We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - Best View”
Review of Lady Diana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lady Diana Hotel
Ranked #419 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location - Best View”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is in a great location in Sultanahmet - very close to the sights. Staff were all very friendly and helpful when required.
We were only 2/3 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque. It is probably the best view we have ever had when eating breakfast. Excellent choice of food for breakfast.
The dining room is on the roof of the hotel and you are surrounded by so much history.
The rooms are quite small with a little too much furniture however the beds were very comfortable and the room overall very clean.
Very close to the main shopping area of Sultanahmet and the main Tram Lines. Tokens cost 3TL for any distance and can be bought at all tram stops.
Close to lots of restaurants. Even though this was the end of November we were able to dine outside as many of the restaurants have heated outdoor areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anselms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    209
    83
    29
    31
See reviews for
85
186
55
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a wonderful time in the center of old Istanbul at this hotel. It was close to everything and we could walk to most of the sights we wanted to see. The service was great. The dining room on the roof was superb.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harp12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Let me start with our complaint. On our second night at the hotel, we woke up being eaten alive by mosquitoes. We checked the window and found it was open--we hadn't noticed because the drapes covered the open section. I had opened the window to check the weather that morning, and assumed I had failed to shut the window completely and it had blown open. We closed and locked the window, killed as many mosquitoes as we could find, and went back to sleep. The next afternoon when we returned to the hotel we found the window open again, and the room once more overrun with mosquitoes. We shook them out of the drapes and chased them around the room and managed to kill all of them, so got a decent night's sleep. Apparently the maids open the windows every day to air out the rooms, and since the windows have no screens, beware.

Other than that, everything was fine. Others have complained about the size of the rooms, and perhaps we just were lucky and got a larger one, but we found the room to be comfortable for two people. We had a large bed, one nightstand (there was room at the other end of the bed for my suitcase, which I used as a makeshift nightstand), a desk and stool, a chair, and a small closet. The bathroom was small, but functional. The bed was comfortable, the lighting was decent--good enough for reading in bed--and everything was clean. The view from the rooftop restaurant is spectacular (see photos) and I enjoyed the included breakfast. Anyone with mobility problems should inquire about the shower, however, Ours was in a very deep tub, and stepping into it could pose a problem for somebody with bad knees.

Finally, the location is fantastic--on a quiet street, but a very short walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, and Basilica Cistern.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarylandIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed 3 nights with my family where we only enjoyed having breakfast on the roof on a lovely view over istanbul. The hotel location is just in the middle of sultan ahmet but everything else was bad. The rooms are too small, ACs were not working during mid of summer, furniture old and dirty, and staff are not service oriented. I dont recommend it to anyone unless I really hate you.

Room Tip: If you dont care about the room size, looks, AC and fridge not working, and toilet looking horrible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killinchy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just a fantastic location. The hotel is really a 3 star for rooms. The staff are friendly and helpful. The views from the 6th floor bar/veranda/restaurant are just sensational. You feel you could just reach out and touch the Blue Mosque. The best view is from the veranda wher you can get a great view of the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia and the Tokapi Palace. The restaurant food is good and also fair value. I will stay here again for its great location and views.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenCountyDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very central location for many of the big tourist destinations in Istanbul, so you can walk to all of these. Clean, tidy with good airconditioninng and the room was quiet. Breakfast was excellent, and what a view of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia from the roof top restaurant. Bed was a a little hard, but all our beds in Turkey have been the same. Also would have liked a plug for the bathroom sink, but we survived. There was a little shop next door that was good for water, toiletries etc.
Would stay again for this hotels great location.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an external room, as others in our group had an internal facing on and it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I visited Istanbul from September 2-8th and stayed at the Lady Diana hotel. The hotel positives are that it is centrally located in Sultanahmet, on a quiet street and close walking distance to the main historic attractions. It's across the park from the Blue Mosque, 5 minutes walking from Ayasofia and about 6 minutes from Topkapi palace. It is also located right near a metro stop that will take you to the Spice bazaar and across the Bosphorus.

The hotel is well maintained and rooms are clean. The house keeping service was on top of things, my bed was made every morning while I was at breakfast and fresh towels put out each day.
The complimentary breakfast was good. plenty of fruit, cheeses, breads and some american staples like scrambled eggs and sausage. It is also served on the roof top restaurant which has an amazing view.

The negatives are:

The rooms are very small, which was fine for me as I was alone. The A/C in the room didn't cool the room at all even at the highest setting which was disappointing after walking around in 88 degree heat all day you really want a cool place to rest. The room had a view of another room so opening the shades and windows was out of the question. so basically I went to bed feeling warm and suffocated each night.

The fitness room is a dark, dank place that was unpleasantly warm and the equipment is old and rickety. It made it difficult to get a decent workout in while there.

The front desk staff was average. They were neither particularly friendly nor were they rude. They were just OK.

The safe in my room wasn't functional so the front desk sent someone to help with it which resulted in my having to put my personal effects in the hotel safe instead. That worked out fine but feels like you have less control over your stuff.

Overall I think it was a fine stay. If they improved the A/C quality it would be a much nicer place to stay.

Room Tip: get a room with a street view for light and air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelfarnwidenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Sultanahmet
Albatros Premier Hotel
Albatros Premier Hotel
#423 of 1,155 in Istanbul
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#109 of 1,155 in Istanbul
861 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#345 of 1,155 in Istanbul
473 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#303 of 1,155 in Istanbul
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Diana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Diana Hotel

Property: Lady Diana Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Terzihane Sok. No:9 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#235 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#282 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lady Diana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lady Diana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Diana Istanbul
Hotel Lady Diana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing