We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ranked #108 of 1,147 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is charming and steps away from the Aya Sofia and the rest of Sultanahmet Square. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The hotel staff is wonderful. . . very helpful, courteous, and genuine. We had a lovely stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,232
    383
    83
    44
    13
See reviews for
260
945
126
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were in this hotel between 25 to 29 of June 2013. We are a family of two young parents and 3 year old boy and 18 month girl.
the location is great! close to most important touristy area, next door to Aya sofia, close to the sultan ahmet station, in breif, I don't think any other hotel will beat this location.
staff are very friendly, and they have a great concierge services that they know English very well.
very delicious breakfast.
unfortunately it was not the best choice for us! there was lots of stairs and no well chair or stroller access. also there was no children play area, and they could not help us with baby setter. The room was too small for us.
So, I recommend it for couple for honeymoon or anniversary, but not for family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alobaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The location is perfect. Next door to Hajia Sophia, less than 5 minutes from the Blue Mosque and the Palace. In addition the service was great. They arranged our transfers at a very reasonable price and a great tour guide for us. The bar and restaurant staff was also excellent. Yes, the rooms are a little cramped, but not enough to stop me from staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston mass
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed it a lot. The service was excellent and the room was great. You are right in the middle of everything. We were always welcomed with a smile when we returned from our walks and outings. The breakfast is served on an open patio and it is delicious!

One tip: ask for a room that is not on the side of the tramway. Our room the first night was there, on a low floor and it was quite noisy. They were able to change us to the other building and we had sweet dreams from there on in.

A great hotel. We'd stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pitosalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Returned for the fourth time, this time with seven of my friends in tow. Location is unbeatable, staff is friendly and very helpful, rooms are more than adequate. We had room 209 for four days, then returned and requested 208. The first was a little cramped but with a luxorious bathroom; the second was a lot roomier but with a small bath. Ask for 208 or 308.

Room Tip: Rooms 208 and 308 are spacious, with a very small bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobFromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

End of may2013 have just returned from a full week in the above hotel b&b very pleasant stay hotel staff and Turkish people very hospitable ,food reasonable rooms clean and tidy,had to move room after first night bit noisey on road side otherwise perfect position for visiting all the main attractions .Istanbul old town on the European side is full of remarkable buildings and the street restaurants delivered some fine food at decent prices . No graffiti ,drunks anti social behaviour any ware even though large scale protests where taking place at the time there was never anything less than a very pleasant atmosphere .If you are interested in fine handmade leather goods there is a small shop directly under the hotel on the main road side barter with him well worth it,fine park area just beyond this and many other attractions all in all a good trip

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Hagia Sophia
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently stayed at the Ottoman Hotel for 4 days while in Istanbul. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Our room was facing the Hagia Sophia and while a bit small compared to what we are used to in NA, we had no issues. it was decorated beautifully and the soap smell in the room was wonderful. We had dinner at the hotel one night and found it to be our favorite meal during our stay in Istanbul. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely stay there again if I ever have the chance to visit Istanbul again.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the Hagia Sophia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,147 in Istanbul
2,907 reviews
Sultanahmet
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
#40 of 1,147 in Istanbul
359 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,147 in Istanbul
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,147 in Istanbul
2,981 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#11 of 1,147 in Istanbul
1,453 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#5 of 1,147 in Istanbul
2,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottoman Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Property: Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Address: Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#80 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#86 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#123 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottoman Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottoman Hotel Imperial is situated on the truly premium location in Istanbul, on an elevated position, surrounded by all the major historical and cultural sights in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet, viewing the impressive Hagia Sophia (St.Sophia, Aya Sofya) Museum. This is absolutely the best location in Istanbul, within easy walking distance of the main monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ottoman Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottoman Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing