We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel Experience”
Review of Adora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adora Hotel
Ranked #307 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Hotel Adora was really an excellent choice:

Location -- around the corner from the metro; with the windows closed, it was not close enough to be noisy, but close enough to be within walking distance. If you pick a hotel right on the main line, there tends to be clanging sounds. Hotel was also within walking distance to all the important sites, Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, etc., also within 10-15 min. to Eminonu. Scenery along the street of the metro is very charming and picturesque so that the walk is not boring. Most importantly, it is located in a very nice area so that walking at night feels very safe. There were several young women staying alone at the hotel. Restaurants along the metro are more expensive, but not necessarily better. Hotel is also within 5-10 min. walk of some really cheap and good eateries; we were able to buy fresh squeezed orange juice for 1TYL at some cafes.

Staff -- really the gem of the place. The manager Erdi and the staff were friendly, funny, and helpful. Even just walking by us while we were waiting for the elevator, they would take the time to press the elevator button for us. They made the entire experience very warm and friendly. Our flight was at 2pm, but they allowed us to have a late checkout. In general, the people in Istanbul have a great sense of humor and are always trying to joke with you. If you have been in hotels in which it felt like you owed the staff something, then this hotel will really be a great experience.

Hotel Services -- Can't complain too much about this place because they gave us room upgrade, and our room ended up being quite sizable for us. Also, the airport shuttle used by the hotel is only 50TYL, which was the cheapest that I would've found by myself, so they definitely didn't add any additional fees. It is charming and quaint in its decorations; there is heater, a/c, and hot water; and it is very clean. However, do note that this is an older hotel so it does feel more like an authentic experience than staying at a Hilton.

Local Sites -- Topkapi Palace was not as great as everyone says that it is; extremely crowded and even though you are not supposed to smoke on the grounds, tourists stink up the place and some of the guards also do as well. The Harem is also not as great as claimed -- not that many rooms are open and there is no furniture as in the Dolmabahce Palace -- only good thing about the place is that fewer people are in there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
There are newer reviews for Adora Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 781 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

Istanbul is an amazing city with sooo much to see and do! The people are friendly and the food fabulous! Hotel Adora is no exeption. The staff was helpfull and friendly, and breakfasts good. The beauty of the hotel is its location as it is in walking distance to the main attractions. The rooms are small and packing space limited. However, the hotel has an outside deck where drinks are served and the passing parade can be observed. If you do not intend spending too much time in your room, this is the ideal hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LUANDRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I really wish I could write a good review because the staff at the Adora was wonderful. However, the mattress was hard as a rock, the room was either freezing cold or swelteringly hot, the shower ran all night (not just dripped, but actually ran), and the heating unit vibrated and shook so that my husband and I were unable to sleep a wink.

The hotel owner needs to do some major upgrades: new mattresses, new heating units, and plumbing repairs. Even though the location is wonderful, the hotel was not cheap, and it was definitely NOT worth what we paid. I would have gladly paid more per night to stay in a place where we could get some sleep. We stayed for three nights at the end of two weeks in Turkey, and we ended up going home utterly exhausted.

I cannot recommend this hotel. People staying at Adora were asking for new rooms, but the new were as bad as the old. We saw at least two parties leave early to go to other area hotels. It's a shame as the rooms were clean, though quite small, and it has a lot of potential. I hope the owner will invest some money to make it livable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AndreaT-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We have travelled in 40 countries and 100`s of hotels.
We were 2 weeks in Istanbul - nice time to be!
Adora is a hotel of top 20 on our list - believe or not. After first week we understood it in real practice
They do all, what you are asking them to do for you - that is our number One experience of their service.
Because I made my 30s marathon here, we needed a guiet room and we got it
When we sended an Email 4 months before our trip and they responded soon and fullfilled our needs then and later.
Staff was very polite and helpful all the time.So if you smiled they smile and if you demand, they respond.
This is a good hotel on exellent area of Istanbul.
We recommend you to use public traffic of the city. By Istanbulkart (Abkilpass) you can travel
with trams and boats very easely.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EERO42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

The hotel is very close to the main sites (Topkapi,Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque & Grand Bazaar) , just a 15 -20 minute walk, it is also on the tram route to across the Golden Horn.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and typical of a tourist hotel where you are just going to sleep.

The restaurant (Faros) is right next door and the food is superb... see separate review.

Both my daughter and I would return to Istanbul and stay at the Adora Hotel

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hassan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed here for three nights and the location is perfect - walking distance to the tram and most of the major attractions, including Topkapi Palace, the Blue Mosque and the Spice Mart. My room was tiny but very clean and comfortable; the bathroom was large by comparison and had a great shower. The cleaning crew makes up the beds and changes the towels daily, which did not happen at any other place I stayed in Turkey. Breakfast was perfect -- self-service on the drinks (also not the norm, and I need at least 3 cups of tea to wake up) and a wide selection of food, both cold and hot. But the best part of the Adora is the staff -- just the nicest, friendliest people we met, especially Burhan Erbas, who greeted us with drinks and Turkish Delight as soon as we arrived. Thanks to everyone for the great hospitality -- I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed in this hotel over a week. Had amazing time: wonderful service with dedicated staff for making your stay enjoyable. Hotel is in the core-downtown - close to shops stores entertainment etc. You will get to experience both historical and modern side of Istanbul. Wouldnt want to stay anywhere else next time when I get a chance to visit Istanbul.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Black Tulip
Hotel Black Tulip
#239 of 1,159 in Istanbul
233 reviews
Sultanahmet
Olimpiyat Hotel
Olimpiyat Hotel
#131 of 1,159 in Istanbul
281 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#179 of 1,159 in Istanbul
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#388 of 1,159 in Istanbul
120 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#83 of 1,159 in Istanbul
947 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
#296 of 1,159 in Istanbul
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adora Hotel

Address: Hudavendigar Caddesi Erdogan Sok.No 14 - 16, Istanbul 34800, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#97 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#106 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#123 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $39 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adora Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing