We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good breakfast and excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ranked #127 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really just next to Hagia Sophia, however as a positive surprise, it was very quiet all the time. It is almost difficult to imagine any beter location for tourists.

The hotel staff are all very polite and friendly. The restaurants the information desk recommended to us all turned out to be very good value for money. We stayed there for 7 nights, really enjoyed the breakfast every day. There are some varieties each day, lots of choices. They accepted our specisl request for fried eggs and it was very delicious.

There was some noise from the upstair floor one day, but it was not for long.

I would definitely consider this hotel again when we visit Istanbul in future.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Lucky7jpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 1,805 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We were in a group, and each couple got a different room ( same price ), in my case I got a room smaller then those in a B&b... Really really small... The shower can fit one person and it is impossible to move.
The breakfast is ok, some of the things we should order to the staff...
The staff is very polite and willing to help the tourists. The concierge couldn't help us..
I strongly do not recommend it

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Francyelletmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

It is located in the city centre but the hotel is very quite. It has comfortable room and delicious breakfasts. There is a person that recommends you where to go and eat which is very helpful. The staff is very friendly and clean your room everyday.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Shouheng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The only reason I might have to stay elsewhere on my return to Istanbul would be if the Ottoman Hotel Imperial had no availability, and I would still dine at their excellent restaurant. One of my favorite hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NovemberFifth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We booked a room with this hotel based on the outstanding reviews on TripAdvisor. We were extremely disappointed once we checked in to our room, which was located in the basement so that our windows were walled in. It's one thing to not have the best view, it's another thing entirely to have virtually no natural light at all.

The room was clean but teeny tiny, with absolutely no space to open your suitcase other than on top of the bed.


The staff were generally pretty friendly, though I was a bit irritated that they tried to arrange for airport transportation for 50 Euros, when a private cab costs half the price.

Breakfast buffet was ok, but nothing to write home about.

The location, as others have mentioned, is fantastic - but for the price, I wish I would have chosen a different hotel, one with an above-ground room, not this poor excuse for a broom storage closet. I really don't know what management was thinking there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NDexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Best hotel in Sultanahmet! Period. From the proximity to The marvelous Aya Sophia and the Blue Mosque, to the lively cafés and restaurants that fill the area, this lovely hotel is a real gem. Very clean and spacious rooms and friendly English speaking staff like Erhan are what makes this hotel worth the visit. The wonderful buffet breakfast served on the lovely terrace is an experience any international traveller would love. The restaurant on the premises featuring fabulous authentic Ottoman dishes is a must.
Just do it....!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Muean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Our room was small but lovely decorated and furnished. The bathroom was rather small and it was a bit too easy to hear the neighbours. Breakfast was great. Staff was always polite and very caring, we really enjoyed our stay. And the location is fantastic.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BobHarris84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#26 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,401 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#50 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,583 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,175 in Istanbul
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
#51 of 1,175 in Istanbul
402 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#20 of 1,175 in Istanbul
2,226 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottoman Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Address: Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#99 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#120 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $51 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottoman Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottoman Hotel Imperial is situated on the truly premium location in Istanbul, on an elevated position, surrounded by all the major historical and cultural sights in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet, viewing the impressive Hagia Sophia (St.Sophia, Aya Sofya) Museum. This is absolutely the best location in Istanbul, within easy walking distance of the main monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ottoman Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottoman Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing