurant and additional top floor at sun set is not to be missed and should be enjoyed each night. The breakfast selection was expansive with breads, fruits, cereal, juices and hot selection. Tipping was not sort or not expected by any staff actively but they had a neat system of a tipping box in the restaurant that was shared amongst all staff at the end of service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors 3 and 4 front facing the little street were well appointed with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferJennJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a friendly little hotel near all the sites you'd like to see around Istanbul on a relatively quiet street. It's only a few steps away from the main road where you'll find all the good eateries. We arrived 7 in the morning too early for checked in. The staff were very friendly and invited us to breakfast (there were four of us) even though that were not part of the deal. It was the best thing after a 10 hours flight! And it was on the roof top. The rooms were ready by the time we finished our breakfast around 9 in the morning. Highly recommend this little gem!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HooiYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We really enjoyed this funky Muslim-family run small hotel.

Funkyness: Our room was reasonably large, and had both a sleeping alcove with three twin beds plus a sitting room with a Victorian sleigh couch, refrigerator, coffee table, TV, etc. The roof-top patio was decorated in a Paris theme with reproductions of ads for various French wines. The bathroom was unique to us (though later we encountered similar in Turkey): a tiled square room with a floor drain, toilet, corner sink, and hand-held shower unit: Essentially you did everything in the shower.

Pluses: the location was right in the heart of the main tourist attractions in Istanbul. From the hotel roof top patio one had a great view of the Blue Mosque, plus views of the Hagie Sophia and other attractions. The breakfast was unusually good with freshly cooked cheese rolls, etc. that changed by the day. The owners were polite and accommodating.

Minuses: No elevator. The toilet had trouble flushing most anything down the drain. When you entered the room there was a faint odor of sewer gas—but the same smell was on the street, so that the problem was not unique to the hotel. And it was not severe: quickie it went away or was so slight you didn’t notice; no physical effects.

A note on Turkish toilets & bedding: They generally are not the best on flushing things down, especially toilet paper. The toilets typically come with a bidet nozzle that you turn on to clean yourself rather than wiping. Toilet paper is used only to dry your bottom after washing with the bidet jet. The toilet paper is put into a covered waste container rather than flushed down. (This pertains to western-style sit toilets, not the Turkish eastern squat toilets you will sometimes encounter in public W.C. facilities, where the ritual is a bit different.) Typical Turkish hotel beds have bottom sheets but no top sheet. Instead there is some sort of light cotton blanket or coverlet that functions as blanket and top sheet. Some hotels provide additional blankets as well.

If we visit Istanbul again to see various sites we would definitely rebook at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I have been to the hotel before and we will be there next week. Very pleasant staff and the breakfast on the terrace is superb both food and view. The rooms are comfortable though not big but quite sufficient. Certainly the place to stay; everything you want is just around the corner. There is even a superb Indian restaurant close by.
Michael & Minka

Room Tip: Front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#876 of 1,181 in Istanbul
629 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#381 of 1,181 in Istanbul
267 reviews
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#292 of 1,181 in Istanbul
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#502 of 1,181 in Istanbul
112 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#20 of 1,181 in Istanbul
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultanahmet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultanahmet Hotel

Address: Divanyolu Cad No 20 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 340110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #585 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $41 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sultanahmet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultanahmet’s location positions guests within a short walk of major historic sites of Istanbul, including Grand Bazaar. Public tramway and bus stops are situated at the front of the hotel.Sultanahmet Hotel surrounded by small shops and restaurants has been serving to its visitors as a boutique hotel since 1972. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sultanahmet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultanahmet Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing