We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the shadow of the Haggia Sophia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ranked #108 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Thiells, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In the shadow of the Haggia Sophia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We changed our hotel to the Ottoman Imperial to avoid Taksim Square. It worked out better than we expected. Ottoman Imperial is located right in the middle of everything in Old Town. The staff is great! The room we checked into had a problem with the air conditioner, they allowed us to try several other rooms until we were satisfied. Not much storage in the room, so they brought a second luggage rack. The restaurant on the grounds was fantastic as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mum-Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    377
    83
    43
    12
See reviews for
255
941
121
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was feeling well off and booked one of the Sultan Suites at this hotel. Wow! The room was decorated with Turkish ceramics and had a chandelier. The bathroom was a mini Haman (Turkish Bath) with exquisite tiling and the toilet had a TV on the facing wall. If there had been sport on I wouldn't have had to get up all day!
The location is fantastic, directly behind the Hagia Sophia in Sultanahmet, close to loads of restaurants, sights such as the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Archaeology Museum and you get free Turkish delight when you check in!
The hotel restaurant , Matbah, is just amazing and serves food originally cooked for the Sultans at the nearby Topkapi Palace. It's more expensive than your average Kebab restaurant but the food is delicious and if you are there at the right time, you will get entertained by a whirling dervish who spins away (slightly slower than a Tasmanin Devil) in the corner.
It's very hard to find a negative for this hotel but for somewhere that has such an amazing restaurant, breakfasts were pretty dire and by far the worst I came across in my three weeks in Turkey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kev11385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very nice hotel in a great location, right across from the Haggia Sophia. It is only a couple of blocks from a tram stop up the hill past the Basilica Cistern or down the hill towards the Spice Market. There is a large variety of rooms in this hotel so you should understand where you are staying before you make reservations. We had our rooms arranged by a tour company and did not have a choice. The first four days we had a corner room across from the Haggia Sophia. It was nice but somewhat tight. On our way back to the US we had a suite in back past the courtyard. It was spacious and had a gorgeous bathroom, although the view wasn't much. We would have preferred this room for longer four day stay.

The breakfast was not up to the level we expected. We complained about the cold eggs and service and were treated to a dinner. Next day the breakfast was much better. When we left at 3:00AM for an early flight they had a brown bag ready for us.

Room Tip: Make sure you know the room you are staying in. Price probably equals value but just be sure you kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We recently ended our Windstar cruise in Istabul. The last night on board we were told that Windstar had changed the complimentary hotel we were staying at due to the violence at Taksim Square. It turned out to be a great move. While there was no violence in Taksim while we were there, the location of the Ottoman Hotel can't be beat. It is nestled on a small street in the old city and a short walk to most of the tourist attractions. The stafff was very helpful and attentive. The restaurant is very good, also. The rooms are a bit small, but how much time do you spend in the room when you are in Istanbul? Staff was very good at arranging tours. Go up the Bosphorus to the Black Sea.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is charming and steps away from the Aya Sofia and the rest of Sultanahmet Square. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The hotel staff is wonderful. . . very helpful, courteous, and genuine. We had a lovely stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were in this hotel between 25 to 29 of June 2013. We are a family of two young parents and 3 year old boy and 18 month girl.
the location is great! close to most important touristy area, next door to Aya sofia, close to the sultan ahmet station, in breif, I don't think any other hotel will beat this location.
staff are very friendly, and they have a great concierge services that they know English very well.
very delicious breakfast.
unfortunately it was not the best choice for us! there was lots of stairs and no well chair or stroller access. also there was no children play area, and they could not help us with baby setter. The room was too small for us.
So, I recommend it for couple for honeymoon or anniversary, but not for family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alobaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The location is perfect. Next door to Hajia Sophia, less than 5 minutes from the Blue Mosque and the Palace. In addition the service was great. They arranged our transfers at a very reasonable price and a great tour guide for us. The bar and restaurant staff was also excellent. Yes, the rooms are a little cramped, but not enough to stop me from staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#15 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#114 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Sultanahmet
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
#45 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottoman Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Property: Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Address: Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#81 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#86 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#123 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottoman Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottoman Hotel Imperial is situated on the truly premium location in Istanbul, on an elevated position, surrounded by all the major historical and cultural sights in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet, viewing the impressive Hagia Sophia (St.Sophia, Aya Sofya) Museum. This is absolutely the best location in Istanbul, within easy walking distance of the main monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ottoman Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottoman Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing