We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, average small room, building works”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ranked #107 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is right next to the Hagia Sophia. Very convenient for avoiding all the queues at the main attractions in the morning. The room we got was very small with a dated bathroom. Unfortunately it faced the main street, which made it a tad noisy. However it was clean and the service was good. Couple of disappointments were the breakfast (eg squash orange juice), and the building works on the terrace.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cps19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

I love it!! The hotel is in a great location, next to Hagia Sophia. The rooms are clean, tastefully and equipped with every comfort. Fantastic breakfast: in each table, you can find a wide variety of foods. The staff is really excellent: qualified, helpful, kind. They are very nice persons!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emanuele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights on arrival a glass of fruit punch was given to us, nice touch after our trip from the airport. Reception staff were great happy to help with directions and recommendations for things to do and see plus restaurants to try.
Complimentary breakfast was served every morning which was lovely a great selection of fruit, cereals, cold meats and cheeses plus boiled, scrambled or fried eggs, sausages, potatoes, and soup!
We were in a basic room but asked if we could have a room with a bath tub in, we were upgraded to a deluxe room at no extra charge which was a really nice touch as we also had a view of the Hagia Sofia. Would recommend that if a bath tub is important to you ask at booking as obviously we were there in low season so upgrade was possible.
We would recommend this hotel and are already looking at booking again later in the year :)

Room Tip: If a bath is important to you state at booking most rooms only have showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked this for a two night stay and got a great deal. It's close to the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, as well as being just a short walk to the main bazaar. The main entrance is tucked away down a side street which adds to its charm.

The service was excellent. Upon arrival, we were checked in and given a brief useful overview of the city centre by a member of staff.

The breakfast was lovely, served in a cute room overlooking the rooftops and minarets of Istanbul.

My only gripe would be the room we had - its sloping ceilings meant that I had a tough time standing up due to my height (I'm 6, 4). I presume the majority of the rooms won't have this problem though because we were located in the newly converted part of the hotel whilst the majority remain in the main hotel itself.

I'd recommend this place.


  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobMcNamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I am still blown away by the excellent service of this hotel and it's staff. From the moment I arrived with my husband we were treated extremely well. We were upgraded to a beautiful room overlooking the city and every staff member we encountered was pleasant and went out of their way to make our stay amazing. We will recommend this hotel to everyone who visits Istanbul.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aadila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Booked this place as part of a lastminute.com deal. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to find out that we had been upgraded!

The room was amazing. Yes, there was the minor inconvenience of on going building works nearby. However this will only affect you if you are planning to stay indoors during daylight hours- which i doubt many would. The bed was comfy and the bath room and shower was amazing.

The location cannot be better. It is right next to both the blue Mosque and Aya Sofia, which means you can chill by some of the world's most beautiful monuments. It is in the heart of old Istanbul.

The staff were polite and welcoming, from the reception staff to the breakfast staff. This is the first hotel I have stayed in where 1 hour after the breakfast closed, the staff still politely ask those in the room if they need anything else from the buffet before they clear them away. On that note, the breakfast is pretty awesome too.

One tip: on your way there you might want to organise your transfer to the hotel from airport. Despite it's prominent location, people in Istanbul struggle to direct us there and the taxi driver did not have a clue either. We were walking around for about an hour before we found it.

Overall we loved it and cannot recommend it more

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank balamuruhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

First, apologies to the Ottoman Imperial and staff for the delayed review. Now, once again thanks to TripAdvisor for being there for this personally and quickly planned adventure. Returning home from Istanbul and London right before holidays and then some unexpected issues, I am just getting to this promised 5 * review. My partner and I have traveled quite a bit over the past 15 years. Cannot remember how far back I started using TripAdvisor, but almost always check before any trip, even if I know the hotel I plan on using. In fact leaving in 3 weeks, after Miami to Barcelona trans-Atlantic cruise for car trip to Lourdes, Avignon and marseille then flying BCN to LHR to PHL. Relying solely on TA for France hotels. Enough plugs for TA, but it really is one of the best and most used WEB sites for me.
The Ottoman Imperial was a really great experience! In order: 1) has to be best, or close to the very best, location for Istanbul sites. Truly, across the cobbled street from Hagia Sophia (our first floor front window looked at the, now, museum's wall. 2) Hotel service, desk and service staff and dining room staff were wonderful. All old city sites for most are walking distance. Tram could hardly be closer in a city of 17,000,000 (that was a surprise). 3) Breakfast was very good and good variety and especially the glass enclosed ambiance of the dining room. 4) No cleanliness or housekeeping issues. 5) Our room and bath were more than adequate and comfortable. On the first level of the hotel because I alerted hotel to my need to use a wheeled walker. Only saw our room, but the hotel plan chart seemed to indicate we had one of the smaller rooms.....it was fine. Also, we were right in front at street-level and only minimal street chatter on this less than busy street. We appreciate the windows and always cracked them at night. 6) I cannot minimize its importance, we had a wonderful rate for the 8 days. I had already used TA to decide between this hotel and one other. Just happened to go into British Airways' hotel alliances and got a new price that saved over a third. This made my decision, but, luckily, the right one after seeing location of the other. (a fine hotel, but down close to Bosphorus Straight causing a steep incline to most old city highlights). 7) Noticed TA rating of Ottoman's Dinner restaurant was rated #4, so had to do it....we were right there! Really very good and had my first experience Sultans' Almond soup. Also, may show as costly, but really moderately priced. 8) Ottoman arranged airport transit both ways and was perfect for trip and reasonably priced. This hotel is more of a boutique' hotel without the "fluff" you might find when applying that term.

We kind of joked, and still do, about the half-block or so cobbled-stoned incline to and from hotel. We had exhausting sight-seeing days, but would say that last half-block using my walker was the toughest.

Some notes about Istanbul: friendliest people ever encountered in any foreign country (it had been the Scots up until now). Used a off- the - street guide who found me at first stop Hagia Sophia. Worked out very well for us (2 men). The one day price was fair and he knew everyone at every major site...we never waited to get in anywhere. So pleased, added 50 percent tip. This may have been just good luck. This one full day's experience with him and the many people he introduced made us feel so comfortable during our 8 days. Really enjoyed Bosphorus cruise and do not miss Sultans' modern palace on Bosphorus.

About us: although we both have physical limitations and health issues, we are sight-seeing
prone on all trips. If we would truly want or need to rest go on a trans-ocean cruise or cruise to already did this places. One of the best recommendations on where we might want to stay is when a TA review says a hotel was in the busiest or in the heart of the city. Usually, this is a negative reference, but for us, that's where we want to be. Rely many times on first assessing Marriott hotel properties with reasonable costs. Generally, they exceed any necessary needs;
however, location is our #1. For instance, Milan, Athens and several other major trips, hotels were wonderful, particularly Athens, but not close enough and we moved, then Vienna, magnificent and great location, then Munich, great hotel and very easy access to underground that gets you there in minutes.
,


Hope that I can get to rate some wonderful and reasonable restaurants we used.

Room Tip: Our first level room was just great for us,even though it appeared to be one of the smaller ones. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Eugene3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
#43 of 1,160 in Istanbul
380 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,160 in Istanbul
2,145 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#6 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,009 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#9 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,004 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#10 of 1,160 in Istanbul
2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottoman Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Address: Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#81 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#85 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#122 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $51 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottoman Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottoman Hotel Imperial is situated on the truly premium location in Istanbul, on an elevated position, surrounded by all the major historical and cultural sights in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet, viewing the impressive Hagia Sophia (St.Sophia, Aya Sofya) Museum. This is absolutely the best location in Istanbul, within easy walking distance of the main monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ottoman Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottoman Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing