We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ranked #126 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2014

My ratings says it all;

1. Excellent staff services (Trully Turkish hospitality)
2. Excellent sleep quality
3. Nice Turkish breakfast in the morning
4.Of course, Location, location, location - perfectly located at Sultanahmet (Ayasofia, Hippodrome, Blue mosque, Topkapi, Grand Bazar, Cistern) all are in within walking distances.

The only thing that cause this hotel doesn't get my 5 bullets ratings is the access and the price.
1. If you come to this hotel with many luggages you will need help to bring your luggage to the hotel. The street is paved with coblestone (which can cause your luggage wheel broken) and you need to bring your luggage walking on stairs.
2. For 3 nights I spent around $750- just for the room- and you need to pay extra $40 (paid directly to them since they deal with outside party for this) to get you back to the airport (although if you stay more than 3 nights they will pick you up from the airport for free).

But overall, it was a good experience and I definetly will recommend this to my friends, relatives and colleagues.

Room Tip: Choose Room 301 - It is facing Haiga Sophia (DIRECTLY).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dsinaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

After 20 hours of air travel and almost no sleep, we arrived at this hotel exhausted. We were greeted by Mehmet at the front desk who kindly helped us with a mix up with our travel agent. Then we met with Serhat who helped us orient to Istanbul and know how to achieve our plans for our stay. We saw him again the next evening and he recognized us, was friendly and interested in how our experiences had been. Everyone at the hotel was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our room had a balcony and the Turkish bath was exceptionally lovely. The food at the restaurant on site was from recipes prepared during Ottoman times and was delicious. The location of this hotel could not be more convenient as it is a one minute walk from Hagia Sophia. We loved our stay at this hotel and were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Felicity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a very nice boutique hotel in a quiet and quaint neighborhood. We found the hotel to be clean, welcoming, and convenient. The room was large with a spacious bathroom. The hotel is within walking distance of the Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Basillica Cistern, and most of Old Istanbul. The staff of the hotel were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast was generous and tasty with a wide variety of choices and the dining area provided a nice view of the town. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeCola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The location of this hotel in Sultanahmet can't be beat. Note that cars, including taxis, can't drive right up to the hotel. It's a short walk where the road has been closed off, however. The Aya Sofia is across the cobblestone street, the Blue Mosque is to the right and the Topkapi to the left. All within walking distance, and very close to the Sultanahmet tram station. The hotel is very nice, and the jetted tub is a welcomed treat after days of walking. The restaurant leaves a bit to be desired, but again you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LSNewt0042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The hotel is ideally situated for a short break in Istanbul. It is charming in its design and the staff is very helpful. We had a problem with the shower that we had to announce twice before it was finally fixed but otherwise, all ok.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Silviana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Right in the heart of the Sultanahmet area so perfect for exploring the old town, this hotel offers a good four star service. It's welcoming and calm with a old world feel about the place. Service was excellent at all times and the room was a decent size, clean and well equipped. The air conditioning worked well - perhaps a little fierce at times, but that's easily solved by switching it off for a while. Noise levels are reasonable, although passers by may make a bit of noise at night. One thing to be aware of - at certain times the road leading up to the hotel is closed (by moving pillars) so if you have a lot of luggage you may need some help - and the cobbled road is not particularly good for heavy wheeled suitcases. Having said that, most Turkish taxis we tried were always willing to be helpful. We couldn't quite work the system out - sometimes we could drive up to the hotel and other times we were dropped at the blocked entrance. It's only about a 100m walk so not far - just be aware if you have loads of suitcases. The hotel also has a really excellent restaurant - be sure to book as it was full one of the nights we were there. Having tried the food, I'm not surprised - would happily visit again. As per other reviews, you are right by the Hagia Sophia and also close to the Sultanahmet tram station. Don't be frightened to use the trams - get a map and work out where you want to go. If you can handle the London tube system, this is a breeze. Buy tram tokens at the Jetonmatik machines - at the moment it costs 4 Turkish Lira per journey - choose which direction you need to go in, and hop on. The token machines will give change for notes, but give 1TL coins in change, so try to keep the notes to a relatively small value unless you want to be burdened with loads of coins. Overall, would happily use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ARM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Arriving at this hotel after the long flight from Australia made our first experience of Istanbul very positive. We arrived early in the morning and they made a room available and offered breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. Great rooms in the classic ottoman style. The location is amazing and we had views from our window of the Hagia Sophia. The restaurant is also superb.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nunkeri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#48 of 1,171 in Istanbul
1,566 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,171 in Istanbul
3,155 reviews
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#81 of 1,171 in Istanbul
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#14 of 1,171 in Istanbul
948 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,171 in Istanbul
2,204 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#27 of 1,171 in Istanbul
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottoman Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Address: Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#85 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#98 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#122 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $40 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottoman Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottoman Hotel Imperial is situated on the truly premium location in Istanbul, on an elevated position, surrounded by all the major historical and cultural sights in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet, viewing the impressive Hagia Sophia (St.Sophia, Aya Sofya) Museum. This is absolutely the best location in Istanbul, within easy walking distance of the main monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ottoman Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottoman Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing