We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and comfortable house in old Istanbul!”
other travelers have booked this property
Stone floors, wooden ceilings, brick walls, the place looks like a picture!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stone floors, wooden ceilings, brick walls, the place looks like a picture!
Living room The 'Turquoise house'. Entrance and sitting area, TV/DVD. Place to unwind.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Stone floors, wooden ceilings, brick walls, the place looks like a picture!
Living room
The 'Turquoise house'. Entrance and sitting area, TV/DVD. Place to unwind.
Elegant style
The kitchen, dish washer, full oven, washer/dryer etc etc
Kitchen
Italian tiles for taste full breakfast
A tasteful place to dine
Single beds can be made if necessary. Two friends sharing or brother and sister?
Beautiful bedroom
Vibrant colour. Tasteful design.
Spacious living.Large bed All beds brand new. Air conditioning.
Orginal wooden ceilings and doors. A place to sit and read. Lot's of light.
Sweetest dreams after a hectic day touring the city. Quality linens.
Orginal design. Each peice individual. One of a kind.
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Second Bathroom
Gorgeous orginal Stairs, modern and antique furnishings
Top floor double bed  Antique wardrobe. ceiling fan. air con.
Slopped ceiling. Terrace giving lot's of light.
Slopped ceiling. Terrace giving lot's of light.
Second Bathroom
Second Bathroom
Hallways
Coffee or breakfast.Views over the rooftops down to the water of the Golden Horn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Istanbul

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Ria D
Gran Canaria, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful and comfortable house in old Istanbul!”
Reviewed February 27, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Peter and Özkan responded quickly to our request, very convenient to let them arrange a transfer from the airport to the house.
They had maps and information about both the local area and the city that was very useful and were ever so happy to answer our questions.

The house is an old building that has been beautifully restored and decorated. The bedrooms were nice and comfortable. Easy to rest after busy days exploring the city. The bathrooms had nice showers. Perfect for longer stays since the house is equipped with both a dishwasher and a washingmachine!

The area is an old residential part of Istanbul, we found it safe and quiet. A few minutes walk downhill and you had shops, cafés etc to explore. Going up and down the hills might help compensate for all the lovely food on offer.
We enjoyed the beauty and comfort of the house, Peter and Özkans committment to their guests enjoying the stay. The friendly people, the food and of course the city itself.
Looking forward to come back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrie A
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely house in fabulous location”
Reviewed December 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Six of us stayed in this gorgeous house for five nights. Two couples with two teenage boys on the couch. It was a little cramped for us all but still comfortable. The house is charming and the owners are friendly and helpful but it was the location that won our hearts. The neighbourhood though poor and run down in parts is incredibly friendly and happy. We felt like we were part of a real community and we loved the smiling faces of our neighbours and the local children. The local corner shops and restaurants are great and inexpensive. Just don't head up the hill to the stricter Muslim area and expect to buy beer. The shopkeeper there had a good laugh with us. Public transport to the centre of the city is good and we walked a lot and used taxis. Obviously being tourists, we found that taxi drivers would not believe that we were staying in that part of town and some had difficulty finding the house. It is a very hilly area but we enjoyed the exercise. Our only complaint would be that a problem with the hot water heater meant we had cold showers for a couple of days but in the hot weather this wasn't too bad. We would recommend the house to our friends and family and would stay there again ourselves if we are lucky enough to return to Istanbul in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Neighbourhood and people
Liked least: No hot water for a time
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2016
We are so happy that you loved the house and especially it's location. Balat is wonderful area, like a village in the city centre. A mix of old and new. 3rd generation cafes sit next to historical wood fired bakeries. It's being called 'The new Arts district of Istanbul'. We were sorry about the hot water issue and we are glad to report that all now works superbly. We look forward to receive you on your next visit and for now look forward to meet your friends. With kindest regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian P
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Loved the Turquoise House in Old Istanbul”
Reviewed October 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our party of three had a wonderful 11 day stay at the Turquoise House. The house is beautifully decorated & looks exactly as it does in the pictures, so you’ll be pleasantly surprised that what you see in the photos is what you get. The location and neighborhood was the highlight for me, as there are two distinctive neighborhoods Balat and Fatih, Fatih is a very conservative Muslim area and Balat, is a more traditional Turkish neighborhood, with an increasingly modern trend. Both areas provided rich travel experiences. Once you get your bearings, you’ll find the Turquoise House is perfect for exploring Istanbul.
I do want to mention our host, on arrival Ozkan made me feel very welcomed and provided provisions to get us started, bread, milk and eggs. He also arranged for our transportation to and from the airport, which went smoothly. The insider recommendations on things to do and how to get around in Istanbul were very helpful.
Thank you Ozkan and Peter for a terrific stay and if I ever come back to Istanbul I will definitely stay at the Turquoise House as I feel it is my home away from home in Istanbul.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The hot water didn't work, but was repaired quickly
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitbadut
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“STUNNING - abasolutely fabulous”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The place is as fantastic as the photos show! At one point I was wondering if this place was a scam as I thought: "It looks too good to be true" BUT reality it is even better than the photos!! We loved staying in the house and enjoyed the feeling of having a home away from home. Ozkan & Peter were GREAT hosts!
We liked the neighbourhood and all the many everyday scenes: Laundry dangling high above the street; kids playing; adults meeting on the street corner; the simit-bakery and the friendly owner; the smiles; the steepness of the streets.
We highly recommend the house and we'll definitely be back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house; the hosts; the neighbourhood
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBut...
Garrett Speirs
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just cant say enough good things about the Turquoise House. A 10!”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

As with any memorable stay, it really begins with the people. Peter and Ozkan were such gracious hosts. They really went out of there way to attend to whatever small detail we needed. Even letting us borrow their own bus card to help us get around. We found all their recommendations to be spot on, especially their restaurant recommendations.
The location of the apartment was absolutely amazing. Such an authentic stay. After heading into the old/touristy section of town we craved the serenity of Balat. The area is one of the most incredibly beautiful section of town that can rival any place for its uniqueness. There are many (and I mean many) bakeries on the way down the hill from which we made our breakfast. We didn't see one other tourist in the four days we spent there.
Of course the apartment is simple beautiful. A piece of functional art! Thank you Peter and Ozkan!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Episodeso...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Even Better Than The Photographs In Elle Magazine”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We arrived on a cold snowy evening and were welcomed to the gorgeous Turquoise House by our charming hosts Peter and Ozkan.

The house is just stunning - even better than the photographs in Elle Magazine - with amazing attention to all the decorative details ... it just oozes with the care and love that this couple have lavished upon it.

When we travel we try to find interesting places to stay that are beautifully decorated, but which are not formal or fussy as it needs to work for us as a family and The Turquoise House did not disappoint easily absorbing the four of us.

Peter took us on a snowy tour of the neighbourhood on our first evening showing us where to buy our groceries and where to eat - each morning we loved going to the traditional wood fired simit bakery which is 2 minutes away just opposite the quirky wooden houses that featured in Skyfall.

We have been to Istanbul before and deliberately chose to stay away from the tourist centre. Balat is an authentic area that has been "discovered" - there is a mixture of crumbling old houses just waiting to be renovated, the odd one currently under renovation and stylish renovated houses as well as traditional family homes. We felt very comfortable, everyone we met was welcoming and we easily found taxis (which are very cheap) to take us where we wanted to go - within 10 minutes we were at the main sights.

If you want a choice of bars and restaurants on your doorstep with an immaculate view from your window then The Turquoise House might not be for you but if you want authenticity, a beautiful house and charming hosts then I'd recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen O
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful restoration and comfort”
Reviewed December 27, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We loved staying in Ozkan and Peter's place ...it was a great place to come home to after a full day of sightseeing. The house was in a great location - easy to get to everything and just up the hill from public transport. We were able to do food shopping and find good restaurants easily located not far from the rental property. We loved the way they decorated and the place was homey and very cozy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cozy living room and bedrooms
Liked least: The kitchen was a little bit small but manageable
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing