We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Price”
Review of Grand Liza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Liza Hotel
Ranked #940 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Tehran
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Location and Price”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed in Grand Liza Hotel for 6 nights in June 2013 , during the Istanbul shopping festival we couldn’t find cheaper hotel than this. The location is very interesting , in the whole sale shoe and purse district, uphill to main tourist attractions Grand Bazaar and Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia .After 10 min climbing the hill you can access Beyazit tram station .
The hotel was quite basic but comfortable. My room was very small but clean. We stayed in street side room.Air conditioning worked well, TV too, as I enjoyed watching final season of ” Kuzey Guney” and It is an unforgettable memory :)
Bathroom was very small.staff are friendly. Housekeeping and Free Wifi weren’t satisfactory.
Breakfast served on roof top restaurant, with Lovely views of Marmara sea from the terrace. Average Turkish breakfast was the same every day.
I love nights near the hotel in the historic Kumkapi district, the area is full of outside restaurants. Kampkapi is famous for its many fish restaurants. Every night is a lively and lots of fun near here and because of that I preferred to stay in street side room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarysaMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    25
    18
    17
See reviews for
16
30
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran Province, Iran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights,with my family, and we had 4rooms.
We didn't see any body for cleaning or maintainig in all of our stay. One rude woman and another smoking guy just showed up on cheking out.
For every transport to the hotel you have a heavy mountain climbing because of the bad position. Breakfast has nothing special and it was same and simple everyday.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fjahani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

i stayed here for 3 nights in november 2013, we had B&B service for quite a small amount of money so i didn't really expect much considering that we didn't pay a lot for it.
so, the room itself is ok, a bit small but enough for the two of us, not too clean overall. the bathroom door couldn't close. they did change the towels during our stay but since i didn't expect much from this hotel i brought my own and that was a good idea since their towels looked like they have been washed like a million times,with patches of almost holes in them... i could literary see my friend through some parts of our towels... so we used them the best we knew how... they ended up (or should i say down) on our bathroom floor, which also didn't look too clean, so the towels helped a bunch!
we stayed on the second floor (of 6 i think) and the elevator didn't work for half of the time-the worst was when we were leaving and had to drag our full suitcases down the narrow stairs.
the breakfast was served on the top floor, as i said some mornings we used the elevator and on other we had to walk up there, and the food itself is... well, plain. some jams and honey, some sort of ham-not to interesting, boiled eggs, salad, bread, butter and i think that's about it. coffee, tea and juice... the view is really nice, and i suppose in the warm days when they open the windows it must be great because you are looking at the sea..
the hotel is located in the area which really suited us, the only thing is that it's at the bottom of the street-if you want to go to kapali carsi (grand baazar), but we didn't mind that much cause the weather was perfect so we quite enjoyed our walks.
the staff in the hotel is ok, but wasn't really helpful not because they don't want to help-i think, but because they don't know, or don't care to find out. for example, we asked them about the shuttle bus service to the airport, and they told us that all they do is call a taxi, and couldn't even guide us to a bus service, which office is located only a few minute walk down the street as we found out on our own.
anyway, down from the hotel is a fish restaurant area, which is quite nice, and a bit further down is the sea, and just opposite of the hotel is the police station.
all in all, would i go again? for this much money, sure, but would it be my first choice if was willing to spend more, no!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Starshine0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Good location as its quite lively and easy to walk to blue mosque and lots of restaurants but the room itself was disappointing. It had quite an ugly view with no balcony. It was very tiny with no kettle or tea-making facilities?! The bathroom was too cramped and the toliet seat kept dettaching. The breakfast wasn't very nice either and the tea was unsatisfactory. The lift was small (enough for 2 people) so not ideal for slightly claustrophobic people. The staff are helpful but i feel that they should have had someone to welcome us to our room personally and instructed us how to work the AC, Tv etc. The bed was comfy and the room wasnt beautifully clean (like i'm used to at home) but it wasnt dirty either which was ok i guess.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ayesha K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I was lucky. I stayed in room 604 which had a great view of the sea. If you open the windows at night the cross breeze was wonderful. My a/c worked well.
The staff was not very helpful. My wi fi never worked in this room, they said they'd fix it but never did. My friend stayed down the hall, so I used their room for wi fi.
There were always people in the lobby using wi fi, so I assume the other rooms were having the same problem as I.
It was only a short walk up a very steep hill to the bazaar. So after shopping with heavy bags you practically run down the steep hill.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Electfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

we were there on our third trip to Istanbul.as in our previous trips our hotels were around Aksaray, this time I've choosed this as it's closer to the historical center.
the street is scary on the evening and night,specially when you are alone.the hotel is on a very noisy intersection and you hear the cars horning and the people struggle all the time.we've tried to close the window to see if we can rest,but it was no air to breath!when we wanted to turn on the AC,it was no remote control for that and the reception reply was"it's not summer yet!!!"
the TV did not work.
they did not change the towels and sheets everyday,just a woman came to the room when we were out and smoked our sigar and even forget to put the trash outside!
the reception was not friendly at all and could speak English difficulty.
the view of the breakfast restaurant were nice, but there were just one kind on cheese,2 kind of jams,butter and hard boiled eggs.no warm dishes(as they normally serve at same star hotels in Istanbul)
don't go there and I bet you can find a better place in Istanbul instead.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

grand liza hotel was great despite it is being in a very sloppy road , and the rooms are very small
the view from the restaurant on top was amazing , also the friendly staff make the experience unforgettable ,it is in the middle of old city s0 a strategic place to many attraction

Room Tip: choose a twin room as a double room is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MonaSafey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Mark Hotel
#879 of 1,154 in Istanbul
71 reviews
Abel Hotel Istanbul
#594 of 1,154 in Istanbul
69 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kupeli Hotel
Kupeli Hotel
#450 of 1,154 in Istanbul
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Ons Hotel
#907 of 1,154 in Istanbul
226 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ast Hotel
Ast Hotel
#1,038 of 1,154 in Istanbul
130 reviews
Tayhan Hotel
#998 of 1,154 in Istanbul
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Liza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Liza Hotel

Property: Grand Liza Hotel
Address: Saracishak Mah. Tiyatro Cad. No:114 Kumkapi, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #940 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Liza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Liza is close to all places such as Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia Museum, Topkap Palace, Armenian and Orthodox Churches which are located at the center of Old Istanbul and to the places in which Ottoman and Byzantine cultures are nested inside of each other and you can go to these places by walking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Grand Liza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Liza Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing