We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ranked #123 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We agree with most of these reports, superb location but be careful about the rooms. We spent 1 day (tiny room), went to Gallipoli, spent another 2 nights in a very nice room. Excellent service, great breakfast, highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you can, have a look first or at least ask for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bojangles1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 1,805 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in the Ottoman Imperial in late September, 2013. It is located right behind the Hagia Sophia and is close to many, many other attractions as well as a wide choice of restaurants, museums and shops. The staff were efficient and friendly and our room was fine. Considering it is very central, it is on a surprisingly quiet side street. I would just voice two cautions: first, at that time, the street in front had been torn up down to dirt and was blocked off, making it impossible for cabs to enter, and obliging the porter to drag our bags down to the entrance of the street, over the dirt. Secondly, I would suggest that you ask for any other room except the one on the ground floor looking out onto the restaurant! You need to have your drapes drawn while in the room, and the Saturday night of our stay, a large wedding reception was being held there. At one point, we felt like asking the family if we could join in the reception since there was no way we could sleep! Other than the room's being a little costly for the value (but perhaps that is just Istanbul), the hotel was perfectly suitable for our needs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Its a very long drive to & from the airport, We'd advise booking a transfer for a set price or a taxi could be very expensive. The room was tiny but comfortable enough & I mean tiny! Hardly any room to move. There was a balcony off the room but it was also tiny, only had one chair & looked onto another part of the hotel. No views. The shower had excellent pressure, but the bathroom was also tiny.

The service at the hotel though was exceptional! Wonderful staff. We had breakfast packed for us one morning when we had a very early start for a day tour to Gallipoli without even asking. The staff couldn't do enough for you. On the morning we were checking out, one of the male staff set us up on the front veranda with a cup of Turkish tea while we waited for our pickup to the airport. We'd noticed he was actually on his break yet he abandoned his tea & made sure we were comfortable even though we'd actually checked out.

The meals were excellent. Dinner at the restaurant was just beautiful! We'd recommend trying the sailors roll for entree & stuffed melon for main.
Wifi was at times patchy in our room but generally ok.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mareezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is directly across the street from the Hagia Sophia church/museum. It is located near the Sultanahmet tram stop. The staff is helpful and the rooms are comfortable and modern. The restaurant is top rated, and the breakfast room is comfortable. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Hagia Sophia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkietx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The room was extremely small,the balcony even smaller,looking out onto another building a few feet opposite ,with only one chair and very little natural light:it felt like being in the bowels of the earth or a prison .The bathroom was extremely small also,with not enough space for even the essentials.My wife commented on the smell of drains every time we walked down the stairs to our room.
The staff were not particularly friendly or helpful.The breakfast was pedestrian.

We would not stay there again.

Rather a pity as it is in a nice quiet location and Istanbul is a wonderful city to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuyChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Fantastic small city hotel. The room was clean and furnished in a traditional style. The bathroom had a large shower/wet room with a Turkish theme. Our room was at the back of the hotel and opened out onto a shared roof terrace with table chairs and a swing chair with views over the city and the minarets of the Blue Mosque. The front of the Hotel looked onto the Sofia Hagia the location was amazing with so many sights within a very short walk and the tram station very close for getting further afield.

The hotel staff were very helpful and courteous. I would recommend this hotel for a city break to Istanbul

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turtleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Many thanks to Ottoman Hotel Imperial for making my weekend in Istanbul, with my daughter in celebration of her birthday, such a wonderfully memorable experience. Thank you for the Hagia Sophia view from our room and for the delicious birthday cake with sparkler candles. Thank you to the courteous and helpful staff. A fabulously located hotel from which to explore the sights and delights of Istanbul. I will be recommending all my friends to visit Istanbul and stay at Ottoman Hotel Imperial and plan a return visit with my husband.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YMP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#27 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,403 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#51 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,587 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
#43 of 1,178 in Istanbul
403 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,178 in Istanbul
2,229 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottoman Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Address: Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#97 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#120 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $50 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottoman Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottoman Hotel Imperial is situated on the truly premium location in Istanbul, on an elevated position, surrounded by all the major historical and cultural sights in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet, viewing the impressive Hagia Sophia (St.Sophia, Aya Sofya) Museum. This is absolutely the best location in Istanbul, within easy walking distance of the main monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ottoman Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottoman Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing