We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location.. Value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ranked #108 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Location.. Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel is situated in a very practical location at the heart of Sultanahamet.It is opposite to the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque is just a minute away.Grand bazaar, Spice bazaar and Sea of Marmara are all in walkable distance from the hotel.The tram station is again just a minute away.
We were booked in a standard room but when we arrived at the hotel the manager (Mr. Erhan Deger) gave us a surprise by upgrading our room to a premium room at free of charge. He was very friendly and helpful. What was more of a surprise was to see blue mosque when we opened our room window..I bet the view cant be beaten by any price..Thanks to the manager for giving us one of the best rooms..The room was tidy and the staff were very friendly and helpful.I would recommend to stay in this hotel because of the wonderful location, friendly staff,comfort, service and above all its worth for the money..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayingalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    377
    83
    43
    12
See reviews for
255
941
121
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We arrived at 6 in the morning at this hotel and immediately got access to our room. That was already a great start, very much appreciated after a tiring flight! For New Year's we got a small present, also very attentative. The room we had was not so big, but nicely decorated, clean and cosy. Breakfast buffet was good, also for a gluten allergic person. The location of the hotel is superb and allready reason enough to book this hotel. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erlandsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshhire, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights ath end of December
to start with we had a problem with the company we booked through, the staff at this hotel where very helpful with us resolving the issue, top marks to them.
The hotel itself is lovely, perfect location - 5 minute walk from everywhere!!
The room was small, but was fine for a 3 night stay, the room was down stairs in basement and was naturally far too warm, had to open the window at the end of December, not sure what it would have been like in Summer days/nights!! Did wake up loads with being far too warm. Never had any view from our window.
Breakfast was just typical continental breakfast, plenty of choices!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMcN07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waconia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
250 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our family Christmas present 2012 was 3 nights, 4 days in Istanbul. We chose the Ottoman Hotel Imperial for its location near the historic center. We booked 2 rooms as we were traveling with our 27 year old daughter. So we had a Premium Sultan Room and a Premium Single room. The single room had a great view of the Hagia Sophia, our room had a balcony and at the end of the balcony we could see the Blue Mosque.
The rooms felt worn, as maybe not updated, but were nice if on the small side. The bathroom in the Sultan Room was fantastic, huge and had a shower and Turkish style bath. Our safe in our room had not been installed at all, it could be lifted right out of the closet so we did not think this was such a good thing and therefore used the safe in our daughters room.
Even though a non-smoking facility, there was always a rather strong smell of smoke in the hallways on our floor so not sure if this was guests not following the rules or the staff.
Breakfast, while a rather wide selection was always the same, and not the best we have had. The staff at breakfast gave off the attitude that we inconvienced them by being there.
The staff at the front desk was always fantastic.
The rooms were very hot but we were able to open the windows to cool things down.
The location just can't be beat. We would come back to this hotel if we return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csbsn2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from Dec 22-24, 2012. Seeing the reviews here we made sure that we had the room facing the Hagia Sophia and we made sure they confirmed it. Traffic getting in and out of the area from the airport was horrible. When we got to our room, we were given room 301 (?) and sure enough, we had the view of the Hagia Sophia. People here should understand that the rooms facing the Hagia Sophia COSTS MORE and also, they should make sure that the staff understand that upon booking the room.

The room was smaller than what I thought. But despite this, we were speechless with the view. We turned off the lights and just gazed out of the window. The bed was okay, they had a pillow menu but it was so-so, I think. The toiletries were nice, I wished I asked them where I can get the hamam soap.

The brekkie was actually repetitive and I wished there would be more variety but the staff were very nice, on our last day, one of them even offered us a taste of shira...

Aside from the views, Ottoman Imperial is mighty close to all the major sites: Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Sultanahmet Square, even Hojapasha are all within a walking distance. On our last day, we ended up walking from Taksim all the way back (because we kind of got lost and weren't able to find the trams).

Overall, we'd come back and with the same room.

Room Tip: When we got to our room, we were given room 301 (?) and sure enough, we had the view of the Hagia So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights in this wonderful city.
most reviews are pretty accurate ,on arrival we were offered one of the rooms with balcony facing air conditioning units ,room in excellent condition but small .we complained and offered room to the front ,which though small was ok for our visit..bed comfortable ,shower good. Breakfast was basic but plentiful lots of fruit and breads.Lots of local sites to visit within walking distance.
The staff were very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jambo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just returned from our 2nd stay at the Ottoman Imperial and could not be more pleased. The staff could not do more to make our stay a pleasure and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel has an excellent position down a small side road next to the Hag Sophia such that you are 2 minutes walk from the main attractions but the hotel is very quiet. Bearkfast is a buffet served in a terrace restuarant and is excellent - we are vegetarians and were very well catered for.
The staff's English is good (we sadly know almost no Turkish).
We didn't eat in the hotel restuarant as there are many superb cheaper options within 10mins walk but I can't imagine it would disappoint.
Their standard rooms are a good size, very clean and have a shower that can pin you to the wall!
We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when we next return to Istanbul!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob-Bewdley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#15 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#114 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Sultanahmet
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
#45 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottoman Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Property: Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Address: Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#81 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#86 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#123 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottoman Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottoman Hotel Imperial is situated on the truly premium location in Istanbul, on an elevated position, surrounded by all the major historical and cultural sights in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet, viewing the impressive Hagia Sophia (St.Sophia, Aya Sofya) Museum. This is absolutely the best location in Istanbul, within easy walking distance of the main monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Ottoman Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottoman Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing