We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hospitality”
Review of Skalion Hotel&Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skalion Hotel&Spa
Ranked #78 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed April 6, 2014

It was a wonderful stay, All the staff remains professional and dedicated to entertain a comfortable stay. Mr Adnan Kanat, Mr Murat, Ms Asli C.Toktas Front office Managers and all the staff members have been very cooperative in having the stay enjoyable and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (882)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 882 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

Room: PROs: we had a small room (301) which was very new and clean, we had fruits the first day, mini bar at reasonable prices, hair dryer, fresh good smelling bedsheets and towels, soaps, A/C that worked, the window was directed towards a tiny backyard (so the room was quite dark, but not bad considering you are outside the whole day); staff was very helpful, breakfast very good, all in all great value for the price! I have nothing to complain about as you cannot do better for that price. CONs: Staff: Our keycard did not work and needed to be reprogrammed. The receptionist immediately reprogrammed it without having asked an ID from us. The hotel is situated downhill, which means you need to walk uphill for about 350m. If you are young this should not be a problem, but if you have trouble walking I would not stay there. The area is safer than it seems or looks like. You will walk along some streets that are full of rubbish, traffic and dirt. Just ignore it - this is Istanbul and the area seemed safe.Breakfast was very good - maybe the hotel can invest into some proper coffee. This is unfortunate as Turkey offers the best coffees. However, staff was helpful and very kind. I had a coffee at the next coffee store after breakfast. I had a wonderful sleep there though. Spa: I think the hotel described a Spa when I booked it, unfortunately it was broken and we did not even bother seeing it. WIFI: Wifi was also offered, but never really worked. Still for that price I cannot complain. Wifi hotspots are all around the city.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gallahad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATİLLA I, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Skalion Hotel&Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2016

Dear Gallahad,
I am very glad to receive your positive impressions that help us to keep and develop our services. Your comfort at Skalion Hotel is very important for us and we will be carrying on and improving giving you the best service and facilities in your future visits.
We as Skalion family will be waiting for your visit again when you come back to Istanbul.
Thank you again for your honest feedback.
Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We booked the hotel for 4 nights (at 170€) and it is only a short walk (up hill) to the Grand Bazaar and tram station that brings you anywhere in the city for just 3TL.

Room:
PROs: we had a small room (301) which was very new and clean, we had fruits the first day, mini bar at reasonable prices, hair dryer, fresh good smelling bedsheets and towels, soaps, A/C that worked, the window was directed towards a tiny backyard (so the room was quite dark, but not bad considering you are outside the whole day); staff was very helpful, breakfast very good, all in all great value for the price! I have nothing to complain about as you cannot do better for that price.

CONs:
Staff: Our keycard did not work and needed to be reprogrammed. The receptionist immediately reprogrammed it without having asked an ID from us. Same thing happened when it did not work on the day of our departure: The cleaning lady opened the door with the master key. So better make use of the safe or lock in your stuff in the luggage). However, I do not think things are stolen there, but I am always careful.
Location: The hotel is situated downhill, which means you need to walk uphill for about 350m. If you are young this should not be a problem, but if you have trouble walking I would not stay there.
The area is safer than it seems or looks like. You will walk along some streets that are full of rubbish, traffic and dirt. Just ignore it - this is Istanbul and the area seemed safe.
Breakfast/Coffee: Breakfast was very good - maybe the hotel can invest into some proper coffee. This is unfortunate as Turkey offers the best coffees. However, staff was helpful and very kind. I had a coffee at the next coffee store after breakfast.
Beds: We had a Queen size bed. My partner did not sleep so well because of the pillows and mattress. I had a wonderful sleep there though.
Spa: I think the hotel described a Spa when I booked it, unfortunately it was broken and we did not even bother seeing it.
WIFI: Wifi was also offered, but never really worked. Still for that price I cannot complain. Wifi hotspots are all around the city.

Room Tip: not 301, it goes to the backyard, ask for a front room that overlooks the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jana1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATİLLA I, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Skalion Hotel&Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2016

Dear Jana,
I really appreciate you have preferred Skalion Hotel for your stay in Istanbul. Your precious reviews will make us stronger as a team, not only to maintain also make further improvements of our quality and service.

It has pleasure to greet you at Skalion Hotel. I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, giving you the best quality and service. I hope that you would visit and stay at Skalion Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.
Please do not hesitate to contact me for any arrangements you need on your next stay.
We hope to see you very soon at Skalion Hotel.

Best Regards
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank denilbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Gherbi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UlyanovaElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mrmichel2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#222 of 1,175 in Istanbul
432 reviews
Amber Hotel Istanbul
#75 of 1,175 in Istanbul
705 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#102 of 1,175 in Istanbul
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#50 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,583 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#20 of 1,175 in Istanbul
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skalion Hotel&Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skalion Hotel&Spa

Address: Cifte Gelinler Cad. No:6 Kumkapi - Fatih, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Hotel Class:4 star — Skalion Hotel&Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Skalion Hotel&Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing