We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ranked #109 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We did a lot of research and are very happy we picked this hotel. Excellent staff, super clean facility, and good breakfast- eggs are boiled or scrambled, chicken ham and salami, lamb sausage, every fruit you might want (fresh and dried), fresh honeycomb, jams, jellies, honey, many cereals, cheeses, tomatoes, olives, cucumbers, yoghurt, many pastries and breads, butter, cream cheese, fried potatoes, eggplant and zucchini, coffee, teas, and various juices. We had room 303 because we wanted a Hagia Sophia view. It was a nice size with desk, table and chairs and a wonderful spa tub with shower. We were vey happy with gifted bottle water daily and the lovely fruit basket on arrival. I will provide a separate review for the hotel restaurant. We were here from Oct. 28th till Nov. 6th so we had lots of opportunity to critique this perfectly located hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,222
    378
    83
    43
    12
See reviews for
255
941
123
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san antonio
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wow, what an enjoyable stay after our Mediterranean cruise. Good price and located right behind the Hagia Sophia so most of the major sights are within walking range. Icing on the cake is that their restaurant is the best in the area. I had read in Travel and Liesure about a must eat restaurant called Matbah known for original ottoman recipes. Little did I realize it is located in the hotel. We had the best meal of our 17 day trip. We ordered the lamb shank and lamb stew and both superb. Drinks, appetizer, entrees and desert around $85! This hotel is located on a small side street literally overlooking the fence of the Hagia Sophia. Very helpful front desk crew and concierge. Rooms are Ottoman themed with a nice sized bathroom. Will arrange private transportation to the airport. Free with a 3 night stay and 25 Euros for a shorter stay. A nice service. You will not be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elcidkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very good and stylish hotel in a great location location. Our room literally looked out at the Aya Sofia. Great base to explore the old city of Istanbul. Rooms were clean and comfortable, and decorated with a Turkish flair. Very tasty breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluezone55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Lovely boutique hotel in an ideal touristic location just next to gorgeous Hagia Sophia.
Rooms itself are quite small but cozy. We had a room facing the street, so late at night it was still loud.
If you come to Hagia Sophia in the very morning, you save the time not staying in the long line.
I recommend to visit the restaurant, make a reservation in advance.
Overall - very good, recommend!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Love2travel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Brilliant location right in the centre of the old city and across the street from Hagia Sofia. The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere and feel, staff were nice and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The rooms are comfortable and in decent size , you have to realise most of the these hotels has small rooms unless you upgrade to a more expensive room. This hotels rooms are ok, nothing massive but it's not small either. At the end of the day you're only in the room at night to sleep. Very tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zebrapaw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

It was a surprise birthday present for my boyfriend who had never been to Istanbul . As he likes his history I decided to book a hotel near all the historical attractions in the Sultanahmet area. Ottoman Hotel Imperial is just about the perfect hotel to stay in this wonderful city. It's close to all the sites as we only had three days for our visit, we even had the chance to visit the grand bazar and the Taksim area which is known as the city centre full of nice restaurants, bars, cinemas, shops just about anything you're looking for.

Rooms at the hotel were superb, treated the boyfriend to a sultan suite room which was awesome , nice and large with comfortable good size bed overlooking the Hagia Sofia garden.Free wifi in each room and around the hotel which works pretty fast. Had good choice of food for breakfast. We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaversh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed here after a really bad experience in another Istanbul hotel and this place is magnificent! The building, location, cost, facilities and staff were all brilliant.

The only negative we found was that the water was... well... green! We complained about this and the hotel moved us to an alternative room but we found the same problem there. I have a feeling this was something they couldn't do anything about at the time and we have since been given a partial refund for the inconvenience and assured the problem is fixed.

All in all, a great base to visit Istanbul and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor, cracking views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieL84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,919 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#17 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#33 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#119 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottoman Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Property: Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Address: Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#82 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#86 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#123 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottoman Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottoman Hotel Imperial is situated on the truly premium location in Istanbul, on an elevated position, surrounded by all the major historical and cultural sights in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet, viewing the impressive Hagia Sophia (St.Sophia, Aya Sofya) Museum. This is absolutely the best location in Istanbul, within easy walking distance of the main monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ottoman Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottoman Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing